We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We returned yesterday after a week at this hotel. Considering the numbers of guests the hotel has to cater for, the food was very good, with plenty of choice.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
The only problem was the dustmen outside our window at six in the morning.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tatilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,082)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

696 - 700 of 1,082 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

My wife and I spent a week at this hotel and enjoyed every minute of it. The hotel was clean, the staff were good and friendly and the food was of a high standard with plenty of choice. We paid extra for a balcony with a lake veiw and this was worth every penny.. To open the balcony doors in the morning and have a veiw that we had of the lake leaves a good memory of the holiday. The hotel is near the boat landing area so you can travel the lake. Also the bus stop is by the main entrace and also the noddy train stops outside. Very good hotel and I would go back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Roy Owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Found this Hotel very friendly with good bar and restaurant service. The food was Very Good for a Halfbopard Hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pauline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

A good value hotel with beautiful views. A must have lakeside view. All features got a good report only minor faults occured. On the whole a thoroughly enjoyable stay. Home safely.

Room Tip: Must book a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank duncans8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

After reading mixed reviews, I am happy to say hubby and I had no complaints. All the staff were great (well apart from the man who insisted on taking one of our cases to our room even though I said no and got it lost for about an hour!)
From the reviews I was worried that there might be a lack of veg and fruit..this was so not the case...Fresh fruit always available when we were there 6-13th June. And the array to choose from at the salad bar for your starter was very comprehensive, not only the usuaI salad items, but I enjoyed aubergine, courgette, asparagus, broccolli, cooked Peppers, mixed mushrooms etc. As to the amounts.... .the first night you start by taking a little from each dish as you move along and soon realise that you have to stop before you even reach the tomatoes lettuce beetroot etc. Your second course is served at the table..choose from soup or two pasta dishes includes gnocchi, also rissotto etc. A great variety in the week we were there.. The blue cheese gnocchi was very good and the Lasagne was excellent. Main courses included fish..one with a pistachio sauce, another with sesame seeds ..tried several...various beef, pork, chicken and veal dishes ..the roast loin of veal was fabulous. Again usually served at the table with a small amount of hot veg and potato. Help yourself to pudds..always had a tiramisu on VG. Usually three different fruit flans gateaux trifle meingue and fruit desserts like stuffed,baked peach halves. Bottle of Valpolochello was 21 euros. Quite nice wine.
You have to buy your coffee/tea in the bar downstairs. Charge it to your room and pay for all drinks before 9.30 pm on the night before you leave to save last moinute queue.
When I provided my own fruit tea bag I was not charged for the tea. Think most drinks were £5.
I agree the air con is noisy and we did not use it, never really like using it anywhere anyway. Beds are firm which I liked, though are a bit on the low side for me getting out! You can borrow an adapter for 10 euro deposit ar reception. We booked with the travel department and paid extra for a small balcony which I only sat in once ...but it was worth it to have the full lenght doors open onto the lake view. Our excurtions and guides were excellent. There are a couple of bars just a little along from the hotel including Victoria;s that sells guiness and cream teas!! other folk have covered most other things. The irish holiday makers wemixed with were a hoot.Thanks for the fun.

Room Tip: We had 309 and were happy with it. Free safe in wardrobe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank tagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadenabbia di Griante
0.5 km away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,132 reviews
0.6 km away
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
#4 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
3,128 reviews
3.3 km away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#2 of 10 in Menaggio
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 km away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
838 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
2.1 km away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Cadenabbia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Cadenabbia

Address: Via Regina 1, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cadenabbia di Griante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cadenabbia di Griante
Price Range: ₹ 14,111 - ₹ 74,827 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Cadenabbia 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Cadenabbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia Di Griante
Grand Cadenabbia Hotel
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia Cadenabbia Di Griante, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing