We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but could be so much better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #11 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2017

Not long back from a week at this hotel in Ixia on the island of Rhodes. We'd booked half-board and travelled as a couple with Jet2holidays from Leeds Bradford Airport.
We arrived quite late in the evening, so had missed dinner, however Aggeliki at Reception was very welcoming and explained that we could have a voucher in lieu of our missed dinner, which we could use at any time during our stay - we used it to have lunch on our last day.
Our room was 513 and we'd paid the extra for a sea view and it was stunning - waking up every morning to a view of the turquoise Aegean sea with the coastline of Turkey on the horizon and clear blue sky was well worth it! Our room was spacious with a large, double bed and a seating area, but a bit too minimalist for me - I would have liked some local art work on the walls. There was no storage in the main area, as there was a separate dressing room, this only had two small drawers, but plenty of hanging space and an ample supply of coat hangers - a chair in there would have been welcome. The bathroom was good and functional - a sink and shower that worked and didn't flood the floor - HOORAY!
Housekeeping came every day to clean, but were unreliable when it came to replenishing - on two occasions we came back from a day out to find the used towels had been taken and not replaced. The first time I tracked down the ladies with their trolley and explained - they immediately brought clean towels and a spare toilet roll. The second time, I went down to Reception and asked for some clean towels and was told some would be sent up as soon as possible, but nothing happened until the following day. Most days a bottle of water was left in the room, but don't rely on this - the onsite shop sells 1l bottles for 50 cents anyway. Things like paper hankies, soap, toiletries, coffee, teabags etc were there when we arrived but not replaced during our stay.
The pool areas and gardens were well kept, we never had a problem finding sunbeds or somewhere to sit. We preferred to go across the road to the private beach - much more comfortable sunbeds, no piped music, not too many noisy children and a lovely cooling sea breeze - there is a small changing booth, a basic shower area and a toilet there for guests, but some clearer signage would help. The beach is pebble rather than sand, so bring beach shoes if you have tender feet!
We were both really disappointed by the main restaurant, where we went for breakfast and dinner. We seemed to queue several times at every meal. A sign at the door asks guests to wait to be seated (although some people just walked straight in) and the queue at some meals was out of the door and into the main reception area. The maître d'hôtel was so inefficient - he failed to welcome most of the guests and waived at people to follow him, then would stop at a table to chat to friends. He would sometimes assign you to a table, but often vaguely waved at a part of the restaurant and left you to it. We were never asked if everything was alright. When I asked him for butter one morning, he dismissed me with a wave of the hand and said the packet I was holding was butter - it was clearly marked 75% margarine. There was nearly always a long queue for the main hot food counter. There were no plates by the smaller hot food area, sometimes no soup plates by the soup or plates by the bread. I feel someone needs to take an overview and sort the logistics out - this would make things flow better and cut down the queues. The quality of the food was also disappointing - the fruit juices at breakfast were watery and tasteless; there was no butter at some meals; the fruit was cut up and had dried out; the coffee brought in a jug to the table was cold and weak - we used the self-service hot drinks machines. The whole experience felt more like a works canteen than a 5* hotel. The only positive was one waiter, Dimitris, who was polite, helpful and quietly got on with his job - well done.
This isn't a bad hotel, but it did not feel like a 5* hotel, which it claims to be - Jet2 calls it 4* plus. There are some good members of staff, but more staff training is needed to bring them all up to standard. Less variety at the meals, but better quality food might help. Sorry.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank tabbycat2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic Palace H, Guest Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear valued guest,
Thank you for taking the time to bring your feedback to our attention following your stay with us.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the comfort of the room with the stunning views, the pool area and the gardens.
Regarding the housekeeping service, we checked our records and also having spoken with the Chief Housekeeper, we wish to note that we couldn’t find any complains reported from your room during your stay nor from the following guests that stayed in the same room. Nevertheless, we are very concerned to read your experience and would like to apologize for any dissatisfaction felt. Without wishing to be unsympathetic, the majority of our guests praise the professionalism and friendliness of our staff as well as they receive the highest rates in our internal records and the on line reviews and it is with great regret to read that this was not the case during your holiday with us.
We also feel sadden to read that our main restaurant was characterized as a canteen and whilst we do respect all comments made by guests we feel that the term used is rather exaggerated. As you can appreciate, all hotels’ main restaurants have their peak service levels, especially in the case of large resort hotels. We can only apologize for any dissatisfaction felt in this regards, although based on our records we do not seem to have similar complaints to suggest that there was an issue with the service levels or the replacement of the plates in Elaia Main restaurant during the time of your stay. Furthermore, it is a great regret your report about our Maître d’hôtel since in the majority of the guests’ reviews there is a special mention to him and his professionalism after his long term experience; therefore we cannot accept your critic on him since he is often mentioned in guests’ reviews with very positive comments especially for his truly friendly approach.
Regarding the people that walk straight in the restaurant, kindly note that most of the times we accommodate groups of many people and they have a specific table for their whole stay, so they don’t have to wait since they know where their table is.
We felt sadden to read the subsequent comments made in regards to the food quality offered. Having said that, please note we do not seem to have similar complaints to suggest that the quality of food was poor; on the contrary the latest reviews made on the same stay dates as yours were excellent instead. Please note that the hotel rigorously follows and applies HACCP (Hazard Analysis & Critical Control System) procedures which don’t allow us to offer anything which is not fresh and totally safe. We do understand that each nationality of guests expects a different type of cuisine, however please note as an International resort we do take into consideration and offer as many choices as possible with the best ingredients and in the vast majority of cases all guests are very pleased with the end result. We can only apologize at the moment should your expectations could not be met on this aspect of your holiday and would like to assure you that your comments have been relayed to both, the hotel’s chef & general manager.
We are hospitality professionals and dedicated to servicing our guests and learning through the feedback we receive and therefore would like to thank you for raising this issue with us. Rest assured that your comment has been brought to the attention of all related managers for further evaluation.
We very much hope we will be given the chance to welcome you back at the Olympic Palace so as to restore your faith in our resort.

Kind regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 1,534 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2017

Just returned from weeks holiday at this hotel. Arrived 01:30hrs 15th Oct. Greeted by friendly staff on reception who gave a quick run down on hotel amenities. room was on 7th floor with sea view. large bottle of water and sandwiches had been left for us because of late arrival.queen size bed, very comfy, with soft pillows.Bathroom had bath plus shower, hairdryer, large mirror, smaller shaving mirror. Towels changed every day, along with towels for use on sunbeds or beach. Large balcony with table chairs and sunbeds, (however the sun never came far enough around for us to make use of them). The buffet restaurant always had a good selection of hot and cold food. Breakfast there was a choice of fried eggs, scrambled eggs, poached eggs, boiled eggs and omelettes. bacon, sausage, beans, tomatoes, toast, etc. for lunch you have buffet restaurant or snack bar. and for dinner, the buffet restaurant or book a la carte.The food in this restaurant was fantastic. In the evening the lounge bar was a nice place to sit and have a quiet drink with piano music playing.Up on the 8th floor was a roof top bar with great views out to sea, bar staff great with cocktails.most nights had entertainment, ABBA tribute, rock music, Greek dancers, and kareoke. During the day the pool bar worth a visit, sit at bar with feet in pool, bar staff always quick to serve. always get a sunbed around pool and no getting up early to reserve, animation team try their best butdont think they interacted with all people enough, same things, water polo, aqua aerobics, darts. The hotel is situated in the center of Ixia, across the road from the beach and near to supermarkets and restaurants, bus stop outside, for local bus into Rhodes town. at cost of 1euro 80cent. Would recommend this hotel to anyone all staff friendly and always helpful.

Room Tip: sea view room because inland rooms look out onto a mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roybarwise2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic Palace H, Guest Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review as well as for taking the time to post it on TripAdvisor.
Your description as an excellent hotel and the comments regarding the professionalism of our staff as well as the great facilities and services provided, give us the strength to continue hard working day by day.
On behalf of the management and all the staff members, we truly look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest regards,
Olympic Palace
Meltem Otousmpir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

We travelled as a couple in Oct 17 on an All Inclusive basis with a sea view.

We arrived in the early hours of the morning to find sandwiches and fresh bottled water in our room. The room was spacious, well equipped and clean. Good quality bathroom towels were changed daily when the room was cleaned.
A small but proper hairdryer is provided and NOT a 'hoover pipe' style one that burn your hands (I hate them)
Tea, coffee and kettle provided.
Iron and board available on request, took them literally 5 mins from request to delivery to our room.

All areas of the hotel are well maintained and spotlessly clean. A nice pool scene though the water was freezing (end of season I guess) not so inviting however, sun loungers were plentiful and beach towels provided free of charge , also changed daily if required.

The beach is a across a busy main road where again there are plenty of loungers. It is a pebble beach but pleasant enough.

A good mixture of mature, young and old couples and families.

The main restaurant is spacious and the food is plentiful with a variety of hot and cold, plenty of choice. It is well run by Barishko and his staff.

The Aqua Marine A la Carte serves All Inclusive food through the day with a nice seating area to chill out of the sun.
It has a separate lovely menu at an additional cost if required but very nice food.

The rooftop bar is where the main entertainment takes place in the evening. I have to be honest and say I found it a little disappointing to be served evening drinks in plastic 'glasses' which I would expect at the pool bar.
The lounge bar downstairs is lovely with a pleasant chilled atmosphere where you can listen to piano or saxophone.

All of the staff are helpful, pleasant and nothing seemed too much trouble for them especially Barishko, Kyriakos & Son, Paulina, Dexter and Panos.

It is a 4 mile walk into Rhodes town and the old town is spectacular and a must see. Local buses run every 20 mins or so, O.P to town just €180 each or you can buy return tickets at local supermarkets. Taxi ride around €9 one way so jump on the bus and enjoy

All in all we enjoyed 10 days here and the weather was fabulous

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BakedStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic Palace H, Guest Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear valued guest,
We greatly appreciate the time taken to review our hotel and we would like to take this opportunity and warmly thank you for the positive comments made.
It is always rewarding to read such positive comments about our resort and we are very happy to note that you were impressed with the facilities and services provided. We always strive to fulfill our guests’ wishes and provide the best service possible and feel very grateful when this is acknowledged; this is by far the best way to reward all of us working for Olympic Palace.
We will be happy to relay your specific praises to all the staff indicated in your review who will be extremely happy to know your opinion on the service provided.
Once again thank you for the feedback provided and very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Olympic Palace.

Warmest regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

Pretty much what I would expect, we had a mountain view room which was plenty large enough for two, though view is a bit misleading, you are certainly far to close to 'view' it.

The hotel is spacious and clean, the staff very friendly and helpful.

A slight negative point for me was the evening meal, given the volumes involved longer opening may have made the experience pleasanter, possibly starting at 18:00. Despite that I found a good variety of dishes, well cooked, and plenty of it.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrrog100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic Palace H, Guest Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Dear valued guest,
Thank you for taking the time to bring your feedback to our attention following your stay with us and for the nice comments made regarding the general appearance of our resort and the efficiency of our staff members.
Without wishing to be unsympathetic, we would like to take this opportunity and clarify that Mountain View rooms have the exact same facilities as the sea view rooms offered. These rooms still represent a great option for guests that seek a good standard accommodation at more affordable rates. In addition, the description provided in all of our travel cooperative brochures show the exact location of the Mountain View room in order not to provide misleading information.
Rest assured that we highly value all guests’ feedback in an effort to further improve our service levels & overall standards. Thank you once again for your valuable feedback; this is very much appreciated indeed.
It was a real pleasure accommodating you at the Olympic Palace and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Olympic Palace
Meltem Otousmpir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

This is one amazing hotel!! Ordinarily we was meant to be in a separate rooms but the hotel upgraded our rooms before we got there so I could be with my parents (we never asked to be upgraded so it was a lovely surprise). The staff were so friendly and helpful!! We got invited to go to the al a carte restaurant and the food was amazing :) The main restaurant food was a little bland but after a day we learnt were all the goodies were :) On the day we were leaving, the reception told us because we were leaving so late for the plane (we arrived late too) we could have dinner even though we were no longer guests. Plus we had a room for our luggage. Overall this was a fantastic hotel and I recommend it to everyone!!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic Palace H, Guest Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear valued guest,
It is particularly warming to receive such a positive review as well as to know that our efforts to provide authentic hospitality are so much appreciated by our guests. We are truly pleased to read your comments regarding the as well as for our the services provided and we would like to warmly thank you for that.
It was a real pleasure accommodating you at the Olympic Palace and look forward to welcoming you back in our resort for yet unforgettable holiday in Rhodes.

Warmest regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
1.6 km away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,935 reviews
0.3 km away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#12 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,243 reviews
0.5 km away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#14 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#6 of 126 in Rhodes Town
428 reviews
0.2 km away
Amathus Elite Suites
Amathus Elite Suites
#4 of 126 in Rhodes Town
647 reviews
0.4 km away
Oceanis Hotel
Oceanis Hotel
#18 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center

Address: Iraklidon Avenue, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#10 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#13 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: ₹ 6,409 - ₹ 19,290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center 5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover refined elegance and genuine hospitality. Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, with its unique architectural structure most recently renovated in 2008-12, welcoming and gracious with contemporary and chic interior design, offer's attentive service, upscale amenities, and blissful tranquility. Tastefully designed for comfort, 65% of our guest rooms are sea view with amazingly large verandas, ideal spots to take advantage of the amazing first rays of the sunlight or indulge in the enticing sunsets dipping in the Aegean Sea. Relax in our attractive and spacious gardens, or simply 'chill out' by the swimming pool, and enjoy a warm welcome from our genuinely friendly and hospitable staff. Alternatively you can take a stroll down to the beach and enjoy a swim in the crystal clear blue waters of the Aegean Sea and capture the breathtaking scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Ixia
Hotel Olympic Palace
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing