We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, comfortable B & B close to town.”
Review of Porta Castellana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porta Castellana
Ranked #7 of 22 Montalcino B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Although only a one bed, with ensuite,this B&B was very nice. It is situated in a very quiet part of town and at the bottom of a very steep street. The owner was extremely pleasant and spoke great english.Breakfast was served in the garden. There was fresh fruit plus the normal contintenal food. You can have breakfast in your room. Clean linen and the room is serviced each day.

Room Tip: Cosy room with chairs and writing table.Nice shower and toilet.Stone tile floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andycap_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 46 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed here while on our honeymoon for 4 nights (June 28-July 1). Our room was wonderful. Very romantic and nice and cool. It is located right within the town so you can easily walk everywhere. Our hostess Dida was a treasure. She was so helpful in organizing some last minute winery visits for us (we do not speak Italian so this was great) and made some great restaurant recommendations (we really liked "il Grappo Blu", we went there twice for amazingly fresh and local comfort food). We even joined Dida and her friends one night on the patio for some drinks and dessert (where we were also treated to an opera performance by her good friend). We will definitely stay here again. Dida, you are the best! xoxo Erin & David

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed at Porta Castellana in May and had a wonderful time. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The patio was a great place to sit in the evenings and enjoy a glass of wine. Annalisa was extremely friendly and helpful in providing us with great recommendations for restaurants and wineries to visit. We hope to go back again sometime soon!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jocelyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This stay was absolutely beyond our expectations! On the Internet, we had seen that the place looked great, but we couldn't have imagined that the wonderful hostess would make us feel like her frends and the place like our home! By the way, the earlier mentioned stairs leading up to the centre were great fun and provided some well needed exercise (lots of good food and wine in Italy), a bit scary going down though-;)
We loved everything about the B&B and Montalcino and would love to come back!
Björn and Malin, Sweden

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malin2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We stayed at Annalisa's beautiful B&B in June while traveling around Europe. During 3 weeks of travel we experienced different B&B both in France and Italy but this was our absolutely nr. 1 favorite.
Annalisa met us at the medival fortress in the little hilltop town and we caravaned to the B&B which was situated in the old part of Montalcino.
We really loved it, super comfortable bed, American style pillows ( first place which such comfy pillows), the room was beautifully decorated with a personal touch, books in English, nice linen. Nice bathroom as well. Rustic and Tuscan, very original.Very neat and clean allover.
Typical Italian breakfast was served in under the gazebo in the garden with a lovely view from any angle.
Annalisa gave great restaurant recommendations : Re di Macchia where we just had the most delicious meal & great service.
Furhermore Annalisa helped us getting us an apointment at a local winery - without her help we would never had made it and also for this we were very thankful and had a wonderful tasting & tour at a Brunello estate.
Porta Castellana we can recommend to anybody that like to see Italy unfiltered, absoultely a charming place and Annalisa makes it a true gem, she is helpful, fun and smart and speaks wonderful English.
We too read review on TripAdvisor before going to Europe - lots of people have mentioned the stairs up to town. Honestly we did not mind it at all, there were lots of stairs but wouw...what an amazing view every time we made a break :) and after been driving around Europe for 3 weeks we needed the exercise.
Great place...we will be back next year for sure!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PixiePoxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montalcino hotels
1.6 km away
SI Montalcino Hotel & Restaurant
11.6 km away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
446 reviews
0.2 km away
Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 km away
La Locanda del Castello
La Locanda del Castello
#2 of 3 in San Giovanni d'Asso
108 reviews
0.2 km away
Palazzina Cesira
Palazzina Cesira
#3 of 22 in Montalcino
180 reviews
10.8 km away
Borgo Lucignanello Bandini
Borgo Lucignanello Bandini
#1 of 2 in San Giovanni d'Asso
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porta Castellana? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Castellana

Address: Via Santa Lucia 20, 53024, Montalcino, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Montalcino
Price Range: ₹ 7,920 - ₹ 16,640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This house, with its massive stone walls, is situated in the north-eastern area of Montalcino, ancient city in the heart of Val d'Orcia (Orcia valley) also known as "Crete Senesi" (Sienese clays). From here it's possible to have one of the best views of Val d'Orcia: San Quirico d'Orcia, Pienza and, during the clearest mornings, Montepulciano. This abode is part of one of the most important buildings of Montalcino's history, which used to be the city's mill. The mill's warehouse was where we now live and where the rooms are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Porta Castellana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing