We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Sophia Beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Sophia Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Platanias
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Sophia Apartments
Ranked #53 of 69 Hotels in Platanias
Manchester
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sophia Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2009

This was our 3rd visit to the Sophia Beach apartments, Platanias and once again we loved it!! Sophia herself came to greet us with hugs and kisses as if we were old friends, it was a really great welcome. Viktor (bar) was also pleased to see us and all in all a great start to our hols.
The apartments are basic but spotlessly clean. Clean sheets and towels every day except sunday, when the maids get a well deserved day off!!
The food in the pool bar is exceptional, good restaurant standard.
We are already planning next year and can't think of anywhere else we want to go!!

Helpful?
1 Thank BabsManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    13
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2009

We used this site ourselves before booking and got exactly what we were looking for...

It was a week of total relaxation in family run hotel which backs onto the beach as you can see from the photos posted. We were made to feel so welcome by everyone.

Platania has lots of local restaurants and bars if you want to go out, or you can stay at the hotel bar looking out over the sea. Try their homecooked food which is as good as any of the other places we ate.

Sofia and her dad run the place with the help of Armanda the geordie receptionist (arrrrleeet pet!), and Victor the barman who never seems to stop smiling! Ask him to say "Ey up duck" and see if he's mastered it yet?! And not forgetting the cutest dog ever, Biz!

Have fun at Sofia's Apartments, we did...

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leeandkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2009

we went to sofia's and didn't know what to expect, but all i can say is everythig about the place is AWESOME from sofia and her father, to amanda the geordie receptionist the location and pool are bang on.and next door you also have ideal beach bar with bec the crazy bar man. it's a must for familys and teens n couples, sofia's caters for all were going back very soon i hope there ready for us!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dazza1477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2008

Great fairly basic apartments built along a lovely walkway with borders/pots of flowers, leading to bar area, pool, and beach. Convenience of having pool next beach just a stone's throw from apartment was superb.
Sophia and her family (owner) oh and not forgetting Victor, helped make the holiday memorable.
New Platanias not characterful but has all you need, restaurants some with sea views, music bars, shops run along a fairly main road which isn't wonderful but not a major problem.
Old Platanias is much nicer, quite small with some good restaurants with fantastic views, about a 15 min. steep walk from Sophia Beach Apartments.
A small train runs daily trips to water park and other scenic routes, worth going on.
Regular buses run to Chania (Venetian Harbour Town), an absolute must, fab fish restaurants around harbour, windy narrow streets, with interesting shops, bars, restaurants, really special place.

  • Liked — Proximity to Pool, Beach and Restaurants
  • Disliked — As a familly of four we had two rooms and paid quite a bit extra for air con per week which was very much needed.
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PerkinsGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knaresborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2008

We stayed at the Sofia beach Apartments in August this year. As always we booked late and did not know what to expect. We need not have worried the place was exactly as described. The family are very friendly, the apartments are very clean and well kept.
Liked being on the beach and also having the convenience of the pool, there was plenty happening on the beach - watch out for the donut man, the braiding ladies and the fresh fruit seller. Plenty of eating places on and off the beach. You do not really have to move from the sun loungers someone is always on hand to bring you refreshments.
Was worried that the apartments were near the busy street but they were located far enough away and there was no town noise at all.
Plenty to do for teenagers and smaller children, recommend for families.
Over all an excellent holiday - thank you everyone, and the weather was fantastic.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and proximity to beach
  • Disliked — slightly small spaces... but normal for crete
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scaifee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Platanias hotels
0.0 km away
Seashell Apartments
Seashell Apartments
#1 of 2 in Pirgos Psilonerou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.0 km away
Minoa Palace Resort & Spa
Minoa Palace Resort & Spa
#1 of 69 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
0.0 km away
Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Iliaktida Apartments
Iliaktida Apartments
#4 of 4 in Kolymbari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.0 km away
Conte Marino Villas
Conte Marino Villas
#1 of 1 in Kontomari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.0 km away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sophia Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sophia Apartments

Property: Villa Sophia Apartments
Address: Platanias, Crete 73014, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 69 Hotels in Platanias
Number of rooms: 165
Also Known As:
Villa Sophia Apartments Hotel Platanias
Hotel Sophia Apartments
Villa Sophia Apartments Platanias, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing