We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Il Barlanzone
Nearby Hotels
SI Montalcino Hotel & Restaurant(Montalcino)(Great Value!)
US$ 162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 1,577
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 501
US$ 489
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Ragnaie(Montalcino)(Great Value!)
US$ 115
US$ 112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo(Montalcino)
US$ 855
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant(Montalcino)(Great Value!)
US$ 174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vecchia Oliviera(Montalcino)(Great Value!)
US$ 173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Locanda di Montisi(San Giovanni d'Asso)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Locanda del Castello(San Giovanni d'Asso)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
51
34
1
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
34
1
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine shopsimonefortezzabalconyhostapartmentrooftopsdrainwinesviewscoopluxury
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2012

This is a great place to stay in Montalcino if you're looking for a quiet place to relax and rest your head. It is located right across from the fortress (which you can see from some of the rooms) and rows of local shops are right outside your door. I look forward to going back and spending a week or two exploring the area more thoroughly, and would stay at Il Barlanzone again next time.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Il Barlanzone was perfect. Great location, ammenities, and service. We had some great suggestions for dining in Montalcino and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandLR2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We recently stayed in the top floor apartment of Il Barlanzone. It was just a wonderful experience! The location was perfect, right at the entrance to the quaint, little town of Montalcino. The views from the apartment balcony of the Tuscan valley were amazing. Sitting there with a sandwhich from the shop across the street and a bottle of wine from our host's enoteca on the first floor, we thought life could not get any better! We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joann97Joliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We were meeting friends who were staying in a castle about 10K outside of Montalcino. It proved to be very well situated as they had to come into town for everything. It was right across from the fortress and was on the way to everywhere. There was no AC, so it was a little warm in the room at night, and occasional noise from outside and other rooms. It was a quiet town though so the noise wasn't bad as there wasn't a lot going on while we were trying to sleep. Bed was a little hard but that's pretty much par for the course in Italy in my experience.

The room was very clean and the gentleman who owns the enoteca below was very friendly and helpful. We didn't spend a lot of time in the room, but it suited our needs well for our 2 night stay and it's a small town so it was on the way to everywhere.

Free parking and 5 Euro for in-room wifi for our whole stay. This was nice as we found wifi to be pretty stingy in Italy, Room also had an empty small fridge which was nice for beer and water and yogurt for breakfast.

Room Tip: I believe there was another room that had a kitchenette which would be nice if you were trying to do it yourself.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank igotmojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We stayed in the upper floor apartment just few weeks ago.
We enjoyed our time in Montalcino: the apartment is nice and clean, located in the center of Montalcino and the view from the balcony is amazing, you could see miles and miles of beautiful Tuscany. Our host Simone is a great wine expert, has very good enoteca on the first floor and gave us many great suggestions on dinning and wine tasting.
Sacramento CA

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex_Larisa_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews