We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“No place like it!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brattleboro, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No place like it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

my husband and I stayed at Latitude 10 for our last two nights in Costa Rica. We had already spent over two weeks in the area and had absolutely fallen in love. While it is a fantastically beautiful place you must be warned that you literally are in the jungle with no doors or windows. The bathroom is so outside that when it rains we had to hold an umbrella and our bug netting around our bed did nothing to keep anything out. Because it is so hot and humid in the jungle and the place doesnt have air conditioning everything is damp all the time including in the bed. This is not a place for people with a weak heart and I warn that even camping is more closed in than this. However the place is stunning. The food is to die for and we met some amazing couple traveling and had an absolute ball. We had our romantic dinner our last night and it was the best food we had in our whole trip. The swimming pool is lovely and you can walk down the beach to find a place to swim, surf or body board. We saw more monkeys, birds and wildlife in those two days than our entire trip. It was absolutely beautiful but also an experience. The staff is helpful with making arrangements and there is internet in the main house. They do housekeeping 2 a day and get the casita set up for night time- I would ask for a fan during the hot season though as its really incredibly humid. We stayed in the Premium Jr Suite and it was beautiful but we could hear and see the road. Not something comforting when you have no windows or doors and we couldnt see the ocean which bummed us out but we did have monkeys swinging around in our outside bathroom. It is in the middle of nowhere however so you would need to rent a car or get ready to spend a lot on a taxi if you want to go anywhere at all. It was a really amazing experience- I'm not sure if we would do it again.

Room Tip: bring lots of bug spray and be prepared to use an outside toilet with all the jungle animals. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ema C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latitude10, Manager at Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Dear Ema C,
Thank you for your very thorough review of Latitude 10 Resort. We think that your review will be very helpful for future travelers. You say it very well: Latitude 10 is not for everybody and you need to be fairly well traveled and have some tolerance for nature and the elements. But as you also pointed out very well, the guests that are up for such an experience, have the time of their lives and would not want to change it for any other experience. A stay at Latitude 10 is not for the traveler looking for a typical Four Seasons, Westin or JW Marriott resort experience, but if you want an exclusive and classy luxury camping “clamping” lodging experience, sleep just meters from the beach and receive the personalized service that only a 6 room hotel can offer, Latitude 10 is for you. By the way, we have hot water in our showers, so sorry that did not work for you. Our fault. Wish you would have told us, we have solar panels and gas backup to heat the water.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    13
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
130
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Downers Grove, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

After a pretty hectic first day with flying in to San Jose etc., the amazing staff at Latitude 10 had everything taken care of for us for our trip out to Santa Teresa the next morning. All the arrangements were made and they were perfect and they even greeted us with drinks upon our arrival.

Our room was perfect and amazing and I cannot say enough good things about Sylvia, Raquel and Yvette - who were the people taking care of us for the majority of our stay. We never had to worry about anything. They took care of any arrangements that we needed and Sylvia even drove us to town to see the independence day celebration.

On our last night, Yvette suprised us with a special dinner in their upstairs room which had been decorated with candles and rose petals - There was even a romantic mix set on the speakers, just for us.

It is a short trip in to town and can be walked if necessary. The girls will set you up with a driver or an ATV rental if needed though. We took the ATVs around to explore other nearby towns and really just had an amazing time. Sylvia told us about a slighty more remote beach nearby (Playa Hermosa) that we were able to walk to! It is such a beautiful area and there is so much to do - and so many beautiful places to relax if you'd rather do nothing.

GO HERE!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brooke J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latitude10, Manager at Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Dear Brooke J,
Thank you for your wonderful review about our resort. This is what we are all about. You summed it up better than we could: personalized service and letting you be part of our community, culture and day to day life, and of course, we try to make all the stays at Latitude 10 the most romantic they can be. We are so happy that you enjoyed your honeymoon and especially the special dinner on your last night. Come back for your anniversary, we will have more surprises for you…!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago Area
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

This is my third time at latitude 10 in the past year. It is as wonderful now as the first time. This is actually my seventh time there over past few years. The staff is the same and still great as is the food. Thegrounds are beautiful and the surf is great.

Room Tip: The privaterooms are all nice. You cannot go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WilliamHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

Latitude 10 resort is an amazing small boutique resort. It was perfect for the start of our honeymoon providing privacy, relaxation and great customer service.

The open air rooms, outdoor shower and romantic setting were fantastic to wind down after a hectic week and long journey from London. The turn down service with candles is so romantic.

The staff was always on hand to help out and provide local services at very reasonable prices. They were attentive to our needs but in the background enough to make us feel at home

The food was lovely at the resort and they also provided great local recommendations.

I would highly recommend Latitude 10 (We got a great deal thought jetsetter.com)

Room Tip: all rooms are lovely - 2 near the water front are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salliepants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latitude10, Manager at Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, 3 September 2011
Dear salliepants,
Thank you for taking the time to review Latitude 10. We are happy you enjoyed your stay in Santa Teresa. Thanks for pointing out how romantic the setting is, we think that Latitude 10 works really well for honeymooners and couples looking for a unique and intimate romantic escape. The nice comments about our staff motivate us to work even harder to create great experiences. We hope you had a safe trip back to London and would love to have you back with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

We have just back from staying at Latitude 10 - what an amazing place!!!

The location, the staff, the open villa, outdoor shower with the howler monkeys on the trees above you whilst you're having your shower ... what an experience! I didn't want to leave and what a perfect way to end the honeymoon.

Make sure you try the Watermelon, Pineapple & Ginger smoothie - refreshing on a hot day!!!

THIS PLACE IS AMAZING - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR A ROMANTIC BREAK!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r_shah1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
3.7 km away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
1.7 km away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#3 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
1.1 km away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#12 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#7 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.7 km away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#14 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.0 km away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort

Property: Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Address: 4 kilometers past Santa Teresa, left hand side, Santa Teresa 1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price range (per night): ₹ 21,592 - ₹ 54,013
Hotel Class:4 star — Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Latitude 10 Resort was built as a private resort and is now available to the public. The resort consists of five spacious free standing, individually decorated and private casitas. Each casita has its own tropical decor, situated on over seven acres of private beachfront property located near the bustling beach town of Santa Teresa on the Southern tip of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica. Staying at Latitude 10 is like staying with good friends at their luxury beach house. You will experience personalized service and attention to detail in a relaxed yet classy atmosphere. Latitude 10 is part of the Cayuga Collection of Sustainable Luxury Hotels and Lodges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa Hotel Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing