We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A skier's haven - living in the lap of luxury!”
other traveller has booked this property
Lounge and fireplace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge and fireplace
Boutique, luxury Penthouse over top two floors of this majestic building Luxurious, lounge with log fire and piste views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
145 reviews
Lounge and fireplace
Boutique, luxury Penthouse over top two floors of this majestic building
Luxurious, lounge with log fire and piste views
Dining for 16
Dining area with open fire, staircase and vaulted ceiling
Log fire
Large kitchen breakfast area with piste views
Large kitchen breakfast area with piste views
Mezzanine tv area
Games area mezzanine
Mont du Grange Bedroom 1 King size bed
Cret Beni bedroom suite with 1 king size bed plus 2 singles
Cornettes Bedroom 3 Double bed and bunks
En suite Cret Beni
Cornettes, luxury wetroom/shower
Penthouse Caribou in Winter
Penthouse Caribou, Spring
Dents du Midi
Spring view from Penthouse
Dining on the balcony
Abondance Valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Chatel, Abondance, Portes du Soleil, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 145 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
SkiCat714
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
1 review
“A skier's haven - living in the lap of luxury!”
Reviewed 27 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Had a four day stay in this spacious chalet with 13 friends. Despite the large number of guests (and all females!) we never felt cramped for space. Bedroooms and bathrooms were generous and there was plenty of living space for meals and just for relaxing. Kitchen was also very well equipped - we prepared several meals for the entire crew there and found everything we needed. The ski room in the garage made for quick and tidy change-overs into and out of our ski gear. Location was also wonderful with easy access to the slopes via shuttle right outside the chalet. Hands down would stay here again and we are considering making it an annual trip!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnVicAu...
Vic Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best chalet I have stayed in ever”
Reviewed 26 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

This was a great place to stay with family and friends. Plenty of room, great views, wonderful facilities, close to bus for ski slopes, easy access to après ski, located in a wonderful traditional village not full of tourists, friendly locals, warm, superbly fitted out with all mod cons very tastefully done down to the last detail.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space views and the company of new and old friends.
Liked least: Had to leave to come home.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exquisite Penthouse Nestled in Paradise”
Reviewed 24 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

I stayed at this charming penthouse with a group of 14 women on a ski-holiday. The penthouse provided ample parking, and was situated near a stop for the ski buses. It was only a short walk to the fabulous restaurants and shops of the charming town. All the same, the penthouse offered a peaceful sense of retreat. On arrival, we found convenient, secure storage for ski equipment, while a lift made handling our gargantuan bags a breeze. My jaw literally dropped as we entered the penthouse--every window presented breathtaking vistas. My eyes danced over spaces that warmed the soul. The large dining area faciliated fellowship over breakfasts of heavenly croissants (from the "walk-to" bakery) and convivial dinners. The living area was comfortable and cozy, while large enough to allow us to gather as a group for games. The kitchen and pantry made presenting the meals efficient, and the bathrooms were plenty and well-fitted. (The master bathroom could entice a women to skip a day's ski to luxuriate in its splendid bath, flooded with natural light, to unwind with a good book!) I stayed in a family room with four other women, and we each found plenty of space to organize our clothes and accessories-- NOT what one expects when traveling in Europe! I slept soundly in the quiet room with a view to the quaint village chapel, and drifted off to sleep each night as snowy scenes of alpine trails wound through my head. The "perfect bones" of this space, with its optimal blend of open rooms and quiet nooks, were dressed in sophisticated, artful decor well-suited to its primiere locale among the French alps. This penthouse provided all one would ever need to enjoy a relaxing stay in this charming region.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's overall ambiance, comfort, and the breathtaking views to the mountains.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stokesley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness and quality of the accommodation
Liked least: Having to go home!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Adamantt
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a beautiful place to rent with friends”
Reviewed 18 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

The Caribou Penthouse Chalet is amazing and spacious, well equipped, is ideally located to access the slopes of Portes du Soleil and a great place to host a trip away with some good friends. I was introduced to Penthouse Caribu by a friend since I was looking for a special place that i could rent to accommodate quite a few friends who I had invited for a Birthday Skiing holiday. The Penthouse more than delivered with its decor, style and views out of every window. It is layed out over a couple of floors providing ample space to accommodate a large group size of up to 16. It is clear that this chalet is well loved and looked after by the owners who maintain it to a mint condition. The boot room with ground floor access is perfect and I though could double up as a secure lockup for bikes in the Summer months.
I would recommend having vehicles to open up more slope access possibilities and freedom to the group since organising everyone can be a challenge, but there is always the bus which stops right outside and is perfect if you find yourself coming back earlier than the others.
Have to also add that local boulongerie was fab for morning bread.
I am sure I will be back again next year and also thinking of mentioning this place to my Triathlon club for a bit of Summer Training with a dash of luxurary after the days training.
Enjoy, I guarentee you won't be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Spotless, equipped, and spacious
Liked least: Really cant think since the Chalet met all expectations. Having to go back to work.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing