We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place, lovely stay!”
other travellers have booked this property
Your tropical home away from home, steps from the beach!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your tropical home away from home, steps from the beach!
Beachfront Villa Bonita - 4 Bedrooms, Private Pool, Large Terrace, Steps from the Beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
94 reviews
Your tropical home away from home, steps from the beach!
Beachfront Villa Bonita - 4 Bedrooms, Private Pool, Large Terrace, Steps from the Beach
Villa Bonita
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 94 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chinese (Simplified) first
English first
German first
Hebrew first
Spanish first
Any
English first
DALE P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Was not what we imagined”
Reviewed 28 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The beach is beautiful, house is approx. a 60 yard walk from the beach. Surfing is great, host was very nice and helpful booking zip-lining, giving directions, etc. Overall we look back at the trip as fun, but very expensive.

We booked this place based 100% on TripAdvisor reviews, and knew nothing about what to expect. Although the place is nice, none of us thought it was 5 star, and it seems as though we are the only people who feel this way...

-Electricity shuts off for a few seconds almost constantly, but comes right back on. We did, however, lose it for extended periods on 4 of the 6 days we were there. Although this is certainly not the fault of the owners, we would have expected that if this happens they would leave guests somewhat prepared. We had no candles until the 3rd night. When power is out you have no running water. A small generator is cheap and would allow for running water and a fridge. When it is 85 degrees food doesn't last long without a fridge.
-On the 3rd evening we decided that rather than sit in the dark we'd go out for pizza (a place in town has a brick oven and cooks even when power is out). We got to the gate, and were informed that when the power is out, the gate doesn't work. Someone lost the key...and apparently they can't solve that problem. So you're stuck.
-I don't mind this (I have a camp with an outhouse) but you should be aware that when you go potty, all the paper you wipe with must be put in the garbage next to the toilet to smell for the day.
-every time the toilet in the main area is flushed, it leaks all over the floor.
-the outside grill disintegrated in my hands the first time I tried to use it.
-There was a family of stray cats living in our kitchen (the kitchen is outside)
-Music plays every night next door until 1:30am, except the night that it played until 5:30am. Of course that was one of the nights without power so we didn't have the white noise from the AC. It was like they were playing on the foot of your bed. No one could sleep. (without AC it was 90 degrees in the house as well which didn't help)
-Our king size bed was broken and slanted on one side. We didn't mind (the bed was huge so we both slept on the other side)
-There were 9 billion (billion not million) land crabs everywhere. The pool always had a handful of them in it. They did have someone clean and remove them every day, but having upwards of 30 crabs in a 10 by 15 foot pool didn't sit well with the kids :-) This may be seasonal...we have no idea....if they are we hit the season 100%
-The huge jacuzzi bathtub had no faucet. :-) It had a shower head, but no good way to fill the tub. My dad especially got a kick out of this one.

Again, we had fun. Beach is spectacular. Water is like bath water. Sunsets were amazing. People were friendly. I/we just would have preferred reading a review that actually described the place accurately before booking.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2017
Thank you for your lengthy and honest review. I am sorry that you did not have the experience you expected. We want our guests to have the best possible vacation, and feel like we failed if that is not the case.

I will address the issues you brought up.

During your stay with us, it rained for the first time in 5 months, the beginning of the rainy season. This was the cause of a lot of the issues you mentioned. When it starts raining again, faults in the electricity lines that were not taken care of during the dry season get rain in them, causing transformers to blow all over town. ICE (the electric company) has to go around and repair or replace them all, which leads to longer power outages. This usually is only an issue for the first couple rains, but inconveniences the whole town. We do have candles and a flashlight in the villa, but because the rain hadn't started yet when you came to villa, we forgot to point them out to you. I apologize for that, and we will do our best to make sure we don't overlook this in the future.

Unfortunately, the water in the villa is pumped into villa with an electric pump, which doesn't work when there is no electricity. We're looking into a solution to power the fridge and water when there are power outages. We've repaired the leaking toilet, replaced the BBQ, and removed the cats. We've repaired the bed. Like most central and south American countries, In almost all of Costa Rica, toilet paper cannot be flushed down the toilet, because the pipes cannot handle it. Instead, the used toilet paper is put in the garbage can beside the toilet, and the maid removed it when she comes to clean.

The music that played until 5:30am did not come from the restaurant next door. When there is a power outage they do not have electricity either, and cannot play music. The music came from people celebrating Semana Santa (Easter Week) on the beach.

The first rains of the season bring out thousands of Land Crabs, or Halloween Crabs. They go from the beach to the hills and back again. They are harmless but annoying. This is a natural occurrence that cannot be controlled. Some of them fall in the pool. Our pool cleaner comes daily to clean the pool, and removes any crabs that get stuck in the pool (in addition to his general cleaning).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
murielle1...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Review of villa bonita”
Reviewed 13 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I spend 5 days in the villa. We all felt like in paridise! 2 adults and 3 kids.
The villa provide intimity just few steps from the beautifull beatch.
The kids really enjoyed the pool. The rooms were very cleaned and well decorated. I also enjoyed cooking at the kitchen. All the atmosphere was like a dream. I really recomend and for sure will be back to the villa next time !
Hagit gave good advices and assistance for visiting or contact for surf lessons.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2017
Thank you Amurille, was a pleasure having you and your family!
Happy you got to enjoy the beach and the house, do some excursiones around and explore Costa Rica and specifically our area.

Hope to see you back soon for another family vacation!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 5 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Apr 2017
Thank you for your wonderful review. We're so happy you had a great time with us. I hope we'll see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Reviewed 15 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Mar 2017
Thank you Rose!
We are so happy you had a great time, too bad you couldn't stay longer.
We hope to see you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing