We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous cottage holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sanderling Cottage

Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge
Broadstairs Our peaceful garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Lounge
Broadstairs
Our peaceful garden
Broadstairs
Broadstairs
Ice Cream!
kitchen
Lounge and open fire
second bedroom
Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Philippa...
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage holiday”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 for a stay in July 2013
3
people found this review helpful

I came from New Zealand to have a week in the UK with my son and granddaughter. I booked Sanderling Cottage from NZ and Bruce made it very easy. At all times his communication was terrific. The cottage is lovely - great kitchen, cosy living room, small back garden, two bathrooms and lovely bedrooms. Very steep stairs, which was a novelty. Best of all it is right in the heart of beautiful Broadstairs. We had a lovely sunny week walking, swimming, and keeping cool in the heatwave! Thank you Bruce. We had a great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The upstairs masterbedroom and ensuite - very peaceful.
Liked least: Nothing - it was all good.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liesbethm...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

a typical English seaside cottage, small but cosy.
We missed a chair in the bedrooms for putting one's clothing on.
We missed a small table in the sitting room.
The black sofa in the sitting room is ready for a change, for one really sinks deeply into it.
We really loved staying in the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The perfect location
Liked least: the black sofa in the sitting room
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tamily1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful cottage,with everything we needed”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Sanderling cottage is a lovely cottage to stay in.It is cosy and comfortable-a home from home.
It has everything you need including Wi-Fi.
It is close to all the amenities,lots of lovely restaurants and shops.it is literally two minutes from the beautiful Viking bay beach,and only a few more to the other beaches.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry U
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A jewel in the Broadstairs crown”
Reviewed 25 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage is very well appointed (including wi-fi) throughout. The location is ideal for the promenade and the shops, both are within 5 minutes walk.Parking we found no problem and was well catered for by the owner.I would have no hesitation in recommending the cottage to all and will be returning myself in the not too distant future.
The garden to the rear is a little gem!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Cosy and quiet
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delightful, well positioned cottage - ideal for holidays and short breaks”
Reviewed 17 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

This was our latest stay at Sanderling cottage which is always scrupulously clean and welcoming. The cottage provides everything you need for a break, renovated and refurbished to a high standard with owners who are friendly and accommodating. The locality, Broadstairs, has Blue Flag sandy beaches; a delightful range of independent shops in the traditional High Street, cliff top walks to neighbouring Ramsgate and Margate, Crampton Museum, beachside cafes, cosmopolitan restaurants, literary, culinary and musical festivals, plus a gem of a cinema and a community theatre, even the bandstand provides live music - all this can be accessed easily from Sanderling cottage, mostly on foot, but local buses are frequent and a great way to travel. The ability to return to the cottage each day to have a cuppa and prepare for the evening whether going out or staying in is great.
Having read the previous review, all I can add is that in all the 5 years we have used the cottage, we have never had a problem and from the positive comments I read in their guest book, nor has anyone else.. I shall continue to use Sanderling Cottage and recommend it to everyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The opportunity to include the dog
Liked least: Coming home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing