We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa MarBella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa MarBella
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed at Casa MarBella for 7 days. This place is amazing. The rooms were clean and tastefully decorated and we always felt safe. We loved waking up every morning to the delicious coffee and sit by the swimming pool and enjoy the gorgeous view. Jim, Stephanie and the rest of their staff were so professional and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiny_dancer1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    27
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
81
232
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

This place is amazing.! Convienient to shopping,restaurants, and the beach. Wifi worked awesome! 4 wheelers and fishing trips were easily arranged through the hotel. Te place was exceptionally clean, and most importantly, we felt very safe. We can't wait to visit again! this place was the perfect getaway!

Room Tip: there is a kitchen in the rooms and grocery shopping within walking distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JTinNSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
Level Contributor
111 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

After staying for 4 days,there is not another place I would have stayed in the area. The owners/staff are as nice as everyone says and the rooms are lovely. My kids loved the hammocks and my husband and I liked the porch off our room. We spent a lot of time in the pool while on the property and walking to a variety of restaurants takes 10 minutes. The beach takes 5 minutes to walk to and is beyond beautiful. (learned the hard way to NOT take a beach bag or anything but cheap flip flops to the beach!--FYI)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmomCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

We picked Santa Teresa on the advice of a friend and we wanted to be close to Playa Carmen for surfing. After searching the internet and reading every review we decided on Casa Marbella.

We were not disappointed. It was our first trip to Costa Rica and we had a wonderful time. Jim gave me surf lessons and it was great! I continued on my own for the rest of the week. The hotel's design is beautiful and the rooms very clean. The staff at the hotel are very sweet and through. They have a guard at night who makes coffee in the morning and is delicious. You can't beat the view.

Stephanie and Jim are very nice and helpful. If you have questions or need trips arranged they set everything up for you.

We plan on coming back hopefully next year and we are going to bring the kids.

Room Tip: We stayed in the standard room with a kitchenette. It was perfect for us and we were able to eat br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DMudget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
346 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

It's no surprise that Casa Marbella has racked up several TripAdvisor awards for best value, as it's hard to imagine that one could find a boutique hotel of this caliber at such reasonable rates.

Santa Teresa has a wide selection of surfer hostels from $10/night to luxury properties at over $300/night. Casa Marbella occupies the wonderful space in between that most American and Canadian travelers are seeking. Rates are even better in the low season.

The property is several hundred meters back from the main road not far from the Mal Pais/ST intersection. This places you very close to the two banks, several grocery/convenience stores, tour operators, and many fantastic restaurants. This is especially advantageous for those without cars since all the action is more compact here than it is further down the ST strip. Walking around ST is completely do-able, but be prepared for dust/mud, stray dogs (all friendly), and very reckless drivers (mostly fellow tourists) who sometimes treat the narrow gravel road like the Autobahn. The walk to the beach is about 7-10 minutes.

The downside to this location is that the walk up the hill from the main road to the entrance is steep and rocky, and the short walk from the hotel entrance to the building is not suitable for anybody with any physical limitations. It is very steep and can be quite slippery after even a light rain. It's best done in shoes, not flip flops.

The views from the hotel reward you for enduring the steep walk as you have a completely unobstructed sight line over the trees and other hotels. It's stunning, really, and you'll probably find yourself spending about 50% of your time just staring.

The view is great from the large yoga deck, the tanning deck, several of the rooms, and especially from the infinity pool. The pool is perfectly designed to have complete sunshine in the morning, partial shade in the afternoon, and awesome views always. The run-off from the small whirlpool and over the infinity edge keep the water constantly moving, which means it is 99% free of any dirt or debris at all times. Easily the cleanest outdoor swimming pool I've ever seen at a hotel.

We stayed in a standard room which was spacious, nicely decorated, and well-equipped with a mini safe, mini fridge, powerful A/C unit, and a comfortable queen and twin bed. All of the standard rooms are located right by the pool, which does leave you at the mercy of other guests' manners in regards to noise levels. We never had any trouble after 9pm, but afternoon naps are a bit tougher.

The only complaint we had with the rooms was the bathroom. The shower was weak and the water was either scalding hot or freezing cold. Leaning over the sink to brush your teeth was also unpleasant as the pipes sometimes have sewer-flavored burps. The housekeeping was a bit sub-par as the bathroom trash was not emptied everyday (not good in CR since all toilet paper goes in the trash), towels on the floor were not always laundered, and the shower and floors could've gotten a bit better scrub job. We also came back one day to find that our window was left open (no screen) after housekeeping came. Being such a small hotel, we didn't worry about theft, but it isn't a good practice.

Jim, Stephanie, and the receptionist are gracious hosts and are eager to offer any advice, help book tours/transportation, etc... Their daughter is adorable and makes friends with just about anybody, especially other kids.

There is an "honor fridge" available that has a wide selection of alcoholic and NA drinks available for purchase in addition to the always available FREE Costa Rican coffee. The book/magazine exchange library is a nice touch, too.

Overall, we were extremely satisfied with our stay at Casa Marbella and will recommend it to our friends and family. Casa Marbella is great.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manilapacman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.0 km away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
2.3 km away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
4.0 km away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
2.3 km away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#22 of 26 in Santa Teresa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa MarBella? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa MarBella

Property: Casa MarBella
Address: 125 meters east and 25 meters north of Super Ronny's, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,288 - ₹ 71,597
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa MarBella is a boutique hotel situated on a mountain slope in Santa Teresa. The property provides a spectacular panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean and is a five-minute walk to the beach, restaurants, and stores. Being surrounded by rainforest, it offers a unique opportunity to watch wildlife in their natural habitat. The area is renowned for its consistent surf breaks, some of which are walking distance from the property. The Casa consists of eight units with four different typologies of rooms for your different needs and group sizes. It is an ideal venue for those seeking the privacy, services, and comforts of individual hotel rooms, yet the intimacy of a private villa. The décor of the rooms is a minimalist approach with a tropical touch. The amenities of the hotel include free parking area, Wi-Fi in the common areas, infinity pool, ocean view yoga deck, sun terrace, and reception. All of the rooms have ocean view and air conditioning. Services we provide include house keeping, massage, babysitting, and concierge where we can schedule an array of activities for no extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa MarBella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marbella Santa Teresa
Casa Marbella Hotel Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing