We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Castle Country House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dungarvan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Castle Country House
Ranked #14 of 17 Dungarvan B&B and Inns
Flat Rock, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

My aunt, husband & I spent 3 nights with the Nugents, and thoroughly enjoyed their hospitality, accommodations & food. All were wonderful. I made the mistake of getting directions off Google, which directed us onto the R672. We were completely lost, but were giving it one more shot, still having to stop to ask at a farmhouse if we were even close. Emma, Gus, Lucy & Kate came flying up the lane to our rescue. The house is easy to find if you're on the right road - the R671. Just turn east in Millhouse. Hopefully we'll have the chance to stay here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R1200Rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

Stayed here for two nights in late July, had the fabulous bedroom at the front. Friendly family, gorgeous grounds and amazing breakfasts!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne & Wear
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

Joan and her family could not have been more welcoming, helpful and friendly. There is a great family feel to the place. This is a quirky B&B. The house is a little old-fashioned, with lots of antiques, books, paintings and knicknacks. Our room had lovely views over the garden, but was small and so was the ensuite shower room. If you are hoping for the bathroom in the photo on the website, you should probably request it when booking. The breakfast was delicious. Lots of homemade compotes - the rhubarb and ginger was fantastic with the porridge.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BP57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

The Nugent family makes you one of them...from the moment they greet you at the door until you leave. This wonderful country house has all the amenities one could ask for and more. An added feature for us was to have one of the Nugent grandchildren as our guide to explore the garden and river area; don't miss walking the property. The breakfasts provided are lovingly made by the Nugents, from the traditional Irish breakfast to fresh fruit and homebaked bread; ask for the porridge with fresh fruit (wonderful).

Room Tip: Ask for the
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank texaslawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

My wife and I stayed her with our respective parents on our way to West Cork. We all loved this place - it really is as good as all the other reviews say.

Big comfortable beds and a truly historic breakfast. You must try Joan's porridge and mixed fruits.

PS A dog friendly establishment

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dungarvan hotels
8.2 km away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
8.6 km away
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
#3 of 3 in Dungarvan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
13.3 km away
Dun Ard
Dun Ard
#1 of 17 in Dungarvan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Tannery Townhouse
Tannery Townhouse
#4 of 17 in Dungarvan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
8.5 km away
Seaview Guesthouse
Seaview Guesthouse
#6 of 17 in Dungarvan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
12.5 km away
Gold Coast Golf Resort
Gold Coast Golf Resort
#2 of 3 in Dungarvan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Country House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Country House

Property: The Castle Country House
Address: Millstreet, Cappagh, Dungarvan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Dungarvan
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,817 - ₹ 7,271
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle Country House has evolved from a 15th century Norman castle. Later it was expanding and became the manor house of the O'Keeffe family. It is a unique property that has been lovingly restored and now provides luxurious accommodation in a beautiful riverside location.Breakfast, using home grown and local produce, is served each morning in the original castle dining room and every effort is made to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable and relaxing stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing