We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Trip...again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2015

The 4 Seasons Resort is top notch. Amazing setting in a very natural environment. Also, very private, yet only 40 minutes or so from the airport. Low key, without loud music. Multiple pools and 2 ocean sides with easy access depending on your mood. The Staff really sets the Resort apart as they are very friendly and very accommodating to your every need.

Be prepared for the cost as it's commensurate with the service. Hotel sponsored excursions tend to be very expensive. There are local options that can work as alternatives.

Pura Vida!!

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2015

Dear Mike from Purcellville, a pleasure to read your review today and I am happy to know that you and your family enjoyed Costa Rica and our resort. We try to blend in perfectly with the local culture and nature, and with the views, beaches and food we offer, it is easy. Thank you as well for mentioning our staff and the service they provided during your stay, they make the difference indeed. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,971)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

667 - 671 of 1,971 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2015

Lets get the negatives out of the way:
over the top expensive and we are in Costa Rica!
shoddy furniture and 3rd class hotel lobby that was way too small for all the people
property not well maintained and no flowers even in containers
food in the day limited and not so great
temps in the high 90's in afternoon
pool service terrible
very tiny adult pool
front desk/concierge terrible not enough people working. The podiums that look like you are dropping off your car at a restaurant
phone service to arrange things awful
very disorganized

We had been recently at the 4 seasons in Maui and were expecting the same level of service and beautiful atmosphere . The very expensive drive in at @$100 a person was easy and the entrance to the place knocked our socks off. Unfortunately it went downhill when we got out of the car and tried to check in. We were told to go eat some lunch and then our room would be ready and to come back to the lobby. After lunch we reported back to the concierge and she handed us our key. No one showed us around the large complex. it was 96 degrees and my husband and Iwalked all over trying to find our room. We finally did but when we opened our door to the room we were so disappointed in the furnishings. This room cost far more than the suite we had in Maui at the 4 seasons. The good news was that over time we grew to like our room. There is a large lanai off the bedroom that you can sit and enjoy the beautiful ocean in your sight.There are ceiling fans so its very comfortable during the very hot afternoons. The sound of the waves and birds are very relaxing. The bathroom was perfect! No need to bring my very big hairdryer as the one there was great to blow dry my hair quickly. The shelf above the large sink was large enough to hold all my makeup and skin products-Perfect! Also there are lots of outlets to plug in your electronics. Very nice!
We absolutely loved the golf course!!! My husband played two rounds of golf and I road in the cart. We got out there very early to beat the heat and we had a wonderful time. The views are spectacular with all the water.The course is one of the best 100 in the world. My husband missed getting a hole in one by a fraction of an inch! The steak dinner at the golf course was one of the best I have ever had! Its the best restaurant there.
The Italian restaurant where we went to twice was not that good while the breakfast was perfect!
Like I said the place grew on us and we learned to appreciate the outdoor beauty.The birds woke us at 5:15 every morning. We worked out in the gymn which was ok. I couldnt believe there were no ceiling fans in the room but there were enough machines at 6 -7 in the morning.We ate breakfast, went to the golf course, layed on the beach or sat at the small adult pool. Afternoons we road the elevator that sounded like bird calls back to our oasis of a room, sat on our lanai and relaxed.The view of the ocean and its waves soothing us.
Most of the staff that worked there were very good. Some of them even learned our names.
Carlos at breakfast was absolutely wonderful! He was a true professional,smart, warm,kind, engaging, helpful and very knowledgable.Thank you Carlos for taking such good care of us!Henry on the beach was very good along with Walter in the Italian restaurant and Andrea in the outdoor restaurant.
Housekeeping was PERFECT!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SuzanneAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2015

Dear Suzanne from Atlanta, It was a pleasure meeting you and your husband while at the resort and congratulations on that almost hole in one. The golf course is amazing and the views are just breathtaking - not to forget all of the wildlife you can see. I appreciated the feedback when we met in the lobby and I am so glad to know that the resort grew on you. Each of our resorts are different and should only really differentiate themselves on local touches and architecture, not on levels of service. Hopefully we can welcome you back in early December, when we get out of the green seasons, and it is not as hot - and it is getting colder in Atlanta. Pura Vida Pascal Forotti, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2015 via mobile

We have spent a total of 65 nights at 8 different Four Seasons in the past 12 months. We have become accustomed to the level of service and maintenance that this management company delivers.

The Four Seasons Costa Rica is a pretty property, set on a peninsula. The food is fantastic, with fresh fish and vegetables at every meal. Its preparation is top notch. The restaurants are nice and well appointed within the resort. I give the food 5 stars.

There are 2 beaches. One has all kinds of activities that are free for use by hotel guests. This includes paddle boards, kayaks, snorkel equipment, etc. The other beach is more of a "relaxation" beach and is really nice. In the morning, there is a family of 7 white-faced monkeys in the trees above the beach. That's neat to see. The staff does a great job of cleaning up after them.

The women at the Kids For All Seasons are great. They have tons of fun activities planned for the kids and children from 4-10 enjoy them!

There are a lot of little things, however, where they just miss the boat. First, the property is not properly maintained. We had a lounge chair break while my 30 lb daughter was laying on it. An umbrella snapped over our heads. The lamp on my bedside table broke when I went to turn it off (and has been sitting broken for 2 days so far). As I write this, the lamp on my husband's bedside table is flickering because the wrong kind of light bulb is in the fixture. The phone in the main room doesn't work. I could continue, but it's fair to say that the property is just not well-maintained as most Four Seasons are.

In addition, the service by the pool is poor. If you don't hunt down a pool guy, you will never get a lounge chair made up for you. Even then, it might take 15 minutes or you will have to find someone else to do it. Lunch service takes about an hour, regardless of what time you actually order. When I asked for an umbrella to cover my 6 yr old, the pool guy looked around for 1/2 second and said "there are no umbrellas available." This may be acceptable at a Hyatt, but it shouldn't be at a Four Seasons. My husband walked over, picked up an umbrella that wasn't in use, and moved it to where my son was sitting. This is not Four Seasons standards.

The concierge/front desk have no idea what they're doing. It caused undue stress trying to get reservations confirmed because the front desk didn't know what concierge was doing. There were other items and details that were dropped or lost in translation because they didn't communicate. I ordered a birthday cake for my husband and it was 30 minutes late- without so much as a sorry. I ordered this cake a week in advance and it wasn't confirmed until the day before.

Finally, and my biggest gripe, the babysitting is ridiculous. We have 4 little kids and like to get a babysitter so we can enjoy a few meals out when we are on vacation. For 4 kids they require 2 babysitters at $35/hr each and a minimum of 3 hours. This is $210 in babysitting. In addition, if they are there over mealtime, you must pay for them to order a meal from room service (including delivery, taxes and gratuity!) We complained about this, as it is the most expensive babysitting we have ever seen. To accommodate us, they sent one of the concierges for free (she did not want to be there). It was nice that they tried to make it right for one meal (my husband's birthday) but I think this amount of money is taking advantage.

If you want a tropical vacation at a Four Seasons, go to Punta Mita. That resort is fantastic and they don't miss a beat. If you want adventure, go to the Jackson Hole resort. It is absolutely tops.

This hotel needs to replace its management team. It is really disappointing for the rates you pay.

Stayed: April 2015
3  Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2015

Dear Patricia, it was a pleasure meeting you and your husband this week and I am glad that you reached out to us while you and your family were still at the resort. Your feedback is very important to us and I am happy to know that we were able to make those last days of your stay much more pleasant. Looking forward to a next time soon. Pura Vida Pascal Forotti, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2015

We have stayed at MANY Four Seasons hotels and we don't hesitate to say this was by far our best experience with staff, in-room dining and concierge. Their goal was to make our stay the most enjoyable it could be and they achieved it! We were less excited about the hotel surroundings, as it is as luxurious as any other Four Seasons but our off campus excursions allowed us the opportunity to experience Costa Rica in it's natural form and we appreciated it.

The food was good, not great. We didn't get any local flavor in the meals but they were good and what is expected of a Four Seasons.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where the view is not obstructed by trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2015

Dear Kimberly, thank you so much for your review and your kind comments about our teams - from in-room dining all the way to concierge, they are all working hard to creating special and lasting memories for all. With reference to the local flair, we will be working on making sure the food is great with more local influence when you return soon. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2015

We recently returned from our second trip to Four Seasons Costa Rica and the resort is still our favorite resort. The grounds are breathtaking and the service is second to none. Everyone on the staff is extremely friendly and almost never seem to say no to any request. Liliana on the concierge staff was extremely helpful dealing with our ever changing plans. Carlos and Zuliedy at Sol y Sombra were always extremely friendly and happy to help with any requests we had.

The resort is probably best for families with kids. The kids club is free and it a great facility with its own kiddie pool. The club is also well stocked with toys which you are free to borrow to take to the beach of the bigger pools. There is also a separate teen club in another building that has lots of games for older kids. The restaurants have an extensive kids menu - more than just pizza and burgers - and even have special utensils for kids.

The flip side is that the resort may not be as good for couples (unless you spring for a private villa). The resort is pretty much a ghost town by 10 pm and because of its remote location there is no nightlife close by the resort.

The golf course is one of the prettiest I have ever played - almost every hole has water views. Moreover, the course is playable for almost every skill level. The course isn't long, but the greens are small and players are presented with a lot of risk/reward shot opportunities.

It's a Four Seasons, so it's obviously very expensive. However, there are lots of free activities and amenities that are not always offered by resorts in the same price range. Plus, even the cheapest rooms have great views. I've stayed at resorts that charge more per night and then had to pay (ie overpay) for every little thing. The only qualm I have about the 4S billing practices is that they itemize every bill (restaraunt, gift shop, golf, final bill) in local currency and only give you the final amount in dollars. I'd much prefer to have everything in dollars, especially when the menus and activities are listed in dollars.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NYCBOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 km away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,619 reviews
4.8 km away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
26.8 km away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,982 reviews
11.5 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
11.2 km away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range: ₹ 53,873 - ₹ 1,93,538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing