We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful house to share our son's 18th with...”
Book now to secure your dates - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Book now to secure your dates - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Sumptuous sitting room - goto 5* Portland House 1870 12 beautiful bedrooms with 12 bath/cloakrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
118 reviews
Book now to secure your dates - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Sumptuous sitting room - goto 5* Portland House 1870
12 beautiful bedrooms with 12 bath/cloakrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
One of 12 beautiful bath/cloakrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
12 elegant English bedrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Longest sofa in the Peak District - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Delightful dining room - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Treat yourselves to a catered meal - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Self cater or choose from experienced caterers - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Treat yourselves to an  afternoon tea party - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Ensuite elegant English bedrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
One of 12 beautiful bath/cloakrooms - goto 5* Portland House 1870
It's Portland House 1870 O'Clock!
Walk into Matlock Bath -the Little Switzerland of England- goto 5* Portland House 1870
Hang around at Go Ape - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Step into the 1940's at Crich - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Perfect for parties of family and friends from 1 to 100 years young - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Celebrate together - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Don't hang around - book now - goto 5* Portland House 1870
Why not book now to secure your dates - goto 5* Portland House 1870
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
12 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Matlock Bath, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 118 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Karina F
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful house to share our son's 18th with family and friends.”
Reviewed 25 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We found that "Portland House" was the perfect place for us to celebrate our son's 18th birthday. Our youngest guest was 5yrs, the oldest was 77yrs with everything in between. Because the house is so well thought out, the party continued with pockets of guests dotted throughout. The noisier ones in the bar, busy ones in the kitchen, fun and games in the dining room and the chatty ones in the lounge!!! The house proved to be very versatile, we catered for ourselves throughout the whole weekend,(every utensil, plate, serving dish etc. etc. was provided) the dining room was perfect for all our meals and easily turned into a wonderful space for us to play musical statues and some other fun party games. The beds were so comfortable, everyone slept well. We all loved our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Living in this beautiful house for the week end.
Liked least: Closing the door behind us as we left.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouiseJ12...
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous, luxury 5* party house!”
Reviewed 13 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

I booked Portland House for my sisters Hen weekend. We all had such a great time staying in this luxury house, and is perfect for a Hen do with a bit of class! The owner of portland house, Juliet, is such a lovely lady, and so nice to deal with, always bubbly and willing to help, but also very professional. She suggested a long list of things we could do for the weekend. We went to the fishpond pub, which is a short walk away from the house, hassop station cafe nr Bakewell, and Chatsworth house. We also had spa treatments back at the house by my personal sanctuary who were fantastic!! The surrounding area is jaw-dropingly beautiful, and it was snowy over the weekend which made it even prettier. Anyway... back to the house. Portland house is exactly what is says on the tin, a 5* party house. The house is very spacious, everyone can fit in the communal areas comfortably. All but two of the bedrooms have an en suite, which is such a bonus for self catering accommodation. The decor of the house is gorgeous, the kitchen in so well equipped, you really don't need to bring anything, the bar is great touch. I defiantly want to book portland house in the future, we are already talking about booking for christmas one year...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: overall feel of the place, decor, that it really is luxury, well equipped kitchen... I could go on...! Everything
Liked least: the heating turning off at 2 am and not being able to get it back on again! and that I couldn't bring my dogs. No fireplaces downstairs
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dinahpig
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful relaxing time in splendid surroundings”
Reviewed 21 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Portland House was a fabulous setting for the annual gathering of our friends from various corners of the country. The house was beautiful & spacious & the well-equipped kitchen meant that we were easily able to cater for the 20+ adults/children in our party. A wonderful time was had by all :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawn h
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The very best venue for a group stay of friends, family or colleagues”
Reviewed 6 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

I have now stayed at Portland House 3 times for team events from work. The accomodation is luxurious with plenty of space to escape to when needed! The bar is a great touch and was well used during our stay. The kitchen is extremely well equipt and at no time did we reach for something that wasn't available. I'd love to be able to take a party of family and friends - it really is a dream house for spending time with a large group.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Its a very big house to keep warm when its -6 degrees outside, I needed to wear a jumper!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PennyE E
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Christmas Holiday to Remember”
Reviewed 2 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

18 of us aged between 4yrs and 82yrs spent 6 very comfortable nights over Christmas at the lovely Portland house. The kitchen facilities were outstanding and very well equiped with plenty of pots, pans etc to cook Christmas Dinner for 18. The bedrooms were large and stylish with very comfortable beds, and the games room was an added bonus giving the younger members of the family a place to play computer/playstation games without disturbing others. I would also like to say thank you for all the little extras that made our Christmas special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen and utility room with 2 dishwashers
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing