We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cosy cottage in central location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sanderling Cottage

Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge
Broadstairs Our peaceful garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Lounge
Broadstairs
Our peaceful garden
Broadstairs
Broadstairs
Ice Cream!
kitchen
Lounge and open fire
second bedroom
Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
shannie14
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“cold and dirty”
Reviewed 1 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We (my partner, teenage daughter and myself) had booked the cottage for an easter break (2013) on arrival the owner was there the cottage was freezing he said the heating was not working. (the Country was experiencing very cold weather at this time.) The cottage was very dirty with white dog hair all over red sofa in the lounge very little (if any) cleaning had been done. The owner left us to settle in with 1 very small oil filled radiator for the whole cottage and said he would be back later. My daughter set to cleaning the sofa and I mopped the kitchen floor we then went shopping. When we arrived back the owner had returned with a man to sort out the heating. He couldn't repair it but said it had been bodged and set to stay on 24 hr's to get us through the easter weekend. They asked us not to touch it and left. We went out when we got back at 7.15pm it was freezing -2 with no heating working. We made the coal fire and rang the owner he was on his way back to London so could do nothing we told him we couldn't stay in conditions like this. We all slept in 1 bed room using the small oil filled radiator .At 6.15am the heating came on making loud noises but after 20 minutes went off again. We left at 9.15am tired and very cold when we were leaving the heating was making noises and trying to come on again. This whole situation was not fair. I have never gone on holiday and had to start cleaning or been expected to live in these condition. We have also taken pictures of the cottage and have requested a refund, we intend to take this matter further.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: cottage was not clean or warm
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suziechan
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage in central location”
Reviewed 7 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We had a great holiday with our little baby. Perfect location - minutes from the beach, shops and an array of restaurants and cafes. Broadstairs is a beautiful little place, and even though we went in Autumn, there was still lots to do. There's a stack of information in the cottage with leaflets for lots of local attractions for inspiration (And plenty of boardgames and Sky TV in the cottage for when you just want to curl up in front of the fire!)
Traveling with our little 10 month old baby is often hard work but Bruce the cottage owner was extremely helpful, providing stair gates and travel cot so we didn't have to.
It was ideal for us and hopefully we'll be back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location was minutes from everything
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruddster2...
Oundle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideally situated character cottage”
Reviewed 21 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We (me, husband and another couple - part of a dance side) stayed here during Folk Week and it was absolutely ideal. We walked to the baker for fresh bread every morning and had a choice of quality shops and restaurants to choose from for the rest of our meals. We ditched the car on day one as everything was in walking distance.

The cottage itself is tastefully decorated and provided everything we needed, although it has to be said we didn't spend much time indoors as the weather was so good. The stairs are indeed steep, and a set of crampons would have been helpful when we returned from long evenings at the pub!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfy bed
Liked least: Crowds of youngsters drinking on the pavements
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage, ideally situated for everything in Broadstairs”
Reviewed 15 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

I stayed at Sanderling cottage with my husband and 8yr old son during the half term holiday and we couldn't have been happier. Just a few minutes' walk from the railway station, shops, cafes, restaurants and of course the beach, the cottage was ideally situated for anyone wishing to leave the car at home - or not drive it when they got there. The cottage itself was very comfortable, lovely bedrooms with top quality bedding, tons of hot water on demand, spotlessly clean and with the added benefit of two bathrooms. The little garden was delightful, just a shame that the weather during our stay kept us indoors of an evening - it would have been a lovely spot for sitting out at the end of the day with a glass of wine. Definitely recommended; we shall be back!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: can't think of anything!
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: size of the tv
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 May 2012
Thank you very much for your kind and constructive comments. We have now brightened up the downstairs area and have purchased a larger television for the lounge. The stairs are quite steep, which is common in traditional Kentish seaside cottages, so the accommodation may not be suitable for everyone, but there are handrails on both sides and we also have stairgates which guests are welcome to use.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing