We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic - friendly, relaxing with Airedale...”
other travellers have booked this property
A beautiful peaceful evening at Wombat Bend
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A beautiful peaceful evening at Wombat Bend
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
95 reviews
A beautiful peaceful evening at Wombat Bend
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Dixons Creek, Yarra Glen, Yarra Valley, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 95 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Zuccini1
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Idyllic - friendly, relaxing with Airedale cuddles thrown in if you wish!”
Reviewed 12 February 2015 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A friendly, relaxed atmosphere in an idyllic setting to relax, take in the bush scenery & Airedale shenanigans. V close to wineries & restaurants - what's not to love? Sue also puts on a magnificent spread for breakfast . Have stayed twice & will do so again. Cannot recommend this B&B highly enough.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely happy review of your experience at The Burrow. The Airedales also love it when they get a gong for being good kids, even more so when guests speak Airedale so fluently. We so enjoyed having you to stay again, and hope you'll make the trip over here in the future too. Winter is a lovely time as well in the Valley so perhaps we can entice you with all the special joys of that season before the footy finals. The birdlife is always busy and the wombats come out earlier. The lights will be on to welcome you any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris P
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The Best Get Away of al Get Aways!”
Reviewed 12 February 2015 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The Burrow

Every part of this stay was easy and relaxing.. from the first time I found the Burrow on TripAdvisor to our reluctant departure after our stay there...
After we found The Burrow on Trip Advisor I sent a couple of questions to the owners. Sue was super quick to respond to emails and to make any suggestions for times to stay etc. (and places to visit on the way)
Sue sent the confirmation with a map to their property as soon as we had made the booking; and offered several ways to pay the deposit.
The day before we arrived Sue emailed asking our preferences for milk and bread!! (Wow!! - such detail)
The property is a few minutes drive off the Melba Hwy - just past Yarra Glen - and very handy to some wonderful wineries including de Bortolis and Millers.
The property is both close to conveniences but far from the madding crowd. It was an easy drive following the directions sent from Sue.
As soon as we arrived I think we started breathing more slowly! The place has a tranquility that is evident as soon as you step out of the car.
The Burrow is the name of the guest house at Wombat Bend and it is close to re main residence but very private.
This guesthouse is quite large with a full-size lounge room and dining room as well as an eating area in the full-size kitchen.
There is a wonderful library of books on the entry (and more in the lounge room) and a wonderful verandah overlooking the billabong and its abundant birdlife.
The house is furnished very comfortably with easy chairs and plenty of cushions and woolen rugs to keep the evening chill away. We spent hours reading talking and simply sitting on the verandah - rye birdlife is prolific and wonderfully relaxing to sit and watch.
Sue and Bill supply farm supplies so you can make your own breakfast. And these were wonderful and generous in proportion. Eggs, fabulous breads, locally produced sausages and bacon. Yoghurt, juice, and really beautiful jams,marmalade, and honey. In fact we ate most of our meals at the house as we really made the most of this wonderful retreat.
We had planned to explore the yarra valley and we certainly enjoyed the time we spent at the winery but the best part of our stay was sitting at The Burrow.
The bed was really comfortable and all your toiletries were supplied. They were exceptional and we bought some of these products to take home.
Cannot recommend The Burrow highly enough!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2015
It was a very special experience for us to have such seasoned Trip Advisor guests to find us, and then enjoy your visit so thoroughly. It is always a delight for us as hosts to meet yet more guests who seem just like friends we hadn't got around to meeting yet. The pleasure you have expressed so personally is lovely to read, and we are looking forward to your next visit ~ I hope we can make it even better for you. Maybe entice you to stay longer to experience some of the daily wildlife moments that flow around Wombat Bend, of their own accord. We loved having you !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 10 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Feb 2015
We are so happy that you found The Burrow so peaceful and restorative. It is always a delight to see our guests, who may arrive tired and stressed from the city, or sometimes after a long journey from interstate or overseas, instantly begin to relax. It seems there is something about The Burrow that lets the shoulders drop and the breathing settle into a gentle rhythm that stays in place, and in tune with Wombat Bend's own rhythm....
Thank you for capturing so beautifully the feelings of your own experience here. We look forward to seeing you again of course.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Julzfee
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2017
We (young couple at the beginning of 30) spent the last days of our four week Australia trip at The Burrow B & B. The wonderful idyll in our cottage by the billabong was one of our highlights. The warm and loving hosts have made our stay truly exceptional, so we have extended our stay spontaneously. We have left our heart and we will definitely visit Sue and Bill again when we are back in Melbourne.


Response from The Burrow
Thank you for your fabulous review. Considering the many wonderful sights and experiences you packed into your four weeks, we are doubly delighted that you so enjoyed your final three ‘Aussie’ days here with us at Wombat Bend.

We will remember your visit with great warmth and do truly hope that you can stay again when you re-visit Australia. There’s still more than half the continent to explore  .. and we’ll be here too.

Warmest wishes
Sue & Bill and the Airedales of Wombat Bend

Vielen Dank für Ihre fabelhafte Bewertung. Angesichts der vielen wunderbaren Sehenswürdigkeiten und Erlebnisse, die Sie in Ihren vier Wochen verpackt haben, sind wir doppelt begeistert, dass Sie Ihre letzten drei "Aussie" -Tage hier bei uns im Wombat Bend genossen haben.

Wir hoffen jedoch, dass sie bei Ihrer Reiseplanung weiterhilft. Original auf Englisch Language Weaver Bewerten Sie diese Übersetzung: Vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung Mangelhaft Gut Es gibt noch mehr als die Hälfte des Kontinents zu erkunden ... und wir werden auch hier sein.

Wärmste Wünsche
Sue & Bill und die Airedales von Wombat Bend
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing