We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,360)
Filter reviews
1,361 results
Traveller rating
942
316
71
21
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
942
316
71
21
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews imperial wing half board older part private pool piano bar beach side thomson rep mountain view new wing main building guest relations busy road two weeks breakfast and dinner beach restaurant plenty of sunbeds an excellent hotel
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,361 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I just returned from our stay at Minoa Palace. The resort is large and well maintained. I would not consider this a 5 star resort though.

The morning before our checkout my husband put his Apple AirPods to charge and left them on the nightstand. We did not return to our room after breakfast, we were gone all day visiting Elafonissi. When we returned they were gone. I immediately contacted the reception to speak with a rep who had no idea what to do the only thing he could advise was that he would contact his colleagues and they would notify us in the morning if house keeping accidentally took them. (ACCIDENTALLY took them off the charger and into their pocket perhaps) Of course the next morning we were checking out and no one reached out I had to call to follow up. A manager came to our room to help search for them. We completely unpacked all of our luggage searched every nook of that room and they were nowhere. They checked history of who came into our room while we were gone and they said everything looked normal.

Management’s response was if they come up we will mail them to you. For a resort that claims to be a 5 Star this was a complete disappointment and horrible wait to end our vacation.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Christina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minoa Palace T, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Minoa Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Christina P,

Thank you for visiting our Resort for your vacation in Chania.
We do really regret about this unfortunate incident happened to you.

As we informed you in person while you were still in our premises, please note that we have done the necessary electronic check of the room's lock and there is no sign of another person entering than the two maids (morning and afternoon shift) and the person in charge of the mini bars.

More detailed, as the hotel's staff works with us for many years, we do assure you that they are absolutely trustworthy and we never had before any issue as yours. However, we are surprised that you are insisting in accusing the staff of Minoa Palace Resort for the loss of your personal item, for which you may be principally responsible.

At this point, we would like to accentuate that the Hotel's Management takes no responsibility for any valuables left in guest's rooms, as there is a safe free of charge available in every room.
This specific information is indicated in the registration form which has to be signed by every guest upon the check in.

Finally, have you considered that you might have mislaid your AirPods?

Kind Regards,

Katia Dramitinou
Guest Relations Supervisor




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

My partner and I checked in yesterday for a 5 night stay as part of our 3 week holiday in Crete.
We visit Crete every year and have stayed in a variety of 5 star hotels in both the Heraklion and Chania regions.
We were very excited about spending our final 5 nights at the Minoa Palace Hotel.
Upon arrival we checked in at the original main building, where we were asked to complete a registration card, in the reception area.
We were surprised not to be offered a welcome drink.
This was a first in a 5 star hotel anywhere in Greece.
Many 4 star hotels offer this now, too.
It is a nice gesture.
(There was however a bottle of water and red wine left in the room for us).
Check in was efficient and we were assigned a driver with buggy who was very courteous and escorted us to the underground car park for the imperial wing (where we are staying), then transferred us and cases to our room and explained how to operate the safe etc.
We have a standard room which is spotless and spacious, nice balcony with large sliding patio doors.
Our room is quiet and has a roomy bathroom
with large shower cubicle and a bath with shower over.
Staff are professional and courteous.
Breakfast setting for imperial wing guests, is beautiful.
It’s next to the beach with inside and outside tables.
Although a very attractive spread, the buffet is definitely typical of a 4 star hotel, definitely not 5 star. No smoked salmon or champagne here - which we expected at the price we’ve paid.
The pool in the imperial wing is very nice, beautifully clean and has easy access via semi circular steps and a rail.
From the pool you face the sea.
Sea too rough to go in today, but looks and sounds awesome if you are a strong swimmer.
Beach has coarse sand, plenty of sun beds, lots of comfy gorgeous seating around the beach front, with a great sea view.
Lots of steps to navigate from our room to the pool/sea front area.
Lots more to reach the poolside toilets.
Really nice vibe around the pool area, lovely bar staff and snack/lunch menu.
We had a tasty meal in the Galazio restaurant specialising in organic food here, last night.
Knowledgable, attentive, helpful waiter. Good food.
We ate late and the restaurant was very quiet, but again, a fabulous setting with sea views.
Finally the air con is very effective and fairly quiet and the bedding and curtains in our room are superb and of a very high standard.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for. This hotel is expensive. If your budget allows book the most expensive sea front accommodation available.
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank pragueophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minoa Palace T, Guest Relations Manager at Minoa Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear pragueophile,

A warm welcome to our Hotel! Thank you so much for choosing our Resort for your vacation in Chania and for taking the time to review our Hotel, while you are still in our premises.

We are glad you are satisfied with the check in procedure. Following your comment, we would like to inform you that there is a welcome table near the reception desk where you can have a refreshing ice tea or flavored cold water, which is at the disposal of the guests anytime during the day.

We do appreciate your kind feedback for your room at the Imperial Wing, the breakfast, the pool and the beach, as also for the bar staff. Thank you for mentioning how enjoyable was your dinner a la carte at the ‘’Galazio’’ Restaurant. We are really glad for its quality and the service minded George, who is responsible to assist the guests who choose to dine at the specific Restaurant.

We would like to mention that we remain at your entire disposal for any enquiry you may have and I would be more than happy if I had the chance to meet you in person as well. Wishing you a very pleasant stay,


Kind Regards,

Katia Dramitinou
Guest Relations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

We stayed for 10 days at the beginning of August as a family of four with two rooms in the older part of the hotel. Couldn't justify spending the extra on the Imperial Wing when not much time is spent in the room and we were pleased with our choice. Was initially worried that as were half board, we would get bored of the main buffet restaurant but the food was excellent and varied. Each night a different theme. The restaurant staff went above and beyond and a special mention to Nikolos and Siphis who were so lovely and attentive. There are no towels on sunbeds at 6am every day either (not allowed)! Perfect for a more relaxed approach and plenty of beds to accommodate. Both pools were perfect temperature and nice and clean. The only thing we were disappointed in was there were no water sports on site which they had advertised but a lovely holiday was had!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Katrina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minoa Palace T, Guest Relations Manager at Minoa Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Katrina W,

We would like to thank you for your positive review of our Resort after your visit in our premises during August.

We are delighted reading that you enjoyed so much the variety and the quality of the buffet dinner at ‘’Elia’’ Restaurant.
Thank you for your comments for the Restaurant staff members who met your high service expectations.

Looking forward to welcome you for a second visit in our Resort.

Kind Regards,

Katia Dramitinou
Guest Relations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

I have just returned from a 7 day stay in a bungalow with private pool at the Minoa Palace, while the hotel is nice, clean, beautiful gardens friendly and responsive staff I do not think it is worth more than 3 stars.
Our room with private pool never got sun on it all day so we requested to move which we did to another room and private pool which got sun until 2 o'clock.
I must say the food is average, not hot and I begrudged being charged for water at evening meal so we ate out 5 of 7 nights.
Do not think we will return

Room Tip: Unsure most rooms did'nt appear to get much sun
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minoa Palace T, Guest Relations Manager at Minoa Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear David W,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to our Resort, on September.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed the Hotel’s cleanliness, gardens and the provided service from our dedicated staff.
However, we are surprised to know that you rated the Hotel by taking as a main criterion the position of the room.
As your wish for a sunny room was never mentioned to the members of the staff, this didn’t give us the chance to make any necessary arrangements for you, so that you are satisfied with your stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future in our Resort and try to exceed your expectations.

Kind Regards,

Katia Dramitinou
Guest Relations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

We recently stayed for 10 nights half board and although the hotel was good the food was the same everyday and never hot only luke warm and the weekly barbecue was cold. We therefore ended up eating out a couple of times in the evenings and the price of the drinks in the hotel was a little extortionate. We would stay again but definitely not go for half board at the hotel as the food in the local restaurants was of a higher standard. The area outside the hotel was nice and lots of local amenities. Our room we knew had a hillsode view but did not expect a view of an electricity pilon and to look out over the rubbish bins which at times you could hear staff throwing bottles into bins late at night. We would not say this is a five star hotel but more 4 star.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Josephine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minoa Palace T, Guest Relations Manager at Minoa Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Josephine R,

Thank you for choosing our Resort for your holidays in August and for taking the time to share your experience at the TripAdvisor.

We do apologize for the fact that the buffet dinner option has not met your standards. Concerning your comment about the temperature of the buffet food, we would like to mention that the temperature is being checked regularly and in a daily basis by the Chef.
However, we do take your valuable feedback into account and we reassure you that the necessary measures have been taken.

In addition, we would be more than happy to assist you in having another room as the one you had did not find you well.
We would surely find a solution if you contacted us mentioning your wishes.

We do hope we will have the chance to welcome you again at Minoa Palace Resort.


Kind Regards,

Katia Dramitinou
Guest Relations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews