We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week stay”
Review of Sunny Days Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunny Days Hotel
Ranked #58 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

Ive just returned home after a lovely week in Rhodes (sunny days) Ive visited Rhodes a few times and Ive noticed sunny days so we decided to try it, we stayed in block 1, room 103 it was very nice and clean and beds were comfy, i asked for a extra pillow at reception and the man said he will ask house keeping in the morning, we had breakfast which was basic nothing special we only had breakfast 3 days out of 7 (we had breakfast at the luna bar which is next to sunny days) there was plenty of space around the pool so you didn't have to worry about getting up early to get a sun bed. I went to reception asked about towels its 6 euros for 2 towels and 20 euros despot (which you get back when you give the towels back) (Just be careful the pool is freezing) after a day by the pool i went back to the room and house keeping put an extra pillow on the bed. The only down side about staying in room 103 is the reception, i would be woken up in the middle of the night by people shouting so i would recommend maybe putting a door at the top of the stairs or something a long those lines.
Over all: sunny days is a lovely place to stay and i would stay again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BeckySum93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

I would like to write this review as I feel this hotel needs & should be recommended.
We stayed here for two weeks during the last week in September-first week of October.
This hotel is up a tiny side street, so unless you knew it was there, you would just walk straight past it, just like we did until a lovely gentleman from coconut restaurant along the main road guided us to where we had to go. So for that only reason, it needs more signage.
As soon as we walked into sunny days, first impressions were very good.
The hotel reception staff were very friendly & extremely helpful, especially the young blonde girl who couldn't do enough for us throughout our stay at sunny days... Such a helpful person. I didn't get her name but I wished I had.
Got shown to our room which was very clean & presentable. After all we were on holiday so all we needed was a base.
Bathroom was of a good size & kept clean.
We had 2 bedrooms with a double in one & a single in the other. Our room had a vanity/ dressing table with a mirror for us ladies.
Balcony in both rooms with very comfy beds!
We were on the ground floor which was not a problem.
Plenty of wardrobe space with a safe inside.
Towels & toiletries changed every other day.
Fridge in little kitchen with table & chairs.
We were bed & breakfast, & the buffet/ help yourself was good...a good selection of food with fresh breads & juices.
We sat outside near the pool for our breakfast which was quite nice.
Waiter called 'savas' was so lovely. Constantly on the go...Brought coffee & a pot of hot water for our tea with a smile. We had him for two weeks & we miss him already! Pool of a good size with plenty of sun beds all around with a child's pool & small play area.
I can't speak highly enough of the staff or the hotel.
Please don't judge a book by its cover, give sunny days a try. It may be up a little side street tucked away but it was lovely.
Myself or my family wouldn't hesitate going back here.
Thank you sunny days xx

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank wendymorgan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seva L, Sunny Days Team at Sunny Days Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Wendy
On behalf of Sunny Days Team, we want to express our appreciation for your review on our hotel. We are more than happy to see that our commitment to your satisfaction in well received.
First impressions matter to us, and we continuously strive to provide the best for our guests. Also your comments on our room facilities, our food and beverages, and, of course, our staff make us glad to have made your stay a pleasant one.
We look forward to your next visit on our hotel, which we hope will be even more enjoyable for you and your family.
Once again, thank you very much for you kind words, we wish you all the best, and a pleasant winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

We booked sunny days after changing our minds on the hotel we originally booked due to too many negative reviews popping up and we are so glad we did,the hotel is in a great location right on the strip,it's clean,fresh looking and modern,we stayed in block 2 which is part of the renevated blocks the bed was nice and comfy nice bathroom,your provided with a kettle,fridge 2 glasses and cups if you like a cuppa tea on a morning take a spoon as that's one thing that was missing,hair dryers are provided but cut out after 5 mins to cool down,the breakfast is basic but nice, eggs,bacon,fruit,yogurt,cheese,meats etc.The staff are very friendly and helpful,nothing is to much trouble,the pool bar for food is FAB,tasty and not over priced,on a night we kept visiting the same bar Sebastians sports bar on the strip as we were made to feel very welcome good food good drinks and great company,rhodes town is €1.90 each on the bus that are every half hour worth a visit defo the old town,visit the clock tower €5 with a drink the viws from the top are anazing,i would recommend georges bar in the old town,english guy runs it very helpful guy its just by the clock tower only a small place but plenty of choice in drinks,all in all we would definitely stay here again,be warned if your arriving after 9.30pm they lock one entrance as it leads to the pool,so pass luna bar and turn down the side of ekati restaurant and your there easy.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jonay1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seva L, Sunny Days Team at Sunny Days Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Jonay,
We are happy to see that you appreciated our room facilities. It is a fact that all our rooms have been recently renovated, and also, we are more than glad to see that you liked our food options.
Safety is, of course, among our priorities, and thus we indeed, lock the entrances that provide direct access to the area within our complex, except our main entrance, next to Ekati restaurant.
On behalf of our team, we would to thank very much for this review, and we would like to express that we are more than glad to accommodate you next year.
We wish you all the best, and a pleasant winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

My husband and I booked a 4 night stay in this hotel for a short break. We love the Greek Islands and were happy to return to Rhodes after 3 years. We decided to book B&B as we love Greek food and hospitality. We chose this hotel as it said it was family run.

First Impressions/Check-In: We were dropped off by the coach and walked up to what we assumed was the reception. The man at the desk seemed very confused to see us there and sent us all around the pool and the outside of the hotel to get to the actual reception desk. Reading other reviews this seems to happen a lot, might be worthwhile putting up some sort of sign?! We arrived at 11:30 and check-in not until 2pm so we went and had lunch at the Pool Bar, which was tasty and reasonable. We were able to check-in at 13:30 as they had a room cleaned early. We were assigned Room 101 next to Reception

Room: We were impressed with the decor and lightness of the room, it was nice and modern. The bathroom had a frosted glass door which I could imagine might be a worry if you were not a couple! We had twin beds pushed together. At first glance it looked very clean, however after taking off my shoes I quickly out them back on again as the floor was very gritty. We also found one used contact lens on the dressing table, and 2 more on the floor! Please see housekeeping below... The shower was a funny set-up, the cubicle looked clean, but the area where you'd stand to dry off looked gross so we avoided that. The shower itself was very small. The shower head was the same as a wand that you get as an attachment on most showers. Because of that it only got one small part of your body at a time! Despite this it somehow managed to soak the bathroom?!

Housekeeping: After finding these contact lenses on the floor we asked at reception if they could get someone to sweep and mop the floor, and also requested more hangers as we only had 3 between us. The man on reception was very accommodating and said he would get in touch with housekeeping right away. We came back from the pool in the early evening and the room was the same, so we asked again at reception and he said he would make sure it was done. We came back after dinner and still not done. The next day we came back after a day at the pool and our room had not been cleaned at all (and still someone else's used contact lenses on the floor!). We spoke to reception again and he said it would be done. We came back after dinner - still nothing. The next day, still not cleaned. We asked to speak to manager and receptionist said he would arrange. That night at 10:0 we got knock from housekeeping to clean the room! We told them we were in bed and too late. 11pm they knock again (we were asleep) with clean towels! Not impressed. The next day the receptionist said he'd spoken to the manager for us and they could offer us the shower room for free on last day (5 euro each). We said that's not good enough and we either wanted them to pay for our bar bill (£30) or let us keep our room on last day. He said shower room or nothing. That day our room was cleaned (hurrah!). The next day again it was not. Over the course of 5 days our room was cleaned once, despite the information sheet stating 6 days out of 7.

Food: Breakfast was basic but adequate. Not much in the way of hot food, but quite good selection of cold. You get what you pay for. However, on 2 of the days we were there one of the chefs was coughing his guts up all over the food he was chopping. It was disgusting! He was literally lent over the vegetables etc he was cutting up and then coughing all over them, not putting his hand up or anything! i saw this for 2 mornings in a row and then decided i couldn't stomach it on the last day so I didn't eat any breakfast. Ironically that man wasn't in that day (probably called in sick!!). Other than our lunch on arrival (which was very nice) and breakfast, we didn't eat at the pool bar. The drinks were reasonable and they would bring them to your lounger.

Pool: Much smaller than the picture shows. Beds are all very close together, but we did manage to get 2 every day. For some reason the last 2 days we were there the water was unbearably cold! Hardly anyone went in.

This all made for a stressful few days, rather than the relaxing break we were looking forward to. We don't expect to have to argue with reception everyday, and also to be made out as if we are lying, or causing a fuss about nothing. If this is how Sunny Days treat their family...

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Emily1989_hh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seva L, Sunny Days Team at Sunny Days Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Emily,
First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel, we consider any review valuable, as it is a reflection of how our services are received from our guest.
We are glad to see you were pleased with your check-in and you kind remark on our snack bar food, though as our hotel is a four block complex, you can understand there are more than one entrances so the driver must have made a mistake to drop your off in another entrance.
Check-in is at 14:00, as is designated, but we are glad to provide the best for our guests at any chance and were willing to provide a half-hour early check-in, which we are happy to see was appreciated.
Room quality is among our priorities, and we always strive to make a good first impression, as it matters a lot to us. A remark on the bathroom door is that there is no visibility in the bathroom as the door is closed, merely a blur, citing this to avoid any misunderstandings. The facilities are the standard ones you will find in almost any home here in Greece and your experience is an example of things people perceive differently about everyday life, something we consider of value as a travelling experience.
Without exaggerating, we would like to express our regret that you were inconvenienced with any of our services, however we deem that these were mishaps within the realm of human mistake, and would like to remind you that not paying for services we have already offered is not possible, as well as providing any compensation that would lead to the dissatisfaction of any of our other guests. However we were willing, as you have yourself stated, to offer some form of compensation, equivalent to our omission, of the one day you missed cleaning, that you, unfortunately, declined.
Once again, we would like to thank you for your comments, your review is a reminder that we must strive harder to please our guests. That been said, we would be glad to accommodate you next year, and we hope you will find that our services have been improved, as it is part of our policy to constantly improve ourselves.
From our team here in Sunny days, we wish you have a pleasant winter, and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

I promised myself that I’d compile a detailed review on my return from Sunny Days. Shortly after booking, I did have a few concerns especially as I’d read a recent run of poor T.A reviews. I’ve tried to give a balanced view of both the good and bad, the latter I’m hoping may enable positive change in the future. It’s worth mentioning, that I feel this hotel does have the potential to great, but in its current state it somewhat lacks consistency and detail.  We travelled as a party of 3 friends. 

Arrival & Check-In
After a very lengthy 12-hour delay from the U.K. we arrived at Sunny Days via taxi at 1.45am, exhausted and very much looking forward to our beds!  Sadly, we were met with a locked hotel ‘entrance’ tucked up dark alley and no sign of a manned reception! Thankfully, someone came to our aid from the Luna Bar next door after hearing us knocking on the doors! He told us we needed to walk left down the street and turn left up the next side street where we would find the “main entrance”. A simple, cost effective solution would be for the hotel to install some basic signage to direct anyone arriving late, rather than letting them stumble around in the dark! It’s worth noting that this entrance is closed for security reasons at night as it offers direct access to guests rooms and pool area.

First impressions of reception and the overall decor were positive, and after a quick, painless check-in, we were shown in the general direction of our room.  We were allocated room 504, in block Five, located at the opposite side of the U-shaped complex to the reception. As I’d read several reviews prior departure, I immediately knew this was going to be the ‘un-renovated block, and it somewhat softened the blow!  As expected, first impressions were of a pretty basic, tired room, in need of modernisation. but of a larger than standard size.

We had very clearly booked a room for three guests, but annoyingly when we got to our room we found only two beds were made, crucially we were missing both the extra linen and towels for the third person. A tired and totally avoidable 2.am ‘trudge’ back to reception was made, where we were told; “sorry, house-keeping finish at 10.00!” After some deliberation, we did get the night porter to ‘locate’ us some spares in a musty store room, and after a much-needed sleep, we woke to assess our new surroundings!

The Room / Bathroom / House-Keeping:
Overall the room was generally clean, if not a little Spartan, and it was obvious it had just been cheaply ‘spruced up’ in an attempt to stop it looking so very dated. If aesthetics don’t bother you, and you can easily get past this then I think you’ll be fine at Sunny Days Block 5. While I don’t want to spend all holiday in my room, I was irritated that their website and T.A management photos made the rooms appear so much nicer than in reality. I’m quick to admit we didn’t pay ‘premium’ prices, but I do find this a little deceitful. They are simply eluding to something much brighter, fresher and more contemporary! It should be made explicitly clear at the time of booking that all the renovations in the hotel are not to the same standard, so not to mislead guests.

Now, it’s no secret I do love a bit of ‘retro chic’, but the bathroom was something else - early 80’s beige at its finest! The good: a decent size, generally clean given its age, ample hot water with good pressure, and thankfully no ‘incidents’ with the mismatched white toilet! The bad: The shower was an absolute nightmare! If you long for a refreshing shower/bath after a day of Greek sunshine, please, I urge you book elsewhere unless you can 100% guaranteed a renovated room. It was missing a plug, the old shower head constantly fell out of its wall holder, so much so it ended up splitting the perished plastic and we had to get it swopped out. The shower screen was tiny and oddly positioned, so didn’t deflect the water and soaked the floor unless you stood awkwardly down one end of the tub - which I add for the record looked so worn on first inspection I contemplated showering in flip-flops! 

The beds we all found to be surprising comfortable, and we all slept well, they are on the firm side, but I do find this is usually the norm in Greece. The linen, pillows and towels, while not ’new or fluffy’ were adequate and clean, though I found it poor the bed linen wasn’t changed once in our weeks stay. To get used towels replaced, or your room cleaned before darkness fell (without pestering reception) was all but impossible. After a week of watching the friendly staff work, I don’t think this is the directly the fault of house-keeping, but down to a lack of staff. They appeared to do their best, but always looked under pressure to clean a large number of rooms and communal areas.

General storage in the room was a bit of a niggle, it amounted to two tiny side tables in the bedroom, and one slim wardrobe with a hanging rail (there appears to be no hangers provided by the hotel just random odds and ends left by previous guests?)  there were an additional two luggage racks to hold suitcases. This was clearly always going to be a nightmare, so we resorted to stacking clothes up in piles on our suitcases and made do. The rooms to their merit are spacious, so could have easily accommodated a chest of drawers without taking up valuable space. We opted to use the in-room safe at 20 euros for the week for peace of mind.

The self-catering aspect for some may be a deciding factor in booking Sunny Days so I feel it’s worth mentioning that general everyday kitchen items you’d except as standard were not included. No cutlery, basic utensils, bottle opener/corkscrew, towel or dishcloth. There were a very limited number of cups and glasses, a saucepan and a few side plates but I think even doing the most basic of food prep you’d struggle. There was a small double electric hob and an old yellowing kettle - but we used neither as we prefer to eat out (An absolute highlight quickly while on the topic of food… two super restaurants both located in Ixia, Sirtaki - the most delicious garlicky lamb, and Mama Psitonostimies for all around great Greek food - I’d advise booking to avoid disappointment!)  Additionally, the fridge was clean and kept drinks etc. chilled as expected. There was a small table and chairs to ‘dine’ should you choose. The balcony area was surprising spacious with another table and chairs, drying rack and a view over the pool, thankfully it was very quiet at night with no road/bar noise that I anticipate would be a problem if you were allocated a room on the front or side of this block. 

I’ll mention the air-con, as it appears to be a little bit of a contentious issue. In our room, we had one unit on in the main living area. I simply don’t know if we just got ‘lucky’, I can only speculate on this, but it was permanently ‘on’ from the moment we arrived. It worked faultlessly, wafting around gently chilled air that enabled us all, (both in the bedroom and living area) to sleep like babies in 30+ degree heat. The point being, we didn’t ever purchase the unit’s remote, (although knew we could do this for 7 euros per day, as we were informed at check-in) I’m not sure if this was an oversight by the hotel or the unit had malfunctioned in our favour, either way we were very grateful.

General Facilities / Food:
The majority of the hotel looks like it has been, or is in the process of being refurbished, the new hotel restaurant had just opened and while we did not eat there it appeared to be both modern and stylish. The pool was kept clean and tidy as was the bar area, and while always busy, there did appear to be enough beds/ seating to meet guests needs. We ate breakfast at the hotel most mornings as this was included, and while I can’t say I was blown away by it, it was adequate, with enough choice to suit most tastes. Staff were pleasant and accommodating acting on any queries or questions we had. 


Overall for the price we paid, I doubt you would find accommodation in the resort that was far superior, and while Sunny Days did had its niggling negative points I do think with tweaks it could be a solid 3* hotel. 

Room Tip: Avoid Block five if possible especially road facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank vans998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
1.7 km away
Eleonas Hotel Aparts
Eleonas Hotel Aparts
#86 of 126 in Rhodes Town
45 reviews
0.1 km away
Villa Di Mare Luxury Suites
Villa Di Mare Luxury Suites
#56 of 126 in Rhodes Town
160 reviews
0.6 km away
Nathalie Hotel
Nathalie Hotel
#7 of 126 in Rhodes Town
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel
#81 of 126 in Rhodes Town
90 reviews
0.8 km away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#14 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,792 reviews
1.5 km away
Dionysos Hotel
Dionysos Hotel
#15 of 126 in Rhodes Town
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Days Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Days Hotel

Address: Kandalou 16 | Ixia, Rhodes Town 85101, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: ₹ 3,611 - ₹ 10,188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunny Days Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Ialyssos, Sunny Days Apartments Hotel offers an outdoor pool with a sun terrace, and a children's playground. Free WiFi is available in all units. All units will provide you with a TV, air conditioning and a balcony. Most have a full kitchenette and a refrigerator. Private bathroom also comes with a bathtub. You can enjoy Aegean Sea or pool view from the units. At Sunny Days Apartments Hotel you will find a garden, BBQ facilities and a snack bar serving Greek traditional cuisine. Other facilities like a communal lounge and a games room are offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunny Days Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Days Ixia
Sunny Days Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing