We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playa Santa Teresa

Playa Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love this place the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

I like the beach because there is ALWAYS a great surf break here, high or low tide, summer or winter, and not too crowded.
The weather is the best in Costa Rica, water always 83 degrees, and the beach has shade from all the trees.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank RalphieSurfDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

754 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    548
    161
    31
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Santa Teresa Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

the beach in front of our hotel had huge rocks, however, 50 ft to either side had amazing surf. the beaches are rocky in some spots, and crushed shell in others, beautiful driftwood and easy access to beach front bars for sunset & drinks

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank wendy11050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowmass, CO
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best vacation I have ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is one of the most beautiful towns I have ever been to. There isn't glitz or glamour but that's exactly what I wanted. The street isn't paved which adds so much character. I saw a fair amount of complaints about this and all I have to say to people that don't like the dirt road is if you want to go on a vacation to a town similar to something in your own country then go to a larger "resort" town. You know what you are getting yourself into when you travel to rural Costa Rica so don't complain when you get there when it's exactly what you should expect. The very best thing anout this place is thst there isnt a Best Western or a Hilton or any other corporate run hotels or restaurants for that matter. Just some great locally run businesses that I feel so happy to support. The people are so helpful and nice, willing to tell you what's fun to do around town or in neighboring areas. The surf break is great, the beach is white and sandy. When low tide is out there are rocks that are exposed that form tide pools that you can wade in that are as warm as a jacuzzi tub! Sooooo nice! Montezuma is a quick ride over the hill (beautiful drive on an ATV) which has the waterfall attraction.

All in all this town stole my heart in the short week that I was there. I will return soon and spend much more time in the area. I recommend anybody to check this beautiful place out, Pura Vida!

Helpful?
4 Thank skier970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

My favorite beach ever for swimming, body surfing, boogie boarding and surf lessons. It is a gray, hard packed sand beach that has rolling waves perfect for every age. Gorgeous!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank NewYork5family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Clear water, white sand and very good waves the whole week. We wanted to stay there forever.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Yorhan z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Playa Santa Teresa also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Playa Santa Teresa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing