We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2011

We got married on this trip at the resort. Our wedding planner was exceptional. The resort was very comfortable and the staff attentive. Most new our names within a couple days and were so polite. The food was excellent and the grounds were beautiful. The hotel upgraded us to a very special suite. Almost ridiculously nice. It was such a treat.

The pool staff and restaurant staffs were exceptional. We have been to other Four Seasons properties, but this staff surpasses those for service, hands down and is the single reason we would likely return.

There are two beaches and one is definitely better than the other. At night we walked on the beach and saw turtles on three occasions working their way up the beach to lay eggs. Walking on the beach at night under a full moon was surreal. If you are looking for a pristine, white sand beach, this probably isn't it... but it is a close runner up.

There are an abundance of birds on the property and that is fun. The parakeets flock in the morning and evening and shrill as they pass you by. There are monkeys in the trees as well. We did not swim in the ocean. One of the other guests was stung by a jelly fish on two occasions and that didn't sound like fun to us.

A truly beautiful place. I imagine we'll be back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank penguinschu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,968)
There are newer reviews for Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,455 - 1,459 of 1,968 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2011

My wife and I visited this location in July and were blown away by the beauty of the resort, the lush setting and the unbelievable service. Our biggest decision each day was do we hit the beach on our left, or the one on our right!!! This place is so secluded you can't help but relax. We did hit the zip lines close by and had a great time. The rooms were as expected - wonderful, spacious and had a great screened in balcony which was so nice for many in-room breakfasts and dinners. The spa was also quite enjoyable with a great menu of services. Until we meet again.............

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmazingRacer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

The staff was wonderful and the place was beautiful. Off season is a great time to go. We went on our honeymoon and had a great time. There is a wonderful golf course and lots of on site things to do. You don't really got any of the local feeling though.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

My husband and I spent 5 nights during late November. Hotel service, staff and the room were all fantastic. I am grateful to have read the reviews before I booked so that I knew to use Lorraine travel and Tours Your Way. Both excellent recommendations. By booking through Lorraine, we received many perks and upgrades which were beyond expectations. Tours Your Way offers private tours to all the popular places. The personal and customized service we received has spoiled us. I will never do group tours again, lol. We are planning another trip next November! Thanks Mainor and Lorraine Travel.

Room Tip: The rooms are much better than the photos on their website.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vedettefille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

The Four Seasons Peninsula Papagayo is a beautiful and very well maintained property with plenty of amenities. We enjoyed the beaches, hiking, delicious food and excellent friendly service from the entire staff. The hotel staff do go out of there way to make you feel special and welcome. Speaking moderate Spanish will go along way with the staff as you are in there country it is a nice courtesy. We did have to hunt down the activities available as the hotel does not make this aware or advertise it without asking. We took the Goombay Catamaran sunset cruise on our last night which was part of the recommended activities from the front desk's list. The boat ride was great with snorkeling and stops at several beaches to swim. Definitively recommend this cruise. The only complaint we had of the hotel is they charge for every little thing which is often included at other resorts, coffee, wifi, etc. were not free and the prices are very high, meals including breakfast for two were never less than $55 and watch out for the upsell on things like juice, sides, etc with your meals as it quickly adds up. The golf course is fairly easy but very well maintained and the views are simply amazing. Overall we were very happy with the trip but will likely choose something a little less pricey next time. ¡Pura Vida!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Suitcasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 km away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,601 reviews
4.8 km away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
4.8 km away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.8 km away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
11.5 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
11.2 km away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range: ₹ 43,411 - ₹ 1,77,385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing