We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly”
Review of The Temple

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matlock Bath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Temple
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We had an excellent nights stay here. The dinner menu was limited but the food we chose was good.
Amazing whisky selection - about fifty malts and all reasonably priced with a knowledgeable batman.
Location good being quiet and set back from town and although rooms and bathroom were were a little outdated and could do with modernising, room was clean and bed comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmy55bellies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    70
    27
    6
    1
See reviews for
14
111
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

This is a really nice privately run hotel so it has none of the "sameness" you get with the chains. It is some way up a steep hill or even steeper footpath that I would advise you not to use if its wet as the cobbles can be very slippery.
The room we had, number 4, had a lovely view of the Derwent Valley, the bed was king size and very comfortable and it was big enough to have a sofa in front of the TV. On the downside it was a little bit shabby, the bathroom whilst having everything you need including a bidet was a bit "clinical" and it had the strangest shades on the bedside lamps that looked like they belonged to The Addams Family!
The food was very good indeed; the breakfasts I had, Full English with black pudding and Smoked Salmon with Scrambled Egg were good quality, tasty and generous. Dinner served in the bar was equally good, using local produce where possible, and reasonably priced. They have a fairly short wine list but you should find something to your taste although most people there were enjoying their cask ales.
Overall, it's a bit quirky in places, a bit shabby in places (although it is being systematically refurbished) but it's a very comfortable, friendly, reasonably priced hotel that you won't regret staying at.

Room Tip: Book a room overlooking the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

This was a nice hotel, the staff were all friendly and the service in the bar was excellent with a good selection of local ales. The bedroom wasn't big but it had everything we needed and it did have a large bathroom. We had an evening meal in the bar the food was lovely and the following morning breakfast was also good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank West_Yorkshire_Dales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Went for a long weekend all the staff were most helpful and made us feel very welcome. were full of information about the local area and what to do.
The room was large, clean and comfertable.
The bed was so large had to phone my wife she was so far away.
food in the restaurant was extremely tasty, Only criticism would be that there is a lack of atmosphere when eating in the bar.
i would certainly reccomend this hotel for couples who want a quiet peaceful time.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob_Sylv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We found this hotel to be friendly, welcoming, clean and functional. Our room had fantastic views and was well situated to get the best from our visit. The breakfast was superb and one of the best we have had on our travels. The menu was extensive and was expertly cooked. We had the full English which was superb!
The only slight niggle was that our room was advertised with WI-FI but this was not the case as the signal only reaches certain rooms. This should be addressed in the room description as it would make the room we stayed in totally unsuitable for anyone such as business travellers. But for our trip it was very good value.

Room Tip: Don't book room 12 if you want WI-FI!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank severnside62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock Bath
0.7 km away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.1 km away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
2.5 km away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
12.8 km away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
9.8 km away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Temple? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Temple

Property: The Temple
Address: Temple Walk | Matlock, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Hotel Class:3 star — The Temple 3*
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing