We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for a weekend with the girls!”
Book now to secure your dates - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Book now to secure your dates - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Sumptuous sitting room - goto 5* Portland House 1870 12 beautiful bedrooms with 12 bath/cloakrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
125 reviews
Book now to secure your dates - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Sumptuous sitting room - goto 5* Portland House 1870
12 beautiful bedrooms with 12 bath/cloakrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
One of 12 beautiful bath/cloakrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
12 elegant English bedrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Longest sofa in the Peak District - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Delightful dining room - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Treat yourselves to a catered meal - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Self cater or choose from experienced caterers - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Treat yourselves to an  afternoon tea party - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Ensuite elegant English bedrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
One of 12 beautiful bath/cloakrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
It's Portland House 1870 O'Clock!
Walk into Matlock Bath -the Little Switzerland of England- goto 5* Portland House 1870
Hang around at Go Ape - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Step into the 1940's at Crich - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Perfect for parties of family and friends from 1 to 100 years young - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Celebrate together - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Don't hang around - book now - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Why not book now to secure your dates - goto 5* Portland House 1870
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
12 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Matlock Bath, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 125 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SaulySazz...
england
1 review
“Perfect for a weekend with the girls!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stumbled across Portland House on Google and what a gem of a find it was. Planning for our friends hen weekend with the wonderful Juliet could not have been easier. Upon arrival all the hens, including myself, were thrilled with the house and all it had to offer for our weekend. The bar topped off our Friday night, the gardens were very much enjoyed on the sunny days we had and the comfy beds were very welcomed for the odd lie in or two. All in all we could not fault Portland House and each and everyone of us would love to come back again!! Perfect stay thank you.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing venue, amazing celebration.”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked Portland house for our hen weekend with a mixed group of friends.

The standard of furnishings and the setting surpassed all our expectations. The bedrooms were luxurious and spacious.

The added extras such as the bar area, gardens and amazing kitchen all added to the experience.

We will be returning to Portland house without a doubt and can not recommend this venue for a larger group of friends or a family. Top class.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackenzie...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous House, great location, perfect for a large group”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Our large group stayed at Portland House in June. The owners could not have been helpful or professional. The house has been renovated to a very high standard. The kitchen is very well equiped and the bedrooms and bathrooms are of a very high quality. The sound system on te ground floor was great. We enjoyed sitting in the garden and relaxing in the living room. We booked a Cocktail experience which we held in the bar which was great fun. don't hesitate to book this lovely house for your gathering.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDWLondon
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Weekend in a wonderful house”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Highly Recommended House for a group of friends!. We stayed here with a group of 22 adults and 1 baby over this last May bank holiday weekend and we found the house to be extremely well equipped. 2 of the twin bedrooms are very small (the 2 without en-suite bathrooms) but the rest were beautifully presented and quite large. We had rotten weather so used the bar area and the supplied games quite a lot! We hired a chef to do the cooking (ask for Charlie) and his food was fantastic and plentiful. The house is well located for all the local sights and there is lots to do. Our only negative comment was the dining room had lights suitable for a boardroom meeting but not an intimate dinner party but I am sure that can be easily remedied by the owners who bent over backwards to ensure everything we required was provided.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large and well equipped bedrooms
Liked least: The bright lights in the dining room
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLuds
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect stay at amazing house”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Rented Portland House for a TV crew working in the area. Juliet was brilliant at sorting out our endless requests and the house itself is simply stunning and was perfect for our needs. I will have to stay here again.
Johnny

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor.
Liked least: Had to leave.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing