We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
39
130
46
38
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
130
46
38
12
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2015

Stayed here for a week over New Year. Family of six in an apartment sleeping 6/8. Check in is from 5 - 7 pm ! Called repeatedly to arrange late check in as flight into Geneva was delayed. All numbers given rang out or were not answered. Finally had to ask friends who live in Chatel to go to the property to find out what to do. They leave your details stuck to the main door telling you where your apartment is. The location is ok. We walked into the centre each - the ski busses are not reliable. We hired our skis from Charles Sport - Ski Set in the Church Square where they let you leave your skis and boots each night, fabulous! The accommodation is very basic. Considering the property is new it is equipped like a student residence. The bedrooms are clean, beds comfortable and warm. The living area is spacious but there is nowhere to store anything in the kitchen. The only place to sit is on a very uncomfortable sofa bed - totally unacceptable for unit accommodating up to 8 people. We were in E28 which is at the back with no view and is dark and depressing - the buildings are linked by wooden bridges, one of which was directly above our bedroom. The noise is terrible, every footstep disturbs you. There is one shower room with no separate toilet !! Ours was accessible so every time somebody had a shower the whole room flooded. During "peak" times the entire apartment was awash just from family walking around! The swimming pool is small with no views. Sad, as with a tiny amount of imagination this could have been a very special place to relax. The changing area on both occasions we used it were dirty and unpleasant.
If you are looking for a very basic place to stay you may enjoy this. If you are looking for something a bit more special there are so many other places in lovely Chatel to choose from.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank TeamAtGlenburnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2014

Nice functional appartment in Excellent location: 150m to new lifts, soon to open. 400m from shops. Great view to Linga! Pack well as your car may be parked quit far from your appartment. Cleaning is not included and costs €60.

  • Stayed: December 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RiesNiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed here for 4nts in late January. There was a group of 7 and we shared 2 apartments which were each very different. Both 2 bedroom apartments. Overall the apartments are lovely, clean, fresh and have fantastic views over the valley below. One of our apartments was on the top floor with a balcony (large) and the other on the ground floor corner, so walked straight out onto the snow, which our 3yr old loved! The pool was freezing, our 3yr old wouldn't go in it, and the adults had to brace themselves when entering the water! Which was a shame because we one of the primary positives to book it was because of the pool. The hot tub was nice, so stayed in there! The actual building sits back from the road, down quite a steep drive. You definately need your snow chains on otherwise you won't get back up! Also, it's dangerous walking down in ski boots. We witnessed some poor women slip right back and smack her head on the ground.. ouch! I don't understand why the management don't grit it because it's dangerous to say the least. The ski bus stop is right outside (route de Vonnes) and takes you 3 mins to the main telecabine or the ski bus station where you catch the other buses out. The buses are infrequent later on in the day. The walk to the village from the apartments is slightly downhill and takes about 15 minutes. There is a a well stocked supermarket in the village as we cooked on a couple of nights, and got everything we needed. The little train that runs around the village for about 3euros is great value, as this is a great way to see chatel and get your bearings!

Good points:
Lovely, new and clean
Good location
Bus stops right outside
Lovely warm hot tub
Well stocked kitchen (with dishwasher if you remember dishwasher tablets!)
Lift to all floors
Free wifi in reception

Bad points:
Pool was freezing
Dangerous drive/walk down to it.
Check out was over half an hour

One other point is that we booked through simply-chalets.co.uk which included the end of stay clean, but with other companies this isn't the case, AND the management are very fussy to say the least when checking you out.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SkiD00dle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This is our second year in Chatel, the skiing is great and the locals (some of which we made friends with last year and are visiting again this year) are lovely. Two great bars you must go to: the Lion Dor (Dutch bar happy hour 4-5pm) and the Avalanche, English bar with live music and DJs on certain nights.

Good bits:

The chalet is beautifully decorated and has a modern feel and finish. Kitchen is well equipped with a good stock of utensils, plates, glasses mugs etc. there was no oven in our room but we were happy to work around this. The dishwasher was also handy.The bus "A" which goes from town to Linga and Pres de Joux is a 10-15 walk- unfortunately we discovered on the last day you could ski out of the chalet and link up with the bus en route!

Although pool and hot tub were cold the first time we used it the second time it was fine. Sauna was also lovely after a hard days skiing.

For a small extra charge you can also get fresh bread each morning which was great.

bad bits:

Bit of a walk to town and the buses are infrequent on this route. The hotel is also insanely tight about certain things. €40 euros for the TV remote for example, and €15 euros for wifi when there is a box already in the apartment, this sort of thing should really be included. Also you will need to bring everything with you, we had one toilet roll and a bin bag in our apartment, nothing else. Of course the hotel will give you more of these things and cleaning materials etc but at a cost much greater than the supermarket.

The night we arrived there was no bedding in the room and we had to spend the first night under a "CSI" style sheet which produced the most thrilling electric shocks.

Despite these shortfalls the apartment was lovely and I suppose if you know in advance nothing is provided then you can bring all the stuff you require. Also it's very good value, if you book with sunweb we paid £350 each including ski pass which is fantastic. Few annoying shortcomings which could easily be fixed by Nemea!

It's the same price as our apartment last year and although slightly further out it is much nicer and bigger, the separate bedroom was a particular luxury we enjoyed greatly!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Niall I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We enjoyed 4 nights here in July. Very clean, well equipped and comfortable with friendly staff. Having underground parking available is a big plus. The chalet was said to be suitable for 6 people but was a bit small for 5(2A,3C). It was difficult to find the chalet as there is a sign on the French side only and we approached from the Swiss side (it is opposite the lake, look out for the big crane as the development is under construction). The town is within walking distance and has some nice restaurants and an excellent deli.

Room Tip: Book the bigger chalets as the bedroom space is quite small.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank okeeffek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews