We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a relaxing and wonderful vacation!!”
Review of Hopkins Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hopkins Bay Resort
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hopkins
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a relaxing and wonderful vacation!!”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We recently returned from a vacation in Belize. We spent seven nights at this high caliber but favorably priced resort on the north end of Hopkins Village. The resort had an outstanding ambiance, excellent meals and highly responsive but not intrusive staff.

As soon as we arrived from Belize City in our rented car at 8 pm, we were greeted by Aaron (the concierge) who made us feel right at home and showed us to our villa. Seeing that we were tired, he provided a quick summary of all the amenities and informed us that he would go over these again the next day if needed. He certainly obliged us to this with a friendly smile.

The villas are all exceptional with three large ensuite bedrooms, a living and dining area, and a fully stocked kitchen that the two adults and three children found very comfortable and convenient. The pool and the beach were literally at the doorstep. Both the upstairs bedroom and the main floor has large decks on which we would sit and relax listening to the ocean waves and the birds singing. The garden is a beautiful tropical paradise and they have a large infinity pool. There are hammocks on the beach to laze in and soak up the sun, and we had free access to bikes and kayaks. They also had a great free wireless signal (which you may want to ignore if you want to truly enjoy this luxurious paradise).

Aaron arranged several trips for us including to Monkey River, zip lining and snorkeling. The tours and activities were outstanding with very well informed and friendly guides. Fallon (the manager) and Sarah at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. We had a couple of outstanding meals (and wine) at the resort restaurant (Beachside Bistro) with great service. I highly recommend eating here. Hopkins also has other very fine restaurants including Love on the Rocks and Chef Robs. The food at these three restaurants could match or exceed almost any restaurant that you would find in large cities in the US (service can be slow- but this is Belize and everything is laid back).

Hopkins village is worth exploring. The local people are Garifuna. They were very friendly and it was very safe to walk or bike around the village even at night.

Writing this review makes me want to be back there immediately. I can not wait to get back to HB Villas.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank skaps1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    123
    20
    14
    9
See reviews for
180
241
13
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Bluegrass
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We returned last week from an amazing stay at the Hopkins Bay Villas. Every part of our stay was outstanding. Our trip began with a delayed Delta flight, which caused us to miss our Maya Island Air flight to Dangriga. No worries, we were put on the next flight, and our driver sent from HBV was there waiting, with a smile on his face. From then on, we knew we had chosen the right resort. Once we arrived, check in was a breeze.

Our room was gorgeous. We had the upstairs bedroom on a villa right on the water. Our entire trip, we fell asleep and awoke to the sound of the waves outside our deck. It was incredible. One thing I didn't expect was the abundance of shore birds flying along the beach throughout the days. We loved sitting on our deck, watching the frigate birds, pelicans, terns, herons, egrets and my favorite, the osprey pass by and often dive into the water to fish. Not to mention all of the little hummingbirds in the bushes around the resort!

Although we ate most of our meals at the great restaurants in town, we also ate several meals at the wonderful restaurant at the resort. They have a wonderful chef, who really shines in preparing special items for the menu. Our last night, I had a wonderful stuffed snapper, and my husband was able to have a fried snapper prepared off the menu for him.

The resort staff also arranged trips for us around the area with incredible guides. Two of our trips were only ourselves and the guide, and our third trip included one other couple. In all of our travels, we have never had such wonderful personal attention.

What an amazing place we have found in Hopkins and the Hopkins Bay Villas. We look forward to a return trip soon!

And a big hello to Sarah, Fallon, Aaron, and Emerson at HBV! You all were a delight!

Room Tip: Go for beachfront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jrtchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, KY
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Gorgeous villas in a tranquil, beautiful, unplugged setting! My husband plus four of our friends recently got away from it all in friendly Hopkins. Exceptionally helpful staff took care of every detail for us. LOVED the peaceful ocean view from our porch and balcony. Really unplugged in the hammocks just steps from the ocean! The villa is beautifully decorated and includes every amenity. Perfect location to relax. For the adventurer, the reef is terrific for snorkeling or diving or take to the jungle for hiking, zip lining, cave tubing. Can't wait for the next trip to Hopkins Bay Villas!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susanmvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuba City, California
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Phenomenal resort in every way! The villas are comfortable, beautiful, and tastefully decorated. The pools and beach are well maintained and lovely. The staff is extrememly friendly and helpful. We LOVED sitting on our balcony enjoying the beautiful view while sipping a cool drink and listening to the birds, geckos, and occasional waves. The availability of the kayaks was also a great bonus, especially on the day that we were out paddling around with the dolphins. The only things that we unfortunately didn't get to experience were the restaurant and bar which were not yet opened for the season. As much of a let down as this was, we would have never gotten out and experienced all that the friendly little town of Hopkins has to offer (The Driftwood, Chef Rob's, and Innies). WILL BE BACK!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nikki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakdale, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Unbelievable villas and grounds! Awake in the morning to your own villa in paradise. Take a cup of coffee and stroll towards town on a tranquil white sand beach, with nothing but your thoughts of what you'll do for the day. Maybe an adventure into the rainforest along a river to the top to find a picture perfect views! A beautiful waterfall and spectacular views of the forest below. Take your time relaxing in a clear pool before you hike back down. Or maybe you'll go fishing with one of the local residence boat for hire - and bring home fresh fish for dinner. Go scuba diving with the whale sharks - March-May! Or snorkeling on the shallow reefs. What ever you chose it is your adventure with your family and not a million other tourist. I highly recommend this resort if you are looking to unwind in paradise!

Room Tip: Any of the villas comfortabley accommadate 3 couples. Each couple has there own spacious suite. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DREAMBELIEVER333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
4.6 km away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
297 reviews
29.3 km away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
637 reviews
17.9 km away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Belizean Dreams Resort
Belizean Dreams Resort
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
822 reviews
4.5 km away
Almond Beach Resort & Spa
28.6 km away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopkins Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopkins Bay Resort

Property: Hopkins Bay Resort
Address: North End | North, Hopkins, Belize (Formerly Hopkins Bay Villas)
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
#6 Family Hotel in Hopkins
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,970 - ₹ 29,850
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hopkins Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hopkins Bay is an upscale Belize beach resort ideally situated on the Caribbean Sea near the Garifuna village of Hopkins in the Stann Creek District. Our private Belize beach resort offers comfortable garden and beachfront accommodation in a lush tropical paradise. Hopkins Bay Belize is the ideal spot where couples or families can enjoy a relaxing setting. Couples can enjoy a romantic getaway in a one-bedroom beach loft and families can make themselves at home in a two or three-bedroom beach house. Whatever accommodation you choose, you'll be just a stone's throw away from the beach and an unforgettable Belize vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hopkins Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hopkins Bay Villas Hotel Hopkins
Hopkins Bay Hotel
Hopkins Bay Resort Belize

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing