We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Correct price, clean room with free parking.”
Review of Il Barlanzone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Il Barlanzone
Ranked #8 of 19 Montalcino B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Correct price, clean room with free parking.”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. Il Barlanzone is in the centre of Montalcino, free parking is possible close to the hotel. The owner, Simone, is very friendly and gave us a tip to eat well close to the hotel. The room was big enough and clean, ideal to stay in the centre of Montalcino.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FangioD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    32
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
55
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

This is a great place to stay in Montalcino if you're looking for a quiet place to relax and rest your head. It is located right across from the fortress (which you can see from some of the rooms) and rows of local shops are right outside your door. I look forward to going back and spending a week or two exploring the area more thoroughly, and would stay at Il Barlanzone again next time.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Il Barlanzone was perfect. Great location, ammenities, and service. We had some great suggestions for dining in Montalcino and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandLR2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We recently stayed in the top floor apartment of Il Barlanzone. It was just a wonderful experience! The location was perfect, right at the entrance to the quaint, little town of Montalcino. The views from the apartment balcony of the Tuscan valley were amazing. Sitting there with a sandwhich from the shop across the street and a bottle of wine from our host's enoteca on the first floor, we thought life could not get any better! We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joann97Joliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We were meeting friends who were staying in a castle about 10K outside of Montalcino. It proved to be very well situated as they had to come into town for everything. It was right across from the fortress and was on the way to everywhere. There was no AC, so it was a little warm in the room at night, and occasional noise from outside and other rooms. It was a quiet town though so the noise wasn't bad as there wasn't a lot going on while we were trying to sleep. Bed was a little hard but that's pretty much par for the course in Italy in my experience.

The room was very clean and the gentleman who owns the enoteca below was very friendly and helpful. We didn't spend a lot of time in the room, but it suited our needs well for our 2 night stay and it's a small town so it was on the way to everywhere.

Free parking and 5 Euro for in-room wifi for our whole stay. This was nice as we found wifi to be pretty stingy in Italy, Room also had an empty small fridge which was nice for beer and water and yogurt for breakfast.

Room Tip: I believe there was another room that had a kitchenette which would be nice if you were trying to do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank igotmojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montalcino hotels
1.3 km away
SI Montalcino Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 km away
Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant
0.5 km away
Hotel dei Capitani
Hotel dei Capitani
#5 of 14 in Montalcino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Le Ragnaie
Le Ragnaie
#8 of 14 in Montalcino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
9.1 km away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Vecchia Oliviera
Hotel Vecchia Oliviera
#6 of 14 in Montalcino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Barlanzone? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Barlanzone

Property: Il Barlanzone
Address: Via Ricasoli 33, 53024, Montalcino, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Montalcino
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,635 - ₹ 6,430
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Il Barlanzone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing