We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,096)
Filter reviews
1,096 results
Traveller rating
281
384
246
115
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
384
246
115
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviews animation team pool bar private beach main pool family room separate bedroom a lovely place to stay daytime activities mini golf a sea view room our room was spacious special thanks on tap evening shows large pebbles all inclusive hotel food in the main restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 1,096 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

We have just arrived home after 2 weeks at the Sunshine hotel. Although dated and in need of an upgrade the rooms we had in block 3 were more than adequate for our needs, minor things such as handles missing from drawers and bathroom in need of modernisation did not detract from our stay. Rooms were large and were cleaned every day. We cannot fault the staff at the hotel who were constantly on the go and friendly. The areas which let the hotel down badly are the catering with poor quality food and drink, limited choice of food and the repetitive menu. The drinks ( both alcoholic and soft) are very cheap quality as well. On a whole we ate out more often than actually eat in the hotel as the experience was not pleasant at all. Worst all inclusive we have ever had. Also the state of sunbeds and towels is less than desirable and needs to be replaced. The hotel has the potential to be a good hotel but I am afraid at this moment in time everything about it ( except the cost of a holiday) is cheap. Investment is badly needed. If only the hotel owners could match the commitment of its staff

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

We had the cheapest room, located ground floor in Iris-building. Room was very small and the door insulated nothing, people coming and going behind our door, were just as same as they were walking and talking inside our room. Aircon was efficient but cleaners only change towels, so I slept the whole week with the same bed linen. I guess we were located amongst all the young people in the hotel, because we woke up every night when drunks came home singing and shouting, one evening young boys even played football behind our door at 3 am. So if you want some peace and quiet, book a 'sea view' or just bigger room from upper floors, well worth the extra money.

We had the all inclusive, it was really simple one, same food everyday, meat choices vary a little. Eating was a bit so-so and no water bottles available, only water tanks. A huge hotel, and only one main restaurant and only few bars, there were long ques always and everywhere. But with patience, you'll find something for everyone. Juices were horrible, wines and softdrinks too, but beer was good :)

Everybody reserved sunbeds, so when looking somewhere to sunbathe after 10 am, no space at all. We spent the whole week at the beach, and the sea was an absolute delight, we were there when Lucifer-heatwave was on, so we spend hours at sea.

Overall, a very good place for families, lots and lots of entertainment for children.

And if mosquitoes "like" you, beware, I was the only one of our team who got bitten really badly, so bring your own mosquito repellents. And airplanes descents low over hotel continuously, so if you don't like airplanes or the noise they cause, this is not a place for you.

The ending of our holiday wasn't great, we had to check-out at 12, but our flight home were like 11:40 pm, so basically we were without a room (and air-con) for 10 hours. And it was during the Lucifer-heatwave. We try to buy a room for a day, but hotel was fully booked. So we end up spending the whole day at the beach until evening we could use hotels "Sauna Spa" to shower and get ready to go home. Reception told us that there's towels and shampoos and stuff, but there were nothing, only used towels. Luckily we had our own, but the shower room itself was plainly disgusting, floors were flooding with dirty water and there was no air-con. Absolutely horrendous to try to put your travel clothes on in that heat and humid. But, we realize the flight time schedule was our own fault, or at least when selecting our tour operator. Never before we had to give up our room, if the flight home was at evening or night, or at least we have been able to buy some more room-time. But from this we learned to pick-up better flight times to go with the normal hotel schedule.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Beacon_and_Trailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We stayed for 10 days and had a 'sea view' room which was fantastic and I highly recommend this, well worth the extra money. The rooms are quite basic, but did the job as we were out most of the time. However, I would suggest updating the bathtub, which could have done with some paint and something to stop the leak coming on to the floor. Also our towels were not changed and we felt this should have been done daily if not regularly.

We know come to the highlight of the stay which was the amazing animation team. I come from a background that deals with children and they were definitely up there with the best I have seen. Our son Jaiden loved participating in many of the activities that were on offer from kids club to mini disco etc. We originally chose this hotel as we liked the idea they had activities for children. To our pleasant surprise, there were also many activities available for the big kids (us adults) and we were able to get involved in many of those which helped the day pass and generally get us a bit active. These included water aerobics, volleyball, archery and football to name a few.

We would personally like to thank the animation team who made this holiday unforgettable and therefore you will have an amazing time there with them in charge. Our advice would be to get involved in all the activities or as many as you like. There are activities available all day from 10am to 10pm. They work so hard and make you feel so welcome. We really miss them and it was so weird for the first few days back in the UK not waking up to participate in their activities. The whole animation team was exceptional, but we got very close to Talia, Lucy, Jakub, Sami, Monica and Anna.

Thank you very much once again and we miss you all.

Tony, Jade and Jaiden from the UK Xxx

Room Tip: Best views are the rooms with a sea view
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Antwane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Just come back from a great 10 day holiday. Room was clean and the cleaners were very helpful. In fact all the staff were extremely friendly. Food was a bit average but we always found something to eat and the salads are good. We went all inclusive and the free bars stay open to 1.00am which is a first in our experience and made for some good evenings. We were also able to get more than one drink at a time from the bar which as there was a few of us made life easier. Entertainment was quite good. The staff showed loads of enthusiasm for daytime activities such as in the pool. There were plenty of chairs by the pool or on the beach. You didn't have to get up early to reserve seats! We had a really great time and the location is only a short walk from the town if you want to do some shopping. A wide variety of different nationalities at the hotel. We made friends with some wonderful Dutch couples. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We enjoyed room 206 which was close to everything.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHRISTOS T, Manager at Sunshine Rhodes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear Bil W

Thank you for your taking the time to share your holiday experience with us !
We are delighted to read your review and that you had a wonderful time in our hotel .
We will continue working hard as usual in order to offer holiday memories to remember !

Looking forward to welcome you once more in our Sunshine Rhodes

best regards
Christos
Asst General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

We stayed for a week with all inclusive. I can not say that food was bad. We liked it and there was a variety, everybody could select according to the taste. The staff was very friendly and helpful, there was a possibility to visit the other restaurant Mama Mia. The room was good, but the hair dryer was half broken, and the maid always forgot to put a mat in the bathroom. Customers should take into consideration that the hotel is friendly to the families , and there are a lot of children who sometimes are very noisy and do not behave properly. That is why the hotel is not suitable for couples and friends.There is no enough shade , and sun beds should be taken very early, in order to get the best place.

Room Tip: Rooms with the view to the garden are quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tatjana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews