We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Lydia Hotel(Rhodes Town)
US$ 163
US$ 107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

K Boutique Hotel(Rhodes Town)
US$ 145
US$ 141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 278
US$ 244
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 196
US$ 183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 283
US$ 239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 257
US$ 251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 505
US$ 476
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Apart Hotel City Center(Rhodes Town)(Great Value!)
US$ 72
US$ 67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$ 281
US$ 274
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
38
25
10
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
25
10
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshouse keepingpoolside bardressing tablegood sizeair conbus stoppool arealovely hotelrhodes old townmikabedroomkettleapartmenttowelsgreecesea
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

I would like to write this review as I feel this hotel needs & should be recommended.
We stayed here for two weeks during the last week in September-first week of October.
This hotel is up a tiny side street, so unless you knew it was there, you would just walk straight past it, just like we did until a lovely gentleman from coconut restaurant along the main road guided us to where we had to go. So for that only reason, it needs more signage.
As soon as we walked into sunny days, first impressions were very good.
The hotel reception staff were very friendly & extremely helpful, especially the young blonde girl who couldn't do enough for us throughout our stay at sunny days... Such a helpful person. I didn't get her name but I wished I had.
Got shown to our room which was very clean & presentable. After all we were on holiday so all we needed was a base.
Bathroom was of a good size & kept clean.
We had 2 bedrooms with a double in one & a single in the other. Our room had a vanity/ dressing table with a mirror for us ladies.
Balcony in both rooms with very comfy beds!
We were on the ground floor which was not a problem.
Plenty of wardrobe space with a safe inside.
Towels & toiletries changed every other day.
Fridge in little kitchen with table & chairs.
We were bed & breakfast, & the buffet/ help yourself was good...a good selection of food with fresh breads & juices.
We sat outside near the pool for our breakfast which was quite nice.
Waiter called 'savas' was so lovely. Constantly on the go...Brought coffee & a pot of hot water for our tea with a smile. We had him for two weeks & we miss him already! Pool of a good size with plenty of sun beds all around with a child's pool & small play area.
I can't speak highly enough of the staff or the hotel.
Please don't judge a book by its cover, give sunny days a try. It may be up a little side street tucked away but it was lovely.
Myself or my family wouldn't hesitate going back here.
Thank you sunny days xx

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
5  Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seva L, Sunny Days Team at Sunny Days Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Wendy
On behalf of Sunny Days Team, we want to express our appreciation for your review on our hotel. We are more than happy to see that our commitment to your satisfaction in well received.
First impressions matter to us, and we continuously strive to provide the best for our guests. Also your comments on our room facilities, our food and beverages, and, of course, our staff make us glad to have made your stay a pleasant one.
We look forward to your next visit on our hotel, which we hope will be even more enjoyable for you and your family.
Once again, thank you very much for you kind words, we wish you all the best, and a pleasant winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

We booked sunny days after changing our minds on the hotel we originally booked due to too many negative reviews popping up and we are so glad we did,the hotel is in a great location right on the strip,it's clean,fresh looking and modern,we stayed in block 2 which is part of the renevated blocks the bed was nice and comfy nice bathroom,your provided with a kettle,fridge 2 glasses and cups if you like a cuppa tea on a morning take a spoon as that's one thing that was missing,hair dryers are provided but cut out after 5 mins to cool down,the breakfast is basic but nice, eggs,bacon,fruit,yogurt,cheese,meats etc.The staff are very friendly and helpful,nothing is to much trouble,the pool bar for food is FAB,tasty and not over priced,on a night we kept visiting the same bar Sebastians sports bar on the strip as we were made to feel very welcome good food good drinks and great company,rhodes town is €1.90 each on the bus that are every half hour worth a visit defo the old town,visit the clock tower €5 with a drink the viws from the top are anazing,i would recommend georges bar in the old town,english guy runs it very helpful guy its just by the clock tower only a small place but plenty of choice in drinks,all in all we would definitely stay here again,be warned if your arriving after 9.30pm they lock one entrance as it leads to the pool,so pass luna bar and turn down the side of ekati restaurant and your there easy.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Joanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seva L, Sunny Days Team at Sunny Days Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Jonay,
We are happy to see that you appreciated our room facilities. It is a fact that all our rooms have been recently renovated, and also, we are more than glad to see that you liked our food options.
Safety is, of course, among our priorities, and thus we indeed, lock the entrances that provide direct access to the area within our complex, except our main entrance, next to Ekati restaurant.
On behalf of our team, we would to thank very much for this review, and we would like to express that we are more than glad to accommodate you next year.
We wish you all the best, and a pleasant winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

My husband and I booked a 4 night stay in this hotel for a short break. We love the Greek Islands and were happy to return to Rhodes after 3 years. We decided to book B&B as we love Greek food and hospitality. We chose this hotel as it said it was family run.

First Impressions/Check-In: We were dropped off by the coach and walked up to what we assumed was the reception. The man at the desk seemed very confused to see us there and sent us all around the pool and the outside of the hotel to get to the actual reception desk. Reading other reviews this seems to happen a lot, might be worthwhile putting up some sort of sign?! We arrived at 11:30 and check-in not until 2pm so we went and had lunch at the Pool Bar, which was tasty and reasonable. We were able to check-in at 13:30 as they had a room cleaned early. We were assigned Room 101 next to Reception

Room: We were impressed with the decor and lightness of the room, it was nice and modern. The bathroom had a frosted glass door which I could imagine might be a worry if you were not a couple! We had twin beds pushed together. At first glance it looked very clean, however after taking off my shoes I quickly out them back on again as the floor was very gritty. We also found one used contact lens on the dressing table, and 2 more on the floor! Please see housekeeping below... The shower was a funny set-up, the cubicle looked clean, but the area where you'd stand to dry off looked gross so we avoided that. The shower itself was very small. The shower head was the same as a wand that you get as an attachment on most showers. Because of that it only got one small part of your body at a time! Despite this it somehow managed to soak the bathroom?!

Housekeeping: After finding these contact lenses on the floor we asked at reception if they could get someone to sweep and mop the floor, and also requested more hangers as we only had 3 between us. The man on reception was very accommodating and said he would get in touch with housekeeping right away. We came back from the pool in the early evening and the room was the same, so we asked again at reception and he said he would make sure it was done. We came back after dinner and still not done. The next day we came back after a day at the pool and our room had not been cleaned at all (and still someone else's used contact lenses on the floor!). We spoke to reception again and he said it would be done. We came back after dinner - still nothing. The next day, still not cleaned. We asked to speak to manager and receptionist said he would arrange. That night at 10:0 we got knock from housekeeping to clean the room! We told them we were in bed and too late. 11pm they knock again (we were asleep) with clean towels! Not impressed. The next day the receptionist said he'd spoken to the manager for us and they could offer us the shower room for free on last day (5 euro each). We said that's not good enough and we either wanted them to pay for our bar bill (£30) or let us keep our room on last day. He said shower room or nothing. That day our room was cleaned (hurrah!). The next day again it was not. Over the course of 5 days our room was cleaned once, despite the information sheet stating 6 days out of 7.

Food: Breakfast was basic but adequate. Not much in the way of hot food, but quite good selection of cold. You get what you pay for. However, on 2 of the days we were there one of the chefs was coughing his guts up all over the food he was chopping. It was disgusting! He was literally lent over the vegetables etc he was cutting up and then coughing all over them, not putting his hand up or anything! i saw this for 2 mornings in a row and then decided i couldn't stomach it on the last day so I didn't eat any breakfast. Ironically that man wasn't in that day (probably called in sick!!). Other than our lunch on arrival (which was very nice) and breakfast, we didn't eat at the pool bar. The drinks were reasonable and they would bring them to your lounger.

Pool: Much smaller than the picture shows. Beds are all very close together, but we did manage to get 2 every day. For some reason the last 2 days we were there the water was unbearably cold! Hardly anyone went in.

This all made for a stressful few days, rather than the relaxing break we were looking forward to. We don't expect to have to argue with reception everyday, and also to be made out as if we are lying, or causing a fuss about nothing. If this is how Sunny Days treat their family...

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Emily1989_hh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seva L, Sunny Days Team at Sunny Days Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Emily,
First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel, we consider any review valuable, as it is a reflection of how our services are received from our guest.
We are glad to see you were pleased with your check-in and you kind remark on our snack bar food, though as our hotel is a four block complex, you can understand there are more than one entrances so the driver must have made a mistake to drop your off in another entrance.
Check-in is at 14:00, as is designated, but we are glad to provide the best for our guests at any chance and were willing to provide a half-hour early check-in, which we are happy to see was appreciated.
Room quality is among our priorities, and we always strive to make a good first impression, as it matters a lot to us. A remark on the bathroom door is that there is no visibility in the bathroom as the door is closed, merely a blur, citing this to avoid any misunderstandings. The facilities are the standard ones you will find in almost any home here in Greece and your experience is an example of things people perceive differently about everyday life, something we consider of value as a travelling experience.
Without exaggerating, we would like to express our regret that you were inconvenienced with any of our services, however we deem that these were mishaps within the realm of human mistake, and would like to remind you that not paying for services we have already offered is not possible, as well as providing any compensation that would lead to the dissatisfaction of any of our other guests. However we were willing, as you have yourself stated, to offer some form of compensation, equivalent to our omission, of the one day you missed cleaning, that you, unfortunately, declined.
Once again, we would like to thank you for your comments, your review is a reminder that we must strive harder to please our guests. That been said, we would be glad to accommodate you next year, and we hope you will find that our services have been improved, as it is part of our policy to constantly improve ourselves.
From our team here in Sunny days, we wish you have a pleasant winter, and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

I promised myself that I’d compile a detailed review on my return from Sunny Days. Shortly after booking, I did have a few concerns especially as I’d read a recent run of poor T.A reviews. I’ve tried to give a balanced view of both the good and bad, the latter I’m hoping may enable positive change in the future. It’s worth mentioning, that I feel this hotel does have the potential to great, but in its current state it somewhat lacks consistency and detail.  We travelled as a party of 3 friends. 

Arrival & Check-In
After a very lengthy 12-hour delay from the U.K. we arrived at Sunny Days via taxi at 1.45am, exhausted and very much looking forward to our beds!  Sadly, we were met with a locked hotel ‘entrance’ tucked up dark alley and no sign of a manned reception! Thankfully, someone came to our aid from the Luna Bar next door after hearing us knocking on the doors! He told us we needed to walk left down the street and turn left up the next side street where we would find the “main entrance”. A simple, cost effective solution would be for the hotel to install some basic signage to direct anyone arriving late, rather than letting them stumble around in the dark! It’s worth noting that this entrance is closed for security reasons at night as it offers direct access to guests rooms and pool area.

First impressions of reception and the overall decor were positive, and after a quick, painless check-in, we were shown in the general direction of our room.  We were allocated room 504, in block Five, located at the opposite side of the U-shaped complex to the reception. As I’d read several reviews prior departure, I immediately knew this was going to be the ‘un-renovated block, and it somewhat softened the blow!  As expected, first impressions were of a pretty basic, tired room, in need of modernisation. but of a larger than standard size.

We had very clearly booked a room for three guests, but annoyingly when we got to our room we found only two beds were made, crucially we were missing both the extra linen and towels for the third person. A tired and totally avoidable 2.am ‘trudge’ back to reception was made, where we were told; “sorry, house-keeping finish at 10.00!” After some deliberation, we did get the night porter to ‘locate’ us some spares in a musty store room, and after a much-needed sleep, we woke to assess our new surroundings!

The Room / Bathroom / House-Keeping:
Overall the room was generally clean, if not a little Spartan, and it was obvious it had just been cheaply ‘spruced up’ in an attempt to stop it looking so very dated. If aesthetics don’t bother you, and you can easily get past this then I think you’ll be fine at Sunny Days Block 5. While I don’t want to spend all holiday in my room, I was irritated that their website and T.A management photos made the rooms appear so much nicer than in reality. I’m quick to admit we didn’t pay ‘premium’ prices, but I do find this a little deceitful. They are simply eluding to something much brighter, fresher and more contemporary! It should be made explicitly clear at the time of booking that all the renovations in the hotel are not to the same standard, so not to mislead guests.

Now, it’s no secret I do love a bit of ‘retro chic’, but the bathroom was something else - early 80’s beige at its finest! The good: a decent size, generally clean given its age, ample hot water with good pressure, and thankfully no ‘incidents’ with the mismatched white toilet! The bad: The shower was an absolute nightmare! If you long for a refreshing shower/bath after a day of Greek sunshine, please, I urge you book elsewhere unless you can 100% guaranteed a renovated room. It was missing a plug, the old shower head constantly fell out of its wall holder, so much so it ended up splitting the perished plastic and we had to get it swopped out. The shower screen was tiny and oddly positioned, so didn’t deflect the water and soaked the floor unless you stood awkwardly down one end of the tub - which I add for the record looked so worn on first inspection I contemplated showering in flip-flops! 

The beds we all found to be surprising comfortable, and we all slept well, they are on the firm side, but I do find this is usually the norm in Greece. The linen, pillows and towels, while not ’new or fluffy’ were adequate and clean, though I found it poor the bed linen wasn’t changed once in our weeks stay. To get used towels replaced, or your room cleaned before darkness fell (without pestering reception) was all but impossible. After a week of watching the friendly staff work, I don’t think this is the directly the fault of house-keeping, but down to a lack of staff. They appeared to do their best, but always looked under pressure to clean a large number of rooms and communal areas.

General storage in the room was a bit of a niggle, it amounted to two tiny side tables in the bedroom, and one slim wardrobe with a hanging rail (there appears to be no hangers provided by the hotel just random odds and ends left by previous guests?)  there were an additional two luggage racks to hold suitcases. This was clearly always going to be a nightmare, so we resorted to stacking clothes up in piles on our suitcases and made do. The rooms to their merit are spacious, so could have easily accommodated a chest of drawers without taking up valuable space. We opted to use the in-room safe at 20 euros for the week for peace of mind.

The self-catering aspect for some may be a deciding factor in booking Sunny Days so I feel it’s worth mentioning that general everyday kitchen items you’d except as standard were not included. No cutlery, basic utensils, bottle opener/corkscrew, towel or dishcloth. There were a very limited number of cups and glasses, a saucepan and a few side plates but I think even doing the most basic of food prep you’d struggle. There was a small double electric hob and an old yellowing kettle - but we used neither as we prefer to eat out (An absolute highlight quickly while on the topic of food… two super restaurants both located in Ixia, Sirtaki - the most delicious garlicky lamb, and Mama Psitonostimies for all around great Greek food - I’d advise booking to avoid disappointment!)  Additionally, the fridge was clean and kept drinks etc. chilled as expected. There was a small table and chairs to ‘dine’ should you choose. The balcony area was surprising spacious with another table and chairs, drying rack and a view over the pool, thankfully it was very quiet at night with no road/bar noise that I anticipate would be a problem if you were allocated a room on the front or side of this block. 

I’ll mention the air-con, as it appears to be a little bit of a contentious issue. In our room, we had one unit on in the main living area. I simply don’t know if we just got ‘lucky’, I can only speculate on this, but it was permanently ‘on’ from the moment we arrived. It worked faultlessly, wafting around gently chilled air that enabled us all, (both in the bedroom and living area) to sleep like babies in 30+ degree heat. The point being, we didn’t ever purchase the unit’s remote, (although knew we could do this for 7 euros per day, as we were informed at check-in) I’m not sure if this was an oversight by the hotel or the unit had malfunctioned in our favour, either way we were very grateful.

General Facilities / Food:
The majority of the hotel looks like it has been, or is in the process of being refurbished, the new hotel restaurant had just opened and while we did not eat there it appeared to be both modern and stylish. The pool was kept clean and tidy as was the bar area, and while always busy, there did appear to be enough beds/ seating to meet guests needs. We ate breakfast at the hotel most mornings as this was included, and while I can’t say I was blown away by it, it was adequate, with enough choice to suit most tastes. Staff were pleasant and accommodating acting on any queries or questions we had. 


Overall for the price we paid, I doubt you would find accommodation in the resort that was far superior, and while Sunny Days did had its niggling negative points I do think with tweaks it could be a solid 3* hotel. 

Room Tip: Avoid Block five if possible especially road facing rooms
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank vans998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Taxi dropped us at one entrance, with no reception in sight or signs to it. Some vague pointing finally got us to the reception on the other side of the "U" shaped complex.

Arrived ( on my birthday) to be told technical problem with our apartment and would need to have "deluxe" rooftop room for one night then move , the apartment would be ready first thing in the morning. No apology, just 'don't worry'.

Rooftop room was absolutely boiling, more up with the satellite dishes and air con unit's than penthouse. Another trip all the way back to reception to get air con controller. Beds very low. No mugs to go with kettle. Bathroom modern but poor design as had to squeeze past door to get to the loo due to the shower position.

Was given free breakfast due to having no apartment facilities. Food okay but not ideal for me as I have coeliac disease so need gluten free food (that's why we book an apartment to give me more choice of food I can eat).

Back to reception at 1000. No apartment ready. come back later, don't worry! 1230 we got the apartment. Kitchen had had a recent refit but still basic 2 ring hob. You need deluxe apmt to get a microwave. We had side view over back of next door bar ( satellite dishes and air con unit that never turned off). Very vague sea view through the sat dishes.

Bathroom a nightmare and even unsafe. Shower over narrow bath that has no flat bottom or anti slip surface. Taps were where you need to stand and screen in the wrong place to catch water. Sink over hung the toilet almost.

The worst part was cleanliness. On arrival the floor clearly hadn't been cleaned, dust, hairs and bits everywhere. Hotel instructions given out on arrival said housekeeping 6 days a week between 7-3. Nope, not a sign. Rarely saw a maid near the bedrooms and even if seen across the corridor they would then disappear without doing the rest of the rooms. We had to go and ask to be cleaned as bins were overflowing and the mosquitoes had moved into the bathroom and we were now covered in bites. Again no apology.

Don't leave your passports with them for too long as they are not kept secure. Why they can't photocopy them on arrival I don't know, but there are often piles of them on the front desk and nearby in an unsecured place.

You can pay to keep your room later, or try to as they say ask the day before but then don't know who is arriving when the next day so can't let you know. You can pay 3€ to use their shower room, something that is free for most hotels.

Having stayed at the Solemar in June, I would say go there. It's a bit basic but it's clean ,organised, better beds by the pool. Maybe we were unlucky (don't think so as others were having the same problem as we left) but why pay more money for such poor service.

Definitely not as described and not value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tab848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seva L, Sunny Days Team at Sunny Days Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Tab,
First of all we are glad you have taken the time to write this review for us. Reviews are very important for us to assess our progress.
Indeed there was a technical issue due to which we were unable to accommodate you to the room type you had booked, but we made up for the inconvenience by giving you a Luxury room and providing a free breakfast meal. As for gluten free, we do provide such options, you only had to ask.
We are also happy to see you recognized that you got the room much earlier than the designated check-in hour, which is 14:00. Of course we are more than happy to provide as much as feasibly possible to our guests accommodation.
Our bathrooms follow all safety regulations, and the surface is built precisely for the purpose of being anti-slip.
Housekeeping is indeed done six days per week, unless there is a special occasion, or otherwise instructed by the guests themselves.
The passports are held in the reception, in a safety drawer, there is always a person stand-by, and security cameras surveying the hall, so, the possibility of anyone unwanted having access to them is, clearly, outside the picture
The day use service is upon availability, as is clearly stated in the information we provide all our guests upon their check-in.
Reading your whole review we clearly see you received a negative picture for our accommodation, which we deem is not equivalent to the services we provide. We hope that on your next visit, you will find that our services have been improved, to better match your expectations.
Thank you again for your review, and for reminding us that we must always improve ourselves to better accommodate all of our guests.
We sincerely hope to see you again next year, all the best from us here at Sunny days. Have a pleasant winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews