We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most friendly, welcoming, family run B+B in Ehrwald”
Review of Haus Karl's Ruh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Haus Karl's Ruh
Ranked #1 of 28 Ehrwald B&B and Inns
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most friendly, welcoming, family run B+B in Ehrwald”
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Haus Karls Ruh is delightful. Gary and Evelyn are the most welcoming hosts and really put extra special care into our stay. The house and the rooms are spacious and clean and my brother and I both said how cozy the beds were! Just what we needed after a long day on the mountain!
Breakfast was lovely and there was such a spread, we were full every morning! We particularly liked the warm bread rolls!!
The bathroom and shower we had was perfect for us and we really appreciated having the use of the boot room to dry off wet clothes.
The Kitchen family are perfect hosts and we throughily enjoyed our stay over New Years and would wholeheartedly recommend staying at Haus Karls Ruh to couples or groups alike. We will definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well decorated and spotless but do say if you specifically would like an en suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilyweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hauskarlsruh, Owner at Haus Karl's Ruh, responded to this review, 1 January 2012
Thank you for your lovely review of Haus Karl's Ruh. We are glad you found your room comfortable and relaxing after your days skiing and were able to make good use of the boot room to dry all your ski gear.

We know you will be back skiing in Ehrwald this winter and hope to see you, or better still that you will stay with us again!

Regards
Evelyn and Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
44
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fleetwood, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Haus Karl's Ruh was wonderfully relaxing. We were warmly welcomed and graciously shown to our room. Our balcony room was beautifully decorated and very clean and comfortable. The balcony was a great place to enjoy the beautiful view and enjoy reading or conversation. Breakfast was attractively served and enjoyed with an amazing view of the Zugspitz. We particularly enjoyed the conversations we had with Gary and Evelyn; they were happy to take the time to interact with us. We totally enjoyed the quiet, welcoming atmosphere of Haus Karl's Ruh, and recommend it highly!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hauskarlsruh, Owner at Haus Karl's Ruh, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Thank you for your feedback and for recommending Haus Karl's Ruh so wholeheartedly!

We try hard to ensure a relaxing time for all our guests as we know how tiring, if exhilarating, a day in the mountains can be!!

We hope you may return to Ehrwald at sometime in the future and that if you do so we can welcome you to Haus Karl's Ruh again.

Best wishes
Evelyn and gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xonrupt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Hello !
We were in your house, last week, during 4 days.
You are very hospitable, and all was perfect, and also your advices
The bedrooms, very clean, the breakfast very good
and of course Heidi very delightful.
My mother, my mother-in-law and my daughter were enchanted.
It was too short !
Hope I will come back , maybe next year with my husband.
Valérie, Suzy, Josette and Monique

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruer v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hauskarlsruh, Owner at Haus Karl's Ruh, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
Hello Valerie, Suzy, Josette and Monique,

You are our first visitors from France and it was a pleasure to meet you all!

Thank you for your kind comments about your stay with us and we are also sorry you couldn't stay longer, but now that you have sampled what Ehrwald has to offer we hope you will come back and visit us again!

Best wishes to you all,
Evelyn and Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maarssen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed for three nights (booked an extra night because evertything was working out well: nice hikes in the beautiful mountains with good facilities and Wanderwegen). We liked the place to stay, because the house is good, the beds are excellent and the people at the B&B are friendly, kind en forthcoming. They made us nice lunch packets. We decided to return to this particular adress on our way back from Italy, also becaue of the quietness. If you book, ask for the room with a balcony.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Countluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hauskarlsruh, Owner at Haus Karl's Ruh, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
It always pleases us when guests decide to stay for longer than they initially planned as it means they are enjoying Haus Karl's Ruh and the service we offer, and there is no better recommendation than this!

We are glad you enjoyed the mountains in Ehrwald and our beautiful 'wander wegen'. I know we are biased, but Ehrwald really is a walkers paradise with hikes for all abilities and some beautiful mountain huts to stop and enjoy the views which we know you made good use of!

Thank you for your positive feedback,

Best wishes
Evelyn and Gary
PS: We are pleased you enjoyed our packed lunches!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leningrad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2011

I've stayed in Haus Karl's Ruh for a few days, the room was nice, clean and quiet. There was a good Wi-Fi connection. The people were very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hauskarlsruh, Owner at Haus Karl's Ruh, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us, you are our first visitor from Russia and it was a pleasure to meet you and having you to stay.
We hope you may return again in the future to climb some more of our beautiful mountains!

Best wishes
Evelyn and Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ehrwald
0.3 km away
Family Wellnesshotel Tirolerhof
0.4 km away
Romantik Hotel Spielmann
Romantik Hotel Spielmann
#3 of 12 in Ehrwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Alpen Residence
Hotel Alpen Residence
#2 of 12 in Ehrwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Leading Family Hotel & Resort Alpenrose
0.5 km away
Sonnenspitze Hotel
Sonnenspitze Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ehrwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Pension Tannenhof
Hotel Pension Tannenhof
#10 of 12 in Ehrwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Karl's Ruh? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Karl's Ruh

Property: Haus Karl's Ruh
Address: Laehngraben Umgebung 8 | Tirol, Ehrwald 6632, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Ehrwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Ehrwald
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,603 - ₹ 5,894
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haus Karl's Ruh is a small family run guest house in Ehrwald in the Austrian Tirol.We are located in the heart of the village, 5 minutes walk from the village centre & ski lifts, with the panoramic Wetterstein Range as our backdrop. The house was handed down to us by my Uncle & so we have an in depth knowledge of the village & the surrounding areas. Due to our location within the Zugspitz Arena we are an excellent base for walkers & climbers during in the summer months & ski/snowboard enthusiasts in the winter. The Bavarian castles of King Ludwig, Schloss Neuschwanstein & Schloss Linderhof, are 40 minutes drive away. Munich is within easy reach either by train or car & we are ideally placed for beer enthusiasts wanting to visit the 'Oktober Fest'. Innsbruck is a 50 minute drive away & Italy & Switzerland are also within driving distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Haus Karl's Ruh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing