We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
26
41
18
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
41
18
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small hotels rooms were cleaned villa di mare breakfast restaurant balcony room small fridge air conditioning yogurt star hotel the ground floor bars and restaurants sea view old town tv wifi pool reception
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2017

Great Hotel, the room 107 on the ground floor was probably a budget one ,but adequate for us. cleaned daily, down side is that the bathroom floor gets quite wet from the shower as it is small and awkward to move around. But, all though its a hand held shower its very powerful and good.
Good and plenty choice for breakfast, great coffee.
A/C works well
small but fine wee fridge. A decent balcony, sun in a/noon up till 6ish
wifi. slow but works okay

staff helpful and friendly. would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

I usually stay in a 5 star hotel when in Rhodes but this was a last minute trip so I had to book a hotel that would have a single room and the Filmar came up with the goods!!
Just off the Strip and close to the bars I thought that I would be kept awake by all that was going on around me but I never heard a thing!
Arriving late I was welcomed by the young man on reception who gave me a room just off the ground floor and overlooked the breakfast area. Though the room was small it had everything I needed, A/Con, a small fridge, tv, free Wi-Fi and 2 comfy single beds. The bathroom was small and the shower had to be hand held but I managed!
The room was cleaned every day EXCEPT SUNDAY but you do get clean towels every day.
Breakfast was adequate with fresh breads,cheeses and eggs. (If you want a Full English go to the FBI bar round the corner. The full works for 7 euros!)
The hotel does not have a pool or a bar but you can use the facilities at the hotel next door where you are well and truly looked after by a marvelous bar team!!!
Better still. You can go across the road to the Villa di Mare and chill out by the pool on free sunbeds and sip freshly made cocktails. There is no charge to go there!!
All in all the Filmar is a great little hotel and I would not hesitate to stay there again!!
Just to see Lisa on reception is worth a trip alone. A very helpful lady who makes your stay a memorable visit!! Yammas!!!

Room Tip: Ground floor was quiet!!
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bullocksmba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

Our one week trip in Rhodes was really nice thanks to the amazing staff at Filmar. They really did everything to make us feel like being on holiday. Location is also very good. Just a few minutes walk to the beach and a few very nice restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AleksiManninen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

This hotel is lovely and you immediately feel relaxed and happy. The staff are very friendly and efficient. It is located off the main road up a side street signposted to the mountain and Le Gourmet restaurant. There are lots of bars and restaurants on the main road BUT it is amazing how close the hotel is, as you cannot hear any noise.

It is a small and friendly hotel the reception area modern and tranquil and spotlessly clean. There isn't a pool HOWEVER you can use the Sunny Days pool (adjacent hotel) which is accessed through the Filmar and feels as though it is part of the same hotel. The pool is modern and good for families with children. There is a bar and restaurant and nothing is too much trouble for the staff.

The other option is across the main road to Villa di Mare. This is absolutely stunning and boasts sea views directly overlooking the beach. On first viewing the resort you might think it looks very expensive. However, the drinks are very reasonable (5 Euro glass of wine) 3/4 for a beer). It is waiter/ess service. Try a cocktail (7 Euro) the bartender has won an award. This is a must see!!!

Going back to the hotel.....

Main points:-

Small and friendly
Air conditioning no extra charge and it is much needed and excellent
Stone's throw from bars, restaurants' and Beach across the road
Transfer to airport roughly half hour (less than 4km)
10 Euros or less in taxi to Rhodes town

Recommended bars and Restaurants:-

FBI (Glory Days) - Superb friendly sports bar, cheap drinks and great honest food. You will get a breakfast for 3 or 4 Euros and it is YUMMY!!! if you want to feel welcomed and be home from home this is the bar for you! ....turn left out of the hotel, left onto the main road, it is the 2nd bar on the left.

Villa di Mare - across the road to the beach for a touch of class

El Greco - Greek Restaurant - excellent. We had a meal for 3 with wine and beers it cost 67 Euros. Top class and superb service.... carry on past FBI and it is next to La Luna bar

Hippocampus - (which is Greek for seahorses) - This is a bar restaurant and hotel. Wine is very nice in here. Happy hour 4pm - 7pm. Staff good fun. Food great, This is further down the road in direction of airport. Pass Solemar Hotel keep going and it is further down on the left next to Napoli Italian Restaurant

Phillips Bar - Traditional family bar tucked away down a little street. This bar has been established since the 1970's. Great for nostalgia and greek hospitality. Lovely bar. This is across the road towards the beach near Hippocampus. Just ask someone they will gladly direct you. It's a bar you might not find as it's off the main road. The chip butty was gorgeous! highly recommended!

Dimitrio's - Great atmosphere and ambience very friendly. The chicken gyro was the best I had. Turn left out of hotel then turn right, 2nd bar on the right.

There are lots of others and there really isn't enough time to visit them all!!! ....

GO SEE FOR YOURSELF....YOU WON'T REGRET IT :-)

Room Tip: Room 214 or 314 have a side sea view with good size balcony
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

Just returned from 10 days at Hotel Filmar. I was able to get a really great deal and it's very close to my friends bar so I wasn't really that fussed as to whether or not it was fancy, I booked it for the location.
I was pleasantly surprised, the hotel is modestly furnished but is clean and tidy and in a great location.
All staff were helpful and friendly right down to the cleaners!
Breakfast was simple but nice. I would recommend getting down there early as there is this incredible crusty brown bread that is pretty much gone by 9am!!
The beach is literally across the road, the bus stop to town is a minute away, in fact, the walk to town (about 3km) is gorgeous with lots to see along the way.
I was a solo traveller and this was perfect for me. I would stay again
In all, a pleasant stay

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenA2070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews