We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa MarBella
Nearby Hotels
Manala Hotel(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$ 99
US$ 92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 1,017
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tropico Latino(Santa Teresa)
US$ 153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 250
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$ 72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Surf Sanctuary(Santa Teresa)
US$ 155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Florblanca Resort(Santa Teresa)
US$ 452
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Playa Cielo(Santa Teresa)
US$ 203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (559)
Filter reviews
559 results
Traveller rating
519
31
6
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
519
31
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolyoga deckhonor barcosta ricabeautiful hotelthree bedroombeautiful ocean viewshort walk down the hillsurf lessonsprivate balconythe main roadyoga retreatdelicious coffeewonderful hostsmal paisour honeymoonboutique hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
341 - 346 of 559 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This place is amazing.! Convienient to shopping,restaurants, and the beach. Wifi worked awesome! 4 wheelers and fishing trips were easily arranged through the hotel. Te place was exceptionally clean, and most importantly, we felt very safe. We can't wait to visit again! this place was the perfect getaway!

Room Tip: there is a kitchen in the rooms and grocery shopping within walking distance
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JTinNSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

After staying for 4 days,there is not another place I would have stayed in the area. The owners/staff are as nice as everyone says and the rooms are lovely. My kids loved the hammocks and my husband and I liked the porch off our room. We spent a lot of time in the pool while on the property and walking to a variety of restaurants takes 10 minutes. The beach takes 5 minutes to walk to and is beyond beautiful. (learned the hard way to NOT take a beach bag or anything but cheap flip flops to the beach!--FYI)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelmomCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We picked Santa Teresa on the advice of a friend and we wanted to be close to Playa Carmen for surfing. After searching the internet and reading every review we decided on Casa Marbella.

We were not disappointed. It was our first trip to Costa Rica and we had a wonderful time. Jim gave me surf lessons and it was great! I continued on my own for the rest of the week. The hotel's design is beautiful and the rooms very clean. The staff at the hotel are very sweet and through. They have a guard at night who makes coffee in the morning and is delicious. You can't beat the view.

Stephanie and Jim are very nice and helpful. If you have questions or need trips arranged they set everything up for you.

We plan on coming back hopefully next year and we are going to bring the kids.

Room Tip: We stayed in the standard room with a kitchenette. It was perfect for us and we were able to eat breakfast and lunch in. If you have a family I would get the two bedroom or the three. All the rooms are lovely. After arriving we realized how lucky we were to be up the hill off of the road away from traffic and dust. Plus, you can not beat their view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DMudget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

It's no surprise that Casa Marbella has racked up several TripAdvisor awards for best value, as it's hard to imagine that one could find a boutique hotel of this caliber at such reasonable rates.

Santa Teresa has a wide selection of surfer hostels from $10/night to luxury properties at over $300/night. Casa Marbella occupies the wonderful space in between that most American and Canadian travelers are seeking. Rates are even better in the low season.

The property is several hundred meters back from the main road not far from the Mal Pais/ST intersection. This places you very close to the two banks, several grocery/convenience stores, tour operators, and many fantastic restaurants. This is especially advantageous for those without cars since all the action is more compact here than it is further down the ST strip. Walking around ST is completely do-able, but be prepared for dust/mud, stray dogs (all friendly), and very reckless drivers (mostly fellow tourists) who sometimes treat the narrow gravel road like the Autobahn. The walk to the beach is about 7-10 minutes.

The downside to this location is that the walk up the hill from the main road to the entrance is steep and rocky, and the short walk from the hotel entrance to the building is not suitable for anybody with any physical limitations. It is very steep and can be quite slippery after even a light rain. It's best done in shoes, not flip flops.

The views from the hotel reward you for enduring the steep walk as you have a completely unobstructed sight line over the trees and other hotels. It's stunning, really, and you'll probably find yourself spending about 50% of your time just staring.

The view is great from the large yoga deck, the tanning deck, several of the rooms, and especially from the infinity pool. The pool is perfectly designed to have complete sunshine in the morning, partial shade in the afternoon, and awesome views always. The run-off from the small whirlpool and over the infinity edge keep the water constantly moving, which means it is 99% free of any dirt or debris at all times. Easily the cleanest outdoor swimming pool I've ever seen at a hotel.

We stayed in a standard room which was spacious, nicely decorated, and well-equipped with a mini safe, mini fridge, powerful A/C unit, and a comfortable queen and twin bed. All of the standard rooms are located right by the pool, which does leave you at the mercy of other guests' manners in regards to noise levels. We never had any trouble after 9pm, but afternoon naps are a bit tougher.

The only complaint we had with the rooms was the bathroom. The shower was weak and the water was either scalding hot or freezing cold. Leaning over the sink to brush your teeth was also unpleasant as the pipes sometimes have sewer-flavored burps. The housekeeping was a bit sub-par as the bathroom trash was not emptied everyday (not good in CR since all toilet paper goes in the trash), towels on the floor were not always laundered, and the shower and floors could've gotten a bit better scrub job. We also came back one day to find that our window was left open (no screen) after housekeeping came. Being such a small hotel, we didn't worry about theft, but it isn't a good practice.

Jim, Stephanie, and the receptionist are gracious hosts and are eager to offer any advice, help book tours/transportation, etc... Their daughter is adorable and makes friends with just about anybody, especially other kids.

There is an "honor fridge" available that has a wide selection of alcoholic and NA drinks available for purchase in addition to the always available FREE Costa Rican coffee. The book/magazine exchange library is a nice touch, too.

Overall, we were extremely satisfied with our stay at Casa Marbella and will recommend it to our friends and family. Casa Marbella is great.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manilapacman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This was our first place we stayed at in Costa Rica (Santa Teresa). The rooms were nice, with a great balcony and view, and well functioning appliances and utilities. Your still in costa rica, so water is not always hot, and toilets are touchy. The owners (Stephanie and Jim) are real nice, as well as some of the overnight staff that we practiced our spanish with. It was awesome to wake up and then see the view from our balcony or from the pool and grab a board then head to the beach. And the restaurant they have private access to "Brisas del Mar" is amazing!

Side note: if your new to costa rica and the area, the road condition will scare you a bit so i'd recommend a 4wheel drive if your renting. the town is fun, friendly, beautiful beaches and great food...but it is not like USA with luxuries.

Room Tip: A balcony is probably worth it. We hardly used our kitchen, as we ate at restaurants.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pat k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews