We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel on the lake.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Reviewed 4 November 2017

Ask for lake view, but make sure this has a balcony to sit on. Beautiful old Hotel in a great position. Talking to over holiday makers our hotel seemed the best for style, food drinks etc (apart from the Grand). Our room was quite small but comfortable, bathroom had great extras but not great shower. Good restaurant with good veggie choice. Drinks even water was very pricey. Staff were friendly and helpful, would return again.

Room Tip: make sure your clear you have a walk on balcony, not a Juliet one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 19chelsea70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,083)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 1,083 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2017

Stayed in October 2017 as part of a Tour group. Hotel obviously used by many tour companies and the staff are expert at serving large numbers of (older) guests efficiently and in a friendly way. Some reports here had given me concerns but they soon vanished. Large breakfast buffet with elements of French, Dutch and German food with the inevitable cooked section for the Brits and cake for the Italians. Enjoyed the Prosecco too. Evening meal antipasto was fabulous. Around 50 dishes to choose from with some different each night. Two types of pasta with different sauces every night, this was served al dente which might not suit everyone. Choice of 3 main courses with a fish option every night. These portions were not as small as some reviewers had stated but were of "restaurant size" rather than "home size". Anyway you had to leave space for the dessert buffet. On one night there were 15 different tarts and then the crème caramel (perfection) and tiramisu and so many others it was difficult just to choose a few. Nobody in our group left the table hungry.
We paid extra for a Lake view and the room was smaller than those of our friends with garden views. However sitting on the balcony watching the world go by was worth the extra. Hotel was exceptionally clean, especially in the public areas. Towels and bed linen changed regularly. Reception staff insisted on bar bills being checked before payment but they were all accurate. Not much to do around hotel especially at the end of the season but that was OK. A good choice for a pleasant relaxing stay if you are confident enough to use local transportation. Used the ferries (easy) but didn't have time for the local bus.

Room Tip: Worth paying for Lake view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank reiver1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

I promised this review when we stayed with the hotel in September '16, but lazy and careless as I am , I'm only getting around to it now. The Travel Department did, as it usually does, and provided us with their usual high standard trip. this is not a review of the T.D. but rather ,of the hotel. First impressions were of a magnificent 19th century Villa, enhanced by a colonnaded frontage, the entrance led into a majestic marble floored lobby and open lounge. The reception staff were most welcoming and helpful, a standard maintained throughout our stay. We were dispatched to our bedrooms without undue delay, elevators, or lifts to us poor souls, led us to our floor and we were delighted to find that our room overlooked the hotel front, the lake edge was a roadway away, and, from our balcony we had a splendid view of the lake and all traffic, both on the roadway beneath us, and on the lake itself.
Bedroom itself, yes, a little old-fashioned, but who cares, they were clean, regularly serviced and very comfortable, with the most beautiful view of the lake.
The Restaurant; fantastic views from a roof-top site. a small open area leading into the larger dining area. My wife, whom I have not mentioned heretofore, and I, tried to arrive in time to procure a table in the former, where we were able to see all the comings and going., Self service for the Antipasti, Main course orders taken at the table and served 'con panache', and self service for any afters. Short of a five star restaurant, a very civilised way of dining helped by a very civilised staff. Aperitifs served al fresco on a terrace adjacent to the bar.
All in all a triumph for the travel Dept. and a major triumph for the Grand Hotel. A few small shops next door to the hotel, and 0a couple of very pleasant Tavernas close by to enhance the evening stroll. Public Transport at the door, including a small train-like local transport which stops at all the small villages along it's lake front route.
What more could you want? Check the website and prove me wrong.
We are going back!

Room Tip: Be nice to people, they'll respond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank crusheen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Our tour started off in Lake Como at this hotel and it was beautiful upon entering. The lobby and views are amazing! The rooms are a little older but not bad just considered old fashioned as previous guests comments. Our room was very large with great patio overlooking the water. The plus of the water view was the view the con was the noise of the traffic especially at night. But waking up to that view was amazing! The staff was very nice and accommodating and the hotel facilities were very nice. The restaurant was located on the top floor with even more amazing views!!!! And loved the evening on the rooftop having a aperitif or wine and listening to the entertainment a great time!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank hms16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanieleTag, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Cadenabbia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear hms16,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor .

We are glad that you enjoyed your visit at Grand Hotel Cadenabbia .

Needless to say that we have shared your nice comments with our staff.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

With best regards

Daniele reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

The splendour of the past is captured in the public areas of the hotel, however the room I got receives the distinction of being the smallest room I have ever stayed in! The dining room has splendid vies across the lake and at the wonderful town of Bellagio, the bar/lounge is also a great place to spend some time with friends.
The food is plentiful, not always super but always good. The major downside was the size of my room (which I paid a single supplement, for a single room?) and the fact that it is located on a busy road.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KAButler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanieleTag, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Cadenabbia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and share your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are glad you enjoyed the food served in our restaurant,from june to september we also have Al Chiaro Di Luna flambè restaurant in our panoramic terrace on the 5th floor.

We are sorry to read that there are a few minors about your stay with us but we take the opportunity to clarify a few points:

- there is a difference beetwen single room supplement and DUS ( double single use )

- all our single rooms are designed to be comfortable for one person, our single rooms measure from 12 to 16 square meters enough to have all the space needed

Once again thank you for sharing your comments with us.

Best Regards

Daniele reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadenabbia di Griante
0.6 km away
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
#4 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
3,180 reviews
0.5 km away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,139 reviews
3.3 km away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#2 of 10 in Menaggio
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 km away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
856 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.1 km away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Cadenabbia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Cadenabbia

Address: Via Regina 1, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cadenabbia di Griante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cadenabbia di Griante
Price Range: ₹ 11,147 - ₹ 25,988 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Cadenabbia 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Cadenabbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia Di Griante
Grand Cadenabbia Hotel
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia Cadenabbia Di Griante, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing