We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but Friendly”
Review of Hotel Solemar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Solemar
Ranked #78 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Reviewed 9 October 2011

I believe a holiday is what you make it we have just come back after staying all inclusive, First the staff very friendly and helpful if needed,
Gabriel who mans the payment bar was a delight and remembered our names throughout our stay which was nice.
The rooms are basic but clean which is all we wanted we stayed on the side of the hotel with 2 large dogs and lot's of birds but didn't really find it a problem unless we wanted to sleep with the balcony door open.
It made a good base to visit Rodos and Lindos and there are bars and restaurants a slow stroll away Dimitrios being worth a mention.
If your a little Englander don't go all inclusive as you won't like the food if you like trying new things then you will be fine as it is varied and found it quite tasty.
I wouldn't say the drinks are watered down just maybe not the expensive makes of alcohol but the cocktails are still tasty i recommend the Cherry, but you can have any drink you like including tea and coffee.
Basically read the review but make your own mind up i would say it's not for you if all you want to do is sit by the pool and have someone else entertain you.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Phyllis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (684)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Solemar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

504 - 508 of 684 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2011

Just returned after 2 weeks self catering. Apartment basic but clean. Pool area littered with cat poo and litter, overgrown, crawling with fleas. Got bitten several times. Poorly cats everywhere, kittens with one eyes, cats with fighting wounds all under fed, very upsetting to see.
The bar area overlooking the pool very dirty. Where the flowers should be the cats would poo in there, right where you were sat. Constant smell of cat poo. Interior of hotel looked basic but ok. Alll staff extreamly friendly and warm. Not alot to see in Ixia town. Beach dirty. I would recommend going to one of the other hotels and use their pool. You only have to buy one drink and you can stay there all day.
Noisy at night.. Barking dogs living next door and squaking cockerallls kept you awake all night. I could wait to get home!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Before going on this holiday we read some of the reviews about the hotel and was dreading being put in one of the rooms facing the dogs and the chickens, when me and my partner arrived at the Solemar Hotel we were in one of those rooms and our first reaction was to go to reception and ask to move as we were staying a week. As we had arrived at 11pm we decided to stay in that room for the night and heard nothing so we decided to stay in that room which was spacious and spotlessly clean. The second night at the hotel we heard a dog barking at around 12am but after 30 seconds it had stopped and we heard nothing for the rest of our holiday so please do not assume that if you have one of those rooms you are going to have a terrible time. We went all inclusive and the food is buffet style at set times, when you arrive at the hotel you will receive a letter detailing the times. I consider myself a fussy eater so thought that I would have to survive on chips for the whole holiday but they had a wide selection of food and plenty that will cater to British people. The pool is a good size but gets deep very quickly. There is a pool bar that serves soft drinks and cocktails as well as local beer until 11:30pm, there is also a small self serve snack bar which usually serves chips, pizza, sandwiches and salad and a freezer to get your own ice cream. Aircon is 30 euro for the week, it is not essential but would be worth getting as leaving the balcony door open would allow mosquitoes to enter your room. Make sure you have a good mosquito repellent, we were very lucky and did not use our repellent spray often and came home with no bites but a lady staying in the same hotel had 60 bites in one day so just be careful. The hotel is situated in a great location with plenty of shops to the left and right of the hotel, there is also a nice hotel just over the road called Villa Di Mare that has a nice pool, bar, big sun loungers that they don't mind you using as long as you buy a drink at the bar, I would advise buying a bottle of water for 50 cent as a bottle of fanta or cola is 3 euro each, the hotel leads onto the beach which is a pebble beach so if you are going to go in wear your flip flops in until it is sandy underfoot then throw them onto the beach as walking in barefoot on the pebbles can hurt your feet. There are plenty of trips to do on the island so i would advise you to go to you introduction meeting the morning after your arrival. Me and my partner went on the boat trip to Lindos which we booked through our Thomas Cook rep for 35 euro, as it was both our first time abroad without family we decided it would be a safer option but alternatively you can book the same trip significantly cheaper by getting the service bus into Rhodes town which stops outside the hotel every 15 minutes and costs 2.40 one way and making your way to the Harbor. There is lots to do in Rhodes town as it has the new town full of modern shops such as H&M, Marks and Spencer and other designer outlets, and the Old town with is mostly restaurants and gift shops but also has a museum which is worth the visit if you are planning on getting a taste of Ancient Greece. The Boat trip to Lindos was a great day out and we enjoyed every moment of it, the boat trip to and from Lindos is 2 hours with a 3 hour stay at Lindos itself. It has two sandy beaches with sunbeds that will cost you 4 euro each and the Acropolis atop of the mountain overlooking the town, it is a long walk to the top that we did not attempt as we were discouraged after witnessing an incident with the local taxis (Donkeys that take you to the top) UK law states that donkeys are only allowed to carry 8 stone of weight on their backs and now I know why, when we arrived and went to walk up the mountain trail to the acropolis a lady was getting onto one of the donkeys when the donkey started to loose its balance and the saddle began to slide, the donkey stumbled towards the cliff wall and the lady fell onto the wall which was very dangerous and would have resulted in a tragic accident if it was not for a quick response from the locals. The donkey was stuck by its owner and the women was pushed back on and carried on up the hill, after seeing this we could not walk behind them and watch these animals suffer, so we stayed on the beach for the 3 hours we were given. If you are interested in fish it would be worth buying a snorkel as there are lots of exotic fish in those waters. On the way back from Lindos we had a 20 minute stop and were allowed to jump off the back of the boat in the middle of the sea which was a very fun experience. In the evenings there are two great bars to the right of the hotel, one called F.B.I and another called Peris that does an amazing cocktail, as for the Rainbow cocktail. Many of the bars and restaurants have free Wi-Fi so if you want to connect to the internet on your mobiles you can. If you are looking to buy souvenirs it would be worth shopping around as most of the mini markets sell the same items but at different prices, some significantly cheaper than others. overall it was a great holiday and we enjoyed every minute of it, we would definitely go back to this hotel and this island as there is still so much for us to that could not be done in a week.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ashley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

have been here five times and had a good hiliday every time. hotel very cleen staff very helpful and very freindly food very good plenty to choose from dont wyy people complain

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ann d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

friendly staff. Good cleaners. Great food. Only issues, price of air con and pool being out me use for first 2days. But we could use its sister hotels pool if we wanted.
Bar staff great. Special thanks to gabriell for makin up feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jagermidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
4.5 km away
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
#17 of 20 in Kallithea
686 reviews
1.0 km away
Lito Hotel
Lito Hotel
#20 of 31 in Ialyssos
120 reviews
13.9 km away
Summer Dream Hotel
Summer Dream Hotel
#9 of 9 in Tholos
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 km away
Meliton Hotel
Meliton Hotel
#2 of 2 in Theologos
574 reviews
0.2 km away
Sunny Days Hotel
Sunny Days Hotel
#55 of 126 in Rhodes Town
49 reviews
1.1 km away
Belair Beach Hotel
Belair Beach Hotel
#28 of 126 in Rhodes Town
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solemar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solemar

Address: Sotiros 99 | Ixia, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Price Range: ₹ 1,993 - ₹ 9,321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Solemar 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Solemar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solemar Hotel Ixia
Hotel Solemar Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing