We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If there was a zero rating this hotel would surely deserve it!”
Review of Allegro Papagayo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Allegro Papagayo
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Reviewed 25 April 2012

If there is one thing I really need in a hotel room it is hot water..despite our twice daily complaints follow by reassurances from everyone, including the general manager, we NEVER had a drop of even tepid water in our room. The wait staff were somewhat rude and unhelpful in the buffet. Our first evening at the ala carte restaurant was retched..after complaint to the manager we were "treated " to a second opportunity with much nicer food and a better service experience...too bad it takes a complaint to get that!. The bar people were great to the skinny women in bikinis...everyone else goes thirsty or "pays" for their drinks! I have written to the management in regards to the terrible experience however as yet there has been no response.

On the bright side we did enjoy some great monkey watching along the waterfront....

Room Tip: Try for a room in building 10 or 11....closer to the pool..not a long climb down from the rooms nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SherinHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,859)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

635 - 639 of 1,859 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had a great time!
Monkeys are on the resort :) howlers and white faced!

I'm a vegetarian and i found a lot of choice. Alcoholic drinks are yummy! Snack bar is great-especially for those late nights.

Beach dance was fun. The nightly entertainment was good for involving kids not so great for adults.

I agree that this resort would not be great for seniors or small children because it is a lot of walking -steep walking. There are shuttles but we walked all week to get our workouts in

The red tide was in when we were there so the beach water was murky but we enjoyed the pool-very nice.

Staff are friendly. I wouldn't upgrade to the ocean view room again- not a great view. But still was nice If we were more apt to sit on our balcony


We did a few days trips which was great. The 2 day arenal/ monteverde trip was great.

I want to come back to this resort again and stay for 2 weeks and rent a car to explore the country more. We fell in love with the country and want to move here one day! I think this hotel is a good value and a great "home base".

Go with an open mind and explore this beautiful country!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ltibanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

we had pool in a bedroom all the time because AC did not work and water was dripping
outside pool newer get clean ,pumps were off all time,

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bridgeview7211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto S, General Manager at Allegro Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear Bridgewiew7211,

Thank you for taking the time write about your experience at the Allegro Papagayo. We are very sorry that you had trouble with the air conditioner. Please know that we have fixed all air conditioning units in all rooms, since due the high temperature outside, the lines condensate and sometimes water starts dripping, once the Front Desk/Maintenance becomes aware, a technician is immediately sent to correct the situation.

In regards to our pool, during the dry season (when you were here), we experience very high winds and there is a tendency for leaves and other debris to blow in and around the pool throughout the day. We do have a dedicated person who works hard each day just to keep the pool looking clean. (the pumps are always on)

Again we are sorry about your experience and hope you will give us another chance to host you on your next visit to Costa Rica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

A very memorable trip. I wouldn't change a thing, this resort is a gem that allows you to relax like a home away from home. Traveled with 3 other couples all of whom enjoyed their stay just as much. Our room was clean as well as exceptional maid service each day. Great selection of food as well as fresh fruit, never a shortage of good eats. Resort staff were some of the best. We took part in 2 excursions provided by the tour company at the hotel, great experience, safety is #1 so if you do go your in good hands. And watching the sunset on the Allegro beach with my boyfriend is where he got down on bended knee and asked me to marry him. The Italian a la carte that night added to our celebration with a complementary bottle of champaign. This was an unforgettable trip, so happy that we stayed here for our first Costa Rican vacay because I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ruby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This was our first trip to Costa Rica, and we made the best of it. We were there April 5-12 so it was Easter weekend when we arrived, and it was NUTS but by Sunday the resort was almost empty.
We did enjoy it but wasn't what we expected. We had to change rooms when we arrived since the first room had 2 double beds ( requested a king) and stunk like smoke. Front desk was more than helpful and had us moved within 10 minutes. We stayed in Room 531, so only halfway up the hill so it wasn't too bad. Got some good excercise everyday !!

The food was fine, not knock your socks off, but definatly not terrible. When they had beef, it was delicious ! We only tried the Italian ala carte, and it was fine, far from Italian but food and service was good.

The workers at the resort really do work their butts off, and it was HOT ! Even the locals said it was abnormally hot, so they really appreciate when they are tipped. We were told the average monthly income of a Costa Rican is about $400 a month.

Bar staff are GREAT ! We frequent all inclusives in Mexico and NEVER have I been given such strong drinks, the booze isn't watered down, and they don't skimp(Especially Alejanandro !) ! But in that heat, you really have to becareful with the booze consumption, it can hit you like a ton of bricks !!

Beds were hard, but no big deal. We had no issues with our second room , amazing view !
The monkeys were great ! Every morning until about 10ish (some days later , depending on the heat)

All in all, We decided we probably won't go back to Costa Rica, but we did have a good time, and met some pretty nice people !

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank TiffMac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto S, General Manager at Allegro Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Dear Ms. TiffMac1,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent vacation in Costa Rica and your stay at the Allegro Papagayo.

We are sorry to read that the resort was not what you expected and that the room you requested was not available upon arrival; our guests mean everything to us and we are glad our Front Desk Staff was able to help with a room change and that the view was amazing.

We are pleased to read that the food was to your liking since we recently hired a new Executive Chef. He had made some changes to the menu in our buffet area and is revising the Italian restaurant menu as well.

Our staff takes great pride in serving every guest the best possible way they can, regardless of tips, but if you think anyone gave you an exceptional service and you feel good rewarding him/her, they certainly appreciate it

We are happy to review your comments in regards to the bar staff and will share this with them, especially Alejandro!

Our family of monkeys that visits and interacts with our guests is a unique experience and we are very fortunate to have them.

Thank you again for your helpful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gulf of Papagayo hotels
1.4 km away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,641 reviews
6.0 km away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Panama
737 reviews
6.0 km away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Occidental Papagayo - Adults only
Occidental Papagayo - Adults onl...
#7 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
3,381 reviews
4.6 km away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
2,047 reviews
17.0 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegro Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegro Papagayo

Address: Playa Manzanillo | P.O. Box 48-5000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#7 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range: ₹ 12,997 - ₹ 14,947 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Allegro Papagayo 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Allegro Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allegro Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Allegro Papagayo Costa Rica
Allegro Papagayo Gulf Of
Allegro Papagayo Occidental
Costa Rica Occidental
Occidental Papagayo
Allegro Papagayo Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing