We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“amazing stay”
Book now to secure your dates - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Book now to secure your dates - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Sumptuous sitting room - goto 5* Portland House 1870 12 beautiful bedrooms with 12 bath/cloakrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
124 reviews
Book now to secure your dates - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Sumptuous sitting room - goto 5* Portland House 1870
12 beautiful bedrooms with 12 bath/cloakrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
One of 12 beautiful bath/cloakrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
12 elegant English bedrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Longest sofa in the Peak District - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Delightful dining room - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Treat yourselves to a catered meal - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Self cater or choose from experienced caterers - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Treat yourselves to an  afternoon tea party - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Ensuite elegant English bedrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
One of 12 beautiful bath/cloakrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
It's Portland House 1870 O'Clock!
Walk into Matlock Bath -the Little Switzerland of England- goto 5* Portland House 1870
Hang around at Go Ape - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Step into the 1940's at Crich - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Perfect for parties of family and friends from 1 to 100 years young - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Celebrate together - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Don't hang around - book now - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Why not book now to secure your dates - goto 5* Portland House 1870
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
12 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Matlock Bath, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 124 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
alan m
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“amazing stay”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

we booked this beautiful house for a big work get together, the house is so lovely juliet couldnt be more helpful, would definitely reccomend and return

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penelopep...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ideal for large group gatherings”
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We rented the house for a Hen Party weekend - 20 women altogether! It was absolutely ideal for our needs - lots of space in the communal areas and the bedrooms were fantastically comfortable and roomy! We all felt really relaxed there and the house has a really good atmosphere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everthing we needed was there!
Liked least: Having to leave :)
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth C
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb stay in a beautiful house with first class service”
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

A group of 14 girlfriends stayed at this gorgeous house to celebrate my birthday. The property is beautifully appointed with large bedrooms and lovely furnishings. We especially loved spending evenings in the bar!
From the moment I booked the house the service from the owners was first class. Nothing was too much trouble and I was given lots of valuable advise on local services.
I will be recommending this house to all my friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Every room was gorgeous with excellent facilities
Liked least: struggled to get wi-fi connection
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect party house”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I had an amazing hen do at portland house. It is perfect for large groups. The rooms are all beautifully furnished and it was great that most rooms have ensuites - it made getting a large group of girls ready for a meal out easier! We loved the bar and were dancing away into the small wee hours! My sister organised the hen do and said that Juliet was really helpful with ideas and contact details for caterers and beauty therapists for the tea party and treatments we had. I would definitely come back if I have a big occasion to celebrate.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Al C
Maidstone
1 review
“An amazing house for an amazing weekend!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I stayed at Portland House for a hen party with a group of 18. From start to finish our stay was perfect. The house looks lovely on the website but in reality it is even better. It catered for everything we needed. The rooms are decorated to a high standard, the beds were so comfy & it provided the luxury feel we wanted for our hen party. Everybody commented on what an amazing find it was. Matlock Bath is picturesque & many of the party said they would come back with their family. My favourite parts were the surround sound music in all the rooms on the ground floor, the huge kitchen which made it easy to entertain 18 girls & just the space we all had. Even though there were so many of us we never felt on top of each other.Juliet was also extremely helpful & was always on hand with helpful advice & answers to questions we had. There is nothing bad to say about Portland House. I would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Surround sound music in downstairs rooms, the beds & the kitchen
Liked least: There was nothing not to like
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing