We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue, disappointing raclette”
Review of The Cheese Room

The Cheese Room
Ranked #40 of 139 Restaurants in Rochester
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The idea of this place is great and just the sort of thing Rochester needed. It’s inexpensive, and has a good selection of cheese, wine and beer.

I was disappointed with my food though. I ordered raclette, but it was t quite right. Pickled beetroot is the wrong pickle for a raclette. Was very disappointed to have no cornichons or onions. There wasn’t enough cheese on it (ironic for a cheese place!). And the portion was tiny, I was left hungry.

Thank Amy_ME1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieSmall82, Owner at The Cheese Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Amy
Thank you for your feedback. We always read reviews and learn where we can. You should have had cornichons on your ralette - it is part of the standard dish so I’m sorry it was missed off. With regard to portions, we’ve tried to keep prices low but with the dish costing £4 after the vat has been taken off, there is a limit as to how much we can put the plate without compromising quality and service - you’d struggle getting a pre-packed sandwich for less than £4 these days. However, we are thinking about doing some of our dishes in larger sizes and charging a proper main course price -£7-£10, so watch this space! Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You instinctively know you're in for a treat when crossing the threshold of this cafe / restaurant. Comfortable surroundings, warm welcome and great tasty food. We had cheese on toast with fabulous homemade tomato ketchup - wish I had the recipe, pot of tea and cake, sitting on sofa, soaking up the local friendly banter.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely selection of cheese and meat platters .The staff was very helpful in explaining all the cheeses and where they came from

Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Love this place! Rochester has been so in need of a venue like this! Great selection of cheeses and wines but the best thing about this place is the service, staff are so welcoming and friendly. We actually had our little boy with us and even though not exactly pushchair friendly they squeezed us in and included him very well by chatting to him and entertaining him whilst we drank wine! Looking forward to returning as a couple and also have booked for my husband's 40th, can't wait:)

Thank Mini10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely, intimate atmosphere with wine and cheese.
We had the cheese & meat platters with the baked camembert and a nice bottle of red- it was yummy!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wanderlustfamily2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cheese Room also viewed

 
Rochester, Kent
 

Been to The Cheese Room? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing