We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Frida Village Apartments(Piskopiano)(Great Value!)
US$ 50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kalimera Village(Piskopiano)
US$ 105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Piskopiano Village Apartments(Piskopiano)(Great Value!)
US$ 83
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Semiramis Apartments(Piskopiano)(Great Value!)
US$ 76
US$ 72
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Matheos Apartments(Piskopiano)
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dia Apartments(Piskopiano)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lofos Apartments(Piskopiano)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dream Village(Piskopiano)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Driades Apartments(Piskopiano)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (596)
Filter reviews
596 results
Traveller rating
333
127
62
35
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
333
127
62
35
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewbed and breakfastgreat holidaygreek yogurteach eveningexcept sundaycold meatssteep hilltransfer coachamazing viewsnext yearpool area is lovelyrestaurants and barswalking difficultieskitchen areafresh towelshired a car
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 596 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Not long returned from a 2 week stay at the Amazones Village Suites. We loved it. The location is high up above Piskopiano, with lovely views from the sea view Junior suite we had booked in advance. The suite was everything we could have asked for and absolutely spotless. The pool area is superb, large pool and plenty of sun-beds, overlooked from a lovely terrace and bar area. The staff are absolutely fantastic and so attentive, the food (especially the breakfasts, if you love healthy eating) is well presented and tasty. I would agree with a previous post that it is quite a steep walk (climb :) ) up the hill and steps but as a 74 year old, I found it quite easy after a day or two and loved the exercise. We will be returning next year for certain.

Room Tip: The Junior Sea View Suites overlooking the pool area are superb
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank wsbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

I stayed at the Amazones Village Suites from 29th September to 6th October 2017. It was a lovely resort, high up on a mountain with amazing views out to sea.
I upgraded to a Junior Suite with garden view and partial sea view. The room was immaculate, large kitchen area if you wanted to cater for yourself, lounge, separate bedroom and bathroom. Cleaned daily except Sunday.
I stayed on Half Board and the food was good. Nickos (manned the bar in the evening) is worth a mention, as is all the staff who looked after me for the week.
The only downside to this place is the steep hill I had to climb to get to my room, although it could be reached by 77 steps - good excercise!!
The other thing you need to know, if you are taking a transfer by coach from the Airport to the Hotel, they drop you at the end of a road, which isn't great if you are a lone traveller like me arriving late at night as there are no street lights and the sign that says 150m to the hotel, is a little misleading and it is all uphill!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room, wish I had as being asthmatic it is a very steep climb to the rooms at the back of the resort
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Just returned from a week in hotel with husband. Hotel right at top of village so views spectacular. We has a sea via suite. A bit disappointed in view as although we could see the sea it was obstructed by the roof of the front of hotel. Rooms spacious clean but basic. Kitchen facilities very limited but didn't bother us as never intended to cook. However if you are hoping to do any cooking there are not a lot of utensils etc. Bathroom had a really powerful shower but unfortunately instead of being at the end of the bath it was on the wall in the middle fading the shower curtain which involved a lot of effort to prevent the whole bathroom from being flooded. We ended up using it as a hand held as it was impossible to use with the ahowwe head on the wall. The pool area is lovely but spoiled by the usual habit of people putting their towels on the loungers first thing on morning and then selfishly leaving them all day regardless of whether they were using them or not. As a result of this we were only able to spend one day at pool as really can't be.bothered with this carry on. The breakfast was simple but adequate. Greek yoghurt was delicious on the watermelon. Only ate in hotel once as so many lovely restaurants in the nearby villages. The down side of this hotel is that it is situated at the top of a fairly steep hill and in addition there are a further 32 steps to negotiate which although we are fairly fit and used to a lot of walking in the heat and after a meal and few drinks we began to drraf them. A taxi from Hersonisos was €7 and eventually we caved in! The staff were very friendly and accommodating but as we didn't spend much time in the hotel we didn't get to first name terms. Nothing was too much bother. I would recommend this hotel if you want a relaxing atmosphere with great views and plenty of great restaurants nearby and are prepared to get up early to bag a lounger by the pool. Beware the hill and stairs !!




Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank docfamily164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

This is a lovely hotel high up on a mountain with amazing views. All the staff are very friendly, especially George, Nikita and Nicos who do everything possible to ensure you have a enjoyable stay.

The hotel is only around a half an hour drive from the airport, however, if you're arranging a coach transfer it will drop you off at the bottom of a small hill which you'll have to walk up to get to the hotel.

The rooms were very spacious with a bedroom, large bathroom with a powerful shower, a living room, air conditioning and kitchen facilities. The only issue I found with the room was that the single bed was quite lumpy and got rather uncomfortable to sleep on. However, extra quilts were provided that when put down on the bed sorted this issue perfectly.

The main area of the hotel had an adequate sized pool which at busy times during the day got quite crowded and sunbeds weren't available in the afternoon. This area is also where breakfast, lunch and dinner was served. The breakfast was a basic continental selection of pastries, fruit, ham, cheese, eggs and toast. The Greek yogurt that is provided at breakfast is a must try! It was very fresh and home made and paired very well with the watermelon. The lunch and dinner menu was very good. It had a good selection of Greek food as well as burgers, toasties and pizzas, a particular favourite of ours was the chicken gyros.

We would have liked to have rated this hotel 5 stars but the rooms were not consistent. We had two rooms, one had a powerful spa shower, the other had a mixer tap shower over the bath. One room had a flat screen TV, the other an old fashioned CRT. Rooms at the top of the hill had issues with water pressure, which meant showering during peak times in the evening is difficult due to lack of hot water. This a known problem, so I would have expected the owners to have put those rooms on a different feed from the rest of the hotel.

There are also phones in the room, but you can only call the reception from it. It's good that British customers can now use their mobile bundle in Europe, as there is no wi-fi in the rooms.

There is also not room service on Sundays, however if you need fresh towels, staff are more than happy to provide.

There are two villages on either side of the hotel, both are easy to walk to and have great selection of bars and restaurants. You can also walk down the hill to the main resort, though walking back up the hill is a real challenge in the heat.

We hired a car for 3 days to break up the holiday and visited the birth place of Zeus, olive oil production, Chania, Palace of Knossos and Heraklion.

Despite some issues with the hotel, we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h4sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed at amazone village suites for the first time. Loved it! Setting, pool, staff, location, food, accommodation really lovely. Staff cant do enough, only comment is please change the mattresses, they're like rock so slept badly. Also area not recommended for anyone with poor mobility as steep slopes. Thanks to George (the manager who seems to sleep under his desk!) And all the lovely staff
Jules and steve priest

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank julespriest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews