We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“...Hosts from hell !”
Review of Anchor Lodge B&B

Anchor Lodge B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broadstairs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anchor Lodge B&B
Ranked #23 of 24 Broadstairs B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 January 2016 via mobile

..we as a couple love to stay in guest houses ..we've travelled well. From 5* plus to sleeping under the stars.
However I do like a good nights sleep and you won't get it here...the accommo is fine..bit rusty around the edges,however you get what you pay for of course.
Our main problem ,for our two day stay was , our hosts Barbie (as she likes to be called) and Geoffrey were constantly having a domestic ! ..please don't get me wrong we all have them ,however going away for a break you really don't expect your hosts to be hammer and tong constantly with each other ..it was extremely embarrassing to say the least ..he shouldn't mention her weight and she shouldn't mention the face he likes to shop at Aldi's !

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Aball135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2015

What a gem this little place is. Top quality in every respect. Jeff and Barb are excellent hosts, warm and welcoming, with nothing being too much trouble.

Rooms are immaculately decorated and cleaned, just like the whole property.

Breakfasts are amazing, with full English cooked however you like it, or smoked salmon, kippers, or my real favourite, the smoked haddock that was cooked to perfection - more like a main meal than breakfast, with soft poached eggs, cooked to perfection (see the pic) - even better taken out on the decking, bathed in beautiful sunshine overlooking the immaculately maintained / colourful gardens and the English Channel.

If you are looking for all round great quality in a relaxed environment at a sensible price, then this gem should be at the top of your list.. There is also unrestricted parking at no cost, which is rare in Broadstairs

Room Tip: Both rooms are of the same high quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2015 via mobile

Had a lovely stay at anchor Lodge couldn't of been made to feel more welcome in they're lovely home immaculately clean and a fabulous cooked breakfast over looking the beautiful garden came away with good memories of our weekend and felt like we'd made two very good friends with Barb and jeff would definitely stay again and would totally recommend to friends and family Mr and Mrs powell

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is a family run business with a true personal touch. In the hosts Jeff and Barb you could not wish for anyone to be more welcoming or helpful. They welcome you into their home and make the stay extremely comfortable. Anchor Lodge only has 2 letting rooms, both of which are fitted out to a very high standard, with everything that you need from the basics of tea and coffee, with fresh milk, through to ipod docking station. The whole property is maintained to a very high standard and affords views across the channel from their beautiful dining room at breakfast - breakfast that you can tailor upon request from the full English to smoked salmon, very yummy. They truly deserve the many awards they have received and the constant praise from guests

Room Tip: Choose either room, they are both excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

As a young couple looking for a short relaxing break in Broadstairs, we couldn't have found a better place. Barbs and Jeff looked after us in a personal and professional manner making us feel comfortable and informed. 10 out of 10! Great breakfasts!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broadstairs hotels
0.9 km away
Royal Albion Hotel
Royal Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadstairs
694 reviews
1.1 km away
Bleak House
Bleak House
#3 of 24 in Broadstairs
201 reviews
1.4 km away
Bay Tree Hotel
Bay Tree Hotel
#7 of 24 in Broadstairs
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
South Lodge Guest House
South Lodge Guest House
#9 of 24 in Broadstairs
93 reviews
0.9 km away
Copperfields Guest House
Copperfields Guest House
#2 of 24 in Broadstairs
145 reviews
0.5 km away
Broadstairs House
Broadstairs House
#6 of 24 in Broadstairs
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Lodge B&B

Address: 57 Dumpton Park Drive, Broadstairs CT10 1RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Broadstairs
Price Range: ₹ 4,962 - ₹ 5,865 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchor Lodge B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Anchor Lodge B&B Broadstairs, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing