We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“OK if you're looking for American baked goods at American prices” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caitlin's Bakery

Caitlin's Bakery
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Hopkins
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 1 - US$ 30
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OK if you're looking for American baked goods at American prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

The muffins and brownies were OK, but nothing special. The whole wheat bread we purchased was dry, crumbly and cost $6 (US). Not nearly as tasty as the bread, pastries sold by local children. We were quite disappointed.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank almostnative48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    31
    9
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good product, but you pay for it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Of the two bakeries we know of in Hopkins, this was the only one open at the time -1pm (although the other was going to ‘fire up’ in an hour or two). The two bakeries are on the opposite sides of the street and in close proximity of each other although Caitlin’s is about a block off the main street down a lane and not actually visible from the street. The signage is sufficient enough. We had been told ahead of time that with both bakeries you’ll never know what will be for sale on any given day, nor how much items may cost. Specifically with Caitlin’s, we had been told to “watch her pricing” as it varies. The bakery had good selection of wares. We ended up buying two coconut whole wheat buns, a small loaf of walnut chocolate banana break and two chocolate zucchini muffins. All of which were excellent. Our total purchase came to $14 Belizean Dollars, a very good price for North American standards, but probably a bit pricy for Hopkins. This was also the first time that US$ was not taken at the 2/1 Belizean/USD ratio that has been our experience everywhere here so far. Instead of $7usd for our purchases, she asked for $8usd as if the Belizean total had been $16, not $14. We’ve heard wonderful stories of her coconut cream pie which she only bakes every now and then, but will only buy one if the price is right.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vic-cRb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchell, SD
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“I would go back again.... It was great and the kids loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Took the family to Caitlin's Bakery a couple of times and they loved it. Great baked goods with great service. A must stop in Hopkins village.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank CGSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice folks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Chatty Caitlin was out of most of her baked goods when we visited, but we got a couple of smoothies and her husband picked a coconut from their tree and cut it open for our girls to drink the coconut water. Reasonably priced and interesting.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank desertpixies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, Ca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great baked goods!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Supplied us with breakfast everyday, the breads and smoothies are great!!! Must check it out!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bryanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caitlin's Bakery also viewed

 
Hopkins, Stann Creek
 

Been to Caitlin's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing