We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As on the website...with the exception of customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Minos Pension & Roof Garden Lounge
Ranked #65 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Athens
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“As on the website...with the exception of customer service”
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Pros
- great location for vising and going out in the old city of Rhodes. If you have a car you can park it just outside the walls of the city;it's a five minutes walk from the hotel.
- Rooms are exactly as shown on their website so you know what you are getting. They have been recently renovated so all furniture is in good shape.
- cleaning lady working there very helpful.

Cons
- The shower is very small. We had one of the biggest rooms but still the shower was barely big enough for one adult and would easily flood (it has the old style plastic curtain). It's a shame because the rest of the room is brand new.
- Tactics that I thought belonged to the past: a) the gentleman at the reception (probably the owner) tried to avoid giving us a receipt for our stay b) we had prepaid half of the stay when booking online. For the other half the same gentleman insisted on us paying cash in order for him to avoid paying the credit card commission c) 4 Euros for a take away coffee on the roof garden without a receipt...

In overall we got what we saw on the website so we were happy...a bit overpriced but still OK. Only the "tactics" left us a bad impression...

Room Tip: go through the pictures and the descriptions of each room on the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank athensfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    55
    20
    6
    7
See reviews for
10
72
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Minos Pension is a very clean and quiet hotel in the heart of Old Town Rhodes. Its location allows you to experience the local culture and is a short walk to many traditional Greek restaurants and markets within the old town walls. The service was very hospitable and made you feel like you were staying at home. The beds were extremely clean and everything was well maintained. It is evident that the hotel is slowly being renovated. We had planned to stay one night at the beginning of our trip, however poor experiences in other hotels led us to stay another night at the end because we enjoyed it so much! Maria and the rest of the family that operate this hotel are very welcoming and if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing, clean, and cultural place to stay this is the one for you!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMsummertravel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

We visited this hotel while staying in another hotel in Rhodes Old Town. We enjoyed freshly squeezed orange juice while taking in the wonderful views from the roof garden cafe.

This is a newly renovated family run hotel not far from the walls of the Old Town. We were shown one of the suites which had its own kitchen / dining room / sitting room and spacious bedroom with ensuite facilities. There was also an outside sitting / dining area. The price was very reasonable. Some parts of the Old Town are not accessible by taxi, but we were told that taxis dropped people off at the small square adjoining the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toscana85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2011

This review might be a little dated, but I only recently discovered Trip Advisor so I thought I would add in my contribution now.
I stayed at Minos Pension in May of 2009. There were 4 of us, so we stayed in the quadruple suite. Booking online was quite easy using their website (http://www.minospension.com/rates.htm) and we had absolutely no trouble checking in. The suite was fairly spacious compared to other European hotels that I have stayed at, although I cannot comment on how large the double or triple rooms are. The location is PERFECT, especially if you want to stay in Old Town. We were able to walk to all the major attractions without any difficulty. The only downside to staying in Old Town is the cobble streets. If you are at all unsteady on your feet I would not recommend walking around Old Town too much without some sort of assistive device. You can trip quite easily on the uneven cobblestones.
We opted to have breakfast at the hotel each morning because it was so nice to eat on the little patio under the lemon trees and enjoy the morning sunshine. Breakfast was nothing fancy and they only gave you two options (greek yoghurt with honey and walnuts, or an omelette with toast), but they made it fresh every morning and it was always quite satisfying. Our suite had a fridge in it so it was possible to buy something at a local grocery store and keep it in the room if you wanted (we ended up filling ours with Greek beer and wine to enjoy on the patio in the evening).
The rooftop terrace was unfortunately closed during our stay, since it wasn’t peak tourist season yet, but the owners let us go up there a few times to enjoy the view and take some pictures. The view was spectacular and I’m sure it would be a wonderful place to sit and relax after a day of sight-seeing.
Make sure you check out “Yanni’s” restaurant in Old Town if you are in the area around dinnertime. It was recommended to us by the owners of Minos Pension and we went back there to eat several times. DELICIOUS and authentic Greek food.

There were three downsides that I found during our stay at Minos Pension. We found it quite difficult to locate the hotel when we first arrived in Rhodes. We took a bus from the Rhodes airport which dropped us off at one of the southern gates (I can’t remember which one exactly) and it took us a very long time to navigate the streets of Old Town and find the hotel. We actually stumbled on the hotel by accident (luckily!) or else I think we would have been searching even longer. I would suggest taking a taxi instead.
The other downside of the hotel was the beds. VERY hard and I found it difficult to sleep on. If you like a firm mattress (like sleeping on a wooden board), then this shouldn’t be a problem.
Finally, the WiFi was only available in the lobby of the hotel, the signal was quite weak and there were no outlets around to plug my laptop into. I found this frustrating when trying to leave messages for family back home.

Overall myself and the rest of my company enjoyed our stay at Minos Pension and would definitely consider staying here again in the future!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blonde_wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
498 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

They say it’s all about – location, location, location. If so, then this place is it! Located just inside the St. John’s Gate (walk in and follow the road – left, right, left).

The hotel (pension) is small and located away from the craziness of the main square and the tourist populations. Very secure with an outer gate leading into the courtyard we found Minos Pension suited our needs.

Although location was key to drawing us in, Minos did have some drawbacks. The rooftop bar, one of their main advertising points, was closed over ½ the time. Lack of staff apparently. The rooms are “small” – about the size of an average college dorm room and with any amount of luggage there is no place to sit besides the bed.

The AC was ok, but the rooms still seemed stifling. The worst part of our stay was definitely the mattresses. If you like a firm mattress – then this place is for you. The pillows were thin and weak, and the mattresses were like sleeping on a stone slab ~~ I guess they wanted to give us the full effect of sleeping in a Medieval walled-city!

Although the staff was very friendly, and on-site, there was never anyone around at the front desk or easy to find.

Recommendations: change the mattresses, and use the kitchen downstairs to serve breakfasts in the courtyard (maybe they do and we were just there past peak season - Sept).

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COTraveller33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 km away
Niki's Hotel
Niki's Hotel
#79 of 126 in Rhodes Town
80 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Galaxias
Hotel Galaxias
#43 of 126 in Rhodes Town
100 reviews
0.3 km away
Evdokia Hotel
Evdokia Hotel
#38 of 126 in Rhodes Town
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Eleonas Hotel Aparts
Eleonas Hotel Aparts
#80 of 126 in Rhodes Town
43 reviews
0.3 km away
Spot Hotel
Spot Hotel
#5 of 47 in Rhodes Town
182 reviews
0.3 km away
Knights Of Old Town
Knights Of Old Town
#74 of 126 in Rhodes Town
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minos Pension & Roof Garden Lounge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minos Pension & Roof Garden Lounge

Property: Minos Pension & Roof Garden Lounge
Address: 5 Omirou | Old Town, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,154 - ₹ 6,684
Hotel Class:3 star — Minos Pension & Roof Garden Lounge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Minos Pension & Roof Garden Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minos Pension And Roof Garden Lounge
Minos Pension & Roof Garden Lounge Hotel Rhodes Town
Minos Hotel Rhodes Town
Minos Pension & Roof Garden Lounge Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing