We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Experience NOT to be missed”
Review of Smiddy House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Smiddy House
Ranked #4 of 23 Spean Bridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northwich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An Experience NOT to be missed”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed here on saturday 04th February 2012.My wife and I stayed at this B & B thanks to a referral from a police Offier in Fort William. When we arrived, on the outside, the building looked as you would expect, clean , managed and inviting ( to say that you would venture over the threshold of the door). What we encountered when we entered was far from normal and was an experience that we felt compelled to come back home and make people aware of this hidden gem in the highlands of scotland. Robert and Glen are amazing hosts and the rest of the staff were friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We booked into our room and we were then invited back downstairs for a welcoming cup of tea and small glass of cherry with a highland shortbread. This was a lovely personal touch. We stayed in room 4, which was warm, cosy and well decorated and well furnished. The en suite was clean, warm, well decorated and furnished. There was plenty of clean towels, the room smelt fresh and clean.
We booked a three course meal and the attention to detail was what you would expect from an Egon Ronay Restaurant. The food was well prepared, timely, tasty, presented in professional manner. This was extended throughout the night and the wine list and cocktail list complimented the menu perfectly. The layout of the dining area, maximised the potential of the room whilst not losing the intimacy and personal touch. Where other establishments would have crammed more seats and tables in. there was nothing amaturish regarding the hotel, food, people or service. This is the best B and B we have stayed in and although it is a 400 mile drive from where we live, we WILL make the drive up there again to stay with Robert and Glen. Thank you for an amazing experience and recommend this location as a MUST VIST and a MUST EXPERIENCE.

Room Tip: Must experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    22
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
144
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2012

My first visit to the Highlands had the WOW factor beyond belief. Smiddy House in Spean Bridge was by far the best I have ever been to. The hospitality we received was first class, our room was spotless and the attention to detail was truly amazing it really made my weekend. The food was simply delicious too. Glen and Robert are the perfect hosts and I would highly recommend this location, perfectly situated for all we wanted to do, I will be returning at the first opportunity.

Room Tip: All are fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

What a great find. After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and my partner wanting to find somewhere near Ben Nevis, we decided on Smiddy's, initially for one night but it was so great we ended up staying for two! Everything about the place was simply fabulous, from the greeting by Robert where he showed us to our lovely, spotlessly clean and cosy room, perfectly made up bathroom replete with fluffy towels and smelling gorgeous to the wonderful cuisine prepared by Glen, he deserves a Michelin Star for his exquisite food, equal to some of the best we have eaten in London. It's all the small touches that you don't initially notice but make the entire experience a wonderful 'home away from home' break. We would no hesitation in recommending Smiddy's and the fantastic Russell's restaurant to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EssexandOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

This is without doubt the best B & B I have ever stayed at and I have been to a few over the years. Similar businesses could learn a lot by visiting this establishment. Great attention to detail and personal service from arrival to departure. Nothing is too much trouble and the food is just amazing. Robert is the host with the most and Glen a top class chef. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We were in the Tobermory, which was very comfortable, clean and very well presented.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rondogk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glencoe
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Again we had another excellent night in the Smiddy, everything I love when I go for a night away, just a pitty more hotels don't take a leaf out of the Smiddy's book! Russell is just the perfect host again, we so enjoy all the stories he makes us laugh. Keep up the good work!!

Glen is the best chef that we have ever come accross, just absolutely brillient, our dinner was just amazing, my husband & I both had wood pigeon for the 1st time - I could have just had more & more delicious, mains fab fab fab, desserts-to die for or as they say i could snog it!!!

The only down side - we had to leave! Hope to be back fairly soon.

Keep up the excellent standards.

Eileen & Martin - Glencoe

Room Tip: I think that all the rooms are of a very high standard & you shouldn't worry too much!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EBlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spean Bridge
9.8 km away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
9.8 km away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
11.6 km away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 km away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
7.6 km away
Glenspean Lodge Hotel
Glenspean Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.1 km away
Spean Lodge
Spean Lodge
#1 of 23 in Spean Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiddy House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiddy House

Property: Smiddy House
Address: | Spean Bridge, Spean Bridge PH34 4EU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Spean Bridge
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,926 - ₹ 14,662
Hotel Class:4 star — Smiddy House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Smiddy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smiddy House Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing