We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Great Holiday Home”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our complex of six holiday cottages are set in 20 acres of secluded Kent countryside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Our complex of six holiday cottages are set in 20 acres of secluded Kent countryside
Our heated indoor pool is shared between guests in our six cottages
Have fun in the games room
Mini gym
panoramic view
another nice view!
View from the cottages
Charming views across the fields
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Rochester, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bigmasmid
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Owners not friendly”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
5
people found this review helpful

The place had come well recommended and was nice. Had great amenities. The pool was great however it is ONLY open between 10am till 6pm and we were not told about this before and is not mentioned on the website. The cot for the baby was not where we were told it would be and when the owner brought it to us she was very curt. No cot sheet was provided. There was one roll of toilet paper for three people for three days! When we asked for another roll of toilet paper we were given one but we were told that as it is a self catering flat we were supposed to bring our own toilet paper. It was a shame that these things put a damper on our holiday as the location and cottage were nice.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Dec 2015
Hi there
Thank you for your review.
The pool is open from 10am to 6pm but this is clearly stated on our website.
The cot was taken to you within five minutes of your arrival and we can always provide cot bedding if you require it. Most people prefer to bring their own. We usually ask this when we take the booking.
We provide two toilet rolls in a two bedroom cottage. You had used this by the following morning where we gave you another one.
I am sorry you didn't enjoy your holiday but thank you for highly recommending us to a friend a week after leaving.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U1336MOJa...
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Great Holiday Home”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage was very clean comfortable and well equipped with a stunning view. The daily swim in the pool was enjoyed by us all. The games room and laundry room were both welcome additions to our stay.
Debbie and Jason are great hosts.
We highly recommend Stable Cottages and look forward to our next stay there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeganLove...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect family holiday”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Myself, hubby & 3 boys booked a week in one of the 4-bed cottages. We were only an hour away from home but it felt a million miles away - stunning location with so much SPACE! Stunning sunsets - perfect to sit outside with a glass of wine.

The cottage itself was very comfortable, very clean & spacious (even when my mother joined us for a couple of days). There is everything you might need (the only exception being a dishwasher). Beds were clean & comfy; fresh, clean towels provided too, both for the bathrooms AND the pool!

The facilities were great too. Our kids loved the pool & games room. So nice for us to be able to relax without the kids moaning that they were bored. The laundry room was well appointed with washing machine, tumble dryer, iron, ironing board, airer etc.

Loads to do in the surrounding areas too - I would recommend Chatham Dockyard, Tilbury Fort & Museum of Kent Life.

All in all, a great break. Would love to return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imacin1
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful family accomodation”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Stable Cottages while attending a wedding at Cooling Castle. The unit was well equiped and very clean. The complex offers a variety of activities for all ages. We were a group of 3 familys with ages from 20mths to 66 years and there was no shortage of things to do. Debbie was an excellent host and looked after our every need. If you want a relaxing holiday this the place to go. You will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reuben A
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Stable Cottages over Christmas and couldn't have been more pleased. From the box of chocolates and bottles of mulled wine that awaited us, to the welcome and helpfulness of the owners - nothing could have been better.
The cottage is well equipped and has amazing views across the water. The swimming pool and games room were a hit with everyone. There were bedrooms downstairs for the less able and en suite bedrooms upstairs. I think that all six of us agreed that it was the best place we'd stayed. All in all a really great Christmas retreat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 141
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing