We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“great holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mitsis Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Ranked #10 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Have today returned from a perfect week in this lovely hotel which is located very centrally for exploring both Rhodes town and for other parts of the island.

We stayed on an all-inclusive basis , the food was always of a high standard and we really enjoyed every varied meal. The staff were all excellent and made us feel most welcome. Our sea view room was well furnished, cleaned daily and the beds were comfortable .

We would highly commend this hotel if you are thinking of visiting Rhodes

Room Tip: sea view room on the 2nd floor .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sue187791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    827
    558
    229
    118
    59
See reviews for
496
866
36
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
208 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I must agree with other Tripadvisors that this hotel is not the 5 stars it is claiming. Yes it is a lovely hotel, grand by name and grand by first impressions, but it is the little things that don't make it the 5 stars. On entering the beautiful reception, spotless and so grand, we were looking forward to a really relaxing holiday, a well organised booking -in (even at 5 in the morning) a very clean room with a reasonable view- YES this is what we wanted, then off to breakfast, pleasant staff, a buffet to suit almost everyone with a good feed to set you up for a hectic day.We were on a half board basis and the evening meal was as good, no, better than the breakfast, a good selection of meats, fish,pasta,salads and sweets to die for, and so much choice I swear we must have put on a stone in a week. But then, the other essentials to make the hotel really good where lacking, the paintwork needed a bit of tidying up, the entertainment left a lot to be desired and the food that although was really good, was only ever warm and not hot as we wanted.
The location was, for us, perfect, a short stroll to the harbour and old/new town, shops and bars a-plenty just around any corner, across the road from the shingle beach, lovely clean sea ( a bit cold in April though). Perfect if you wanted to go further afield boats to Symi, Marmaris and others, a reasonable bus service, all in all a highly recommended hotel, absolutely perfect if the small issues could be sorted out.
We could highly recommend a meal in the Italian restaurant, after the scrum down of the buffet meals, the calm and peaceful ambience was a welcome change, the food was really good, not a massive menu list, but the food quality was superb and we had a hot meal for a change, Popi, the waitress was wonderful and attentive but not in any way intrusive. There is also a Chinese option which was always very busy but we did not frequent me not being into that food.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms are better as there is road noise, the road is not too busy but there are always...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ericlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Although I would not say this hotel was 5 star, nevertheless it was pretty good. Considering there was a great number of people there the staff still managed to be attentive and I would say they deserve a rating of 5/5. I dont usually stay in such large hotels so I do not know how it compares with others of the same size but I have no complaints of importance.
Food choice was good, buffet breakfast and dinner. Room spacious for two of us and spotless, cleaned every day. Nice 20 minute stroll to the Old Town and also bars and restaurants around the hotel area.
Only thing I would be concerned about is if I had children with me. No entertainment for them whatsoever.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goesawayalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

The Mitsis Grand Rhodes town is a mixed bag. Stayed 04.04-11.04.2012. Over a seven night stay my companion and I slept in two twin rooms yet viewed three.
First room, 470; we stayed in this room for three nights. It is supposedly a sea view room yet the majority of the view is a wall. The balcony never gets sun and thus the room is very damp, by day two our clothes were wet! The main room is spacious and the bed was the best quality I have slept on in a hotel – yet my companion and I did not get much sleep due to having a lift shaft and stairwell the other side of the wall at our heads. Additionally there was a youth club holiday group placed on the top floor above us – they were exceptionally rowdy and despite complaints to reception regarding their noise little was done about their behaviour. After three nights we could not take any more so we asked for a room change.
The next room we were offered was 381. This again was next to two stair wells and lift shafts – it was worse than room 470. It had a better sea view, yet was directly above the lobby. My companion and I sat on the beds and they instantly sank – it felt as if one million people had slept on the mattresses! We spent no longer than 15 minutes in this room. When we went to ask for another room, the receptionist – Katerina – was most rude, stating “Well, this is a hotel, you must expect noisy areas such as stairs and lifts.” I protested – part of the reason that I had chosen this hotel was because it stated on the website that ‘Every room and suite is an oasis of peace and quiet providing the utmost in luxury.’ The room that I had stayed in, and the one I had just viewed, was far from an oasis of peace and quiet! Katerina then offered room 337. (This room was available initially therefore why did she not offer it to us prior to offering the substandard room 381? She clearly knew the standard of all rooms yet had decided to try to give us an awful room.)
Our third room, 337, was a cut above the others. It’s near the end of a hallway so not many people walking past. It was much quieter, however the people using the bathroom next door could be heard – no doubt they could hear us too. The mattresses were much better. However the doors to the balcony badly needed repair and would not shut or lock properly – this was a long term problem because the carpet was clearly worn from the doors rubbing and there were stress cracks in both the wood and the hinges to the doors – it would only take ‘plane-ing’ about 5mm off the bottom of the doors and they would’ve shut easily. However, the view from the balcony was exceptional and the sunsets absolutely beautiful, sitting there with a Pina Colada was wonderful. This room changed our holiday.
The safe was 25 euros for the week, the towels (not that big either) were 20 euros to rent – pricey. Note the website states the rooms are large enough to fit 3 to 4 people yet the balcony is only designed for two people. The rooms are kept very clean with daily room service (although I know my pillow case was not changed daily because there was an inground stain in it which I had noted, I didn't use that pillow though). The bathroom layout is weird – why put a shower halfway down the long bath wall with the shower door at the end? It’s impossible not to soak the bathroom floor which turns it into a death trap. Some of the rooms have full shower curtains which stop this problem. The water pressure was good, the temperature was easily controllable and hot.
We went all inclusive and I suggest this option – if only for the drinks which if you had to pay full price would be from 6-7 euros per cocktail. The bar staff in the all inc bar were the best on site. Lovely people and very hard working. The all inc bar is very small and bare – no pictures on walls, etc. The piano player was quite repetitive. The house white wine is dry and strong but drinkable, the local beer is good, the cocktails were better – don’t expect any brand name drinks but they weren’t watered down. The food in the main restaurant was good quality yet quite repetitive – I would’ve got bored if staying longer than a week. People were seated exceptionally close together, don’t expect intimate candle lit dinners. Also, my companion is gluten intolerant – make sure you speak directly to the Head Chef to get gluten free meals. Despite informing the reservations manager prior to our stay the chefs had no knowledge of our dietary requirements.
I can imagine in high season that dining is a nightmare – we were glad to go out of season – one morning there was a huge queue for breakfast so we decided not to eat there. Also note, the guests staying at the Mitsis La Vita (hotel next door) are told to dine in this room too – indeed they have use of the hotel facilities – so in high season you will not only be sharing the facilities with guests in the Grand but also the La Vita (Note it may be better to book a cheap room in the La Vita to get the facilities of the Grand!)
The Italian and Chinese restaurants are well worth a visit – book early the day before to get a time that’s convenient. They are, however, only separated from the main buffet restaurant by a screen-they’re not separate restaurants. I saw the other restaurant (Castellania) open only once – for a Jewish group – probably to ensure they had Kosher conditions.
Order two drinks at once to go with your meal – or you’ll be waiting ages for a second one. We were informed we had to pay extra for Rose wine... which is strange for supposedly an ‘all inclusive’ option. (Also note when we ate out we found some very good, cheap, Greek wines eg; 13 euros a litre. Some of the best Rose we have ever drunk... so the stuff that the hotel is offering is very poor and must be exceptionally cheap!) We dined out one night – went to the Agalma, lovely food and great service within easy walking distance of the hotel.
One day we ordered lunch boxes – these arrived very late, and were not great quality, two sandwiches – ham and cheese no butter or mayo or salad, three pieces of fruit, a boiled egg and weirdly a whole tomato. No crisps, chocolate biscuits etc. Also, my companion wasn’t supplied with gluten free – despite us making it clear when we ordered the boxes. I kept her sandwiches to use to lure fish when snorkelling – slightly worryingly these sandwiches did not start to go mouldy after a couple days in the fridge... making one wonder how many preservatives are in the bread. Therefore we did not have boxes after that – preferring to eat out!
Neither my companion or I used the pools – the indoor pool is not heated unlike what Thomas Cook state on their website. I prefer to snorkel, the sea is just across the road, there’s some good snorkelling areas with a wide range of fish to see – the colour changing pipefish were especially entertaining. Although the best snorkelling was at Lindos, mainly because there’s a cove at the main beach and I was lucky enough to spot a young honeycomb moray eel relatively close to shore. Indeed Lindos is well worth a visit, the beach has proper sand, the Acropolis is amazing with wonderful views and the village is quaint if touristy.
The location of the Grand is probably its most redeeming factor. The new town is behind the hotel – you can walk to the centre within five minutes, there’s lots of shops and bars. The old town is 10-15 minutes walk away. There’s plenty to see and do within walking distance. We even walked up to the Temple of Apollo from the hotel. Note, if I stayed any longer than one week I would be inclined to rent a vehicle (to see more of the island because the new and old town can be explored within two days) however fuel prices are some of the highest in Europe approx £1.70 per litre!
Prior to arriving when I discussed the gluten free dining arrangements with the reservations manager I informed the manager that the holiday was for my birthday – the hotel did nothing to celebrate my birthday – not even a complementary bottle of wine!
Would I stay here again? Well, looking at the local hotels this is obviously one of the better ones in the area... if I could guarantee room 337 out of season then I would consider it, other than that definitely NO I would not stay here again. I’m sure the ‘presidential suite’ is 5 star, the rest of the hotel is 3 star at best. I will be uploading a video to YouTube shortly – channel starflowershel.

Room Tip: The rooms in the 'North East' block and level 3 or higher seem to be best - eg room 337.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank starflowershel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TURKEY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

just back from a wonderfull 9 night stay here the rooms where very nice, pool area lovely, great location but the best was the food we are very well travelled and stayed in many hotel's around the world and the food here was just exceptional 10 out of 10

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gregturkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
3.3 km away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,359 reviews
4.5 km away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#9 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
4.3 km away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#12 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#15 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
9.1 km away
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
0.1 km away
Mitsis Petit Palais
Mitsis Petit Palais
#24 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Grand Hotel

Property: Mitsis Grand Hotel
Address: Akti Miaouli & Papanikolaou, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#6 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#12 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#18 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,832 - ₹ 21,317
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel 5* is a member of Mitsis Hotels and is located at Rhodes Town, just few meters from the commercial city center, the Old Town and the port. Grand Hotel consists of 405 rooms and it offers luxury accommodation with view to Aegean Sea or the garden of the hotel. An excellent choice also for winter getaways or for business trips as the hotel operates all year round. The entertainment is an element that you won’t miss at Grand Hotel. The Lobby Bar is a meeting point for both the local community and the hotel’s guests. A cozy and hospitable environment where our guests can enjoy their coffee or drink as the Bar operates until late evening. Hotels’ Facilities: Reception 24hrs with currency exchange service, Concierge, Porters, baggage hold, TV room air conditioned, Cards room air conditioned, High speed internet access point with personal computers, Free Wi-Fi internet in Lobby – Bar area, High speed Wi-Fi internet in all hotel areas at an extra charge, Shopping arcade with mini market, souvenir shop, 6 Lifts in the main building, Guest Parking, free of charge, Daily evening live music entertainment ,Bilingual staff, Car rental office, Motorbike and bicycle rental, 24hrs medical cover. Doctor on call, Florist on call, Laundry service, Baby-sitting on request, at extra charge, Beach & Pool towels against deposit, Food and Beverage Facilities: Main Restaurant ‘’ACANDIA’’, air conditioned, serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, specializing in Greek and international cuisine with extended show cooking, An excellent Italian restaurant offering very delicious Italian dishes, pasta, pizza and meat specialties prepared in front of the clients, without extra charge, reservation at the reception one day before. ASIAN restaurant, top quality from China and South–East Asia, prepared in front of the clients, reservation at the reception one day before. GREEK STYLE RESTAURANT “ELLINADIKO” Discover traditional Greek appetizers! This restaurant is an excellent choice for all day dinning for guests seeking to enrich their meals. MEXICAN this pool side restaurant serves tacos, fajitas and nachos as Well a large selection of other Mexican food. PITTA - BURGERS Taste the traditional pita bread and a great variety of juicy burgers. GELATERIA-CREPERIE Serving crepes sweet or savories and delicious ice-cream. PIZZA OVEN BY THE POOL is the ideal spot to enjoy a delicious pizza between your meals. LOBBY BAR in the entrance of the hotel serves indoors and outdoors, Coffees, refreshments, exotic cocktails etc. Live music, makes the bar very popular. POOL BAR operated on a superb open air terrace, serves coffees, refreshments, exotic cocktails etc. MINI FRIDGE WITH REFRESHMENT CENTER Consist of Mineral bottled water and soft drinks, refilled every second day. TEA and Coffee making facilities in the room. Sport & Leisure Facilities 2 outdoor swimming pools with sea water , Sun terrace & loungers, Indoor pool with fresh water, At the pools, sun beds and umbrellas free of charge, Daily Light Sports animation by the pool. Tennis court and equipment free of charge, Fitness centre, massage services at extra charge. Water sports center near to the hotel (with charge), Scuba diving (with charge), Boat trips (with charge), Games room (with charge), Children’s Facilities, Separate children pool with sea water, Internet and Games corner (with charge), Children’s light animation during the morning and the afternoon. Infants’ Facilities, baby cot, baby high chairs in the restaurant, Special food upon request. Business Services, Conference rooms for 700 and 200 persons respectively, Separate lounges for up to 150 persons for any occasions and events, Superb ballroom for gala dinner, wedding parties, banquets for up 900 persons, Conference equipment, Translate rooms, Telephone and fax services, Photocopy service, Wi-Fi internet access from Conference rooms & lobby area free of charge , Distances Airport 13 Km, Port 2 Km, Rhodes Town 0,5 Km, bicycle path to the city, Beach 10 m, Bus stop in front of the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Mitsis Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mitsis Grand
Mitsis Grand Rhodes Town
Grand Hotel Rhodes
Rhodes Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing