We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kick back and relax!!!”
Review of Kismet Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kismet Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I stayed at Kismet for xmas holiday. This was my 8th trip to Belize in the last 2 years. My first stay at Kismet was in 2009. I have stayed in a few of the other places in Hopkins. I am a low budget traveler, so I have stayed in the other cheaper places in Hopkins. I have found that I have the best time when I stay at kismet. Trish and Elvis are great hosts and will do anything to make your stay an enjoyable one. I have been there *many* times when a guest from one of the high end resorts in the area stops in for a one of trish's home cooked meals and says it was a better meal than what they had at the resort. Many times I have seen the same guests come back for other meals. Some end up changing their vacation plans and staying at Kismet. Kismet is directly on the beach and I can say that nothing beats waking up in the morning to trish's fresh brewed coffee and going to lay in one of the hammocks to stare out at the calm sea. Talk about relaxation!!! Kismet has HOT showers unlike most of the other lower budget places in hopkins. I have stayed in the culture house for a week. It has a stove and a small refrigerator. My girlfriend was able to cook up some special meals she had wanted to cook.
I have stayed in the "suite" off the veranda. It has 2 private bedrooms, both with nice comfy beds. In the front room there are another 2 beds and a table/chairs. I have stayed in 2 of the rooms downstairs that open up to the beach. They are great too! I have taken the tours of the reef that have been offered and had a really enjoyable day. We were able to catch some nice fish that Elvis cleaned and trish cooked them for our dinner. There are bikes to use to tour the village on, or a quick trip to the grocery store. Best of all there is FREE WIFI!!! Internet is not a easy thing to find in Hopkins, and it is really nice to shot off a couple emails to my family back in the states to assure them I am fine!! lol

I love Kismet!!! For the money, you cannot beat it. Its laid back, no worries, I *always* meet interesting people from all over the world. The food is great. The fresh brewed coffee in the morning is great, and the beers are always cold! And I have found it to be a very romantic place, not sure what thats about, but hmmmmm it brings out the best in me!!! lol Kismet, meant to be!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seahorse21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for Kismet Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2012

I recently stayed at the Kismet for the weekend. Over the years, I have stayed there at least a dozen times. For a great dollar value, this is a great choice. Located right on the beach, Trish and Elvis will go out of their way to make you feel at home. I must add, that I usually will eat supper there at least one or two nights whenever I stay. Although the evening meal is usually not ready until 7/730, it is always worth the wait. This time I savoured fresh lobster in a hollandaise sauce, with a delicious vegie salad, home-baked wheat bread, steamed vegies and brown rice. It was wonderful... Kismet offers various accomodations - there is a private "Culture House" locacted behind the lodge, which is fully contained for cooking. In the main building, there is a large rental off of the veranda, which has 2 private bedrooms w/fans, private bathroom and another large/spacious front room with 3 single beds, table and chairs, etc. I was impressed with the great range of reading material in the room. Freshly cut flowers were also waiting for me on the table! There are also a few other private rooms on ground level, which open up onto the beach. If you are looking for great prices, great location and great food (Trish is also well-versed in vegetarian cooking), then the Kismet is the place to be! Check it out for yourself!

Room Tip: For groups or family, check out the private area off of the front veranda that I speak about in my r...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blondieinbelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

My daughters and I wanted to stay at Kismet..We arrived in the middle of the afternoon, and the Lady "welcomed" us in a very strange way...She had just painted her hens in blue, she said we were sent to her by a Spirit or something...Actually, she seemed to be so "high" that we just went away. We didn't feel safe at all in this place. (We are used to "layed back" places and do not enjoy all inclusive, buth at Kismet...it was really "too much". ) Instead, we found a wonderful place in All Season Guest House where Ingrid welcomed us and made our stay unforgettable.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
6  Thank isabelle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed one night at Kismet Inn. First, the positive: I'm not sure you can find a much cheaper beach front location in Belize. In addition Trish and Elvis were very welcoming. They went above and beyond to make us feel at home. It was almost like living with a host family.Trish offered to make us dinner for about $11 US each. It was worth it--she made fresh bread (my boyfriend is still talking about it days after), two different kinds of fish, a delicious salad, and sauteed veggies. There was water and beer for purchase. The atmosphere was very chill. The two dogs were so sweet and the roaming chickens were fun to watch. We took long walks up and down the beach as well as several swims. Now, the negative: While the rooms are really inexpensive, they are very basic and rustic. My boyfriend had no issues with our dark and dreary room but I have to admit I might have paid more for something a bit nicer. The room was by no means cozy--it was dark and the bathroom could have used a good cleaning--especially the toilet. I did appreciate the mosquito bed net which allowed me to sleep without worrying about mosquitoes or other beach bugs. But overall, I was not thrilled with the room. In conclusion, you'll love this place if you don't care what your room looks like and just want a friendly place to chill on the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MsAoKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

This was my first trip to Belize, so I didn't know what to expect. I like to stay in authentic off-the-beaten path kind of places. Seeing how this place was about 3/8 mile from the center of the village, I already knew it was off-the-beaten path. Prior to arriving I had been in contact with the owner and agreed to bring her a couple of items from the u.s. that she had requested as well as reserving a room for 3 nights. I walked from the village to the place and was surprised/disappointed to learn that the owner had left and was not due back in the near future. Fortunately, one of the "resident guest", Conan, kindly took on the role as innkeeper and got me the keys to the hut. Thank you Conan for helping me out. (It was hot and humid and I didn't really feel like walking all over the village looking for another place to stay).

When this place was built (about 12 years ago) it may have been a decent place to stay. Lack of care and maintenance are taking its toll on this place. The window shutters in the hut were totally insecure (unless you consider string secure). This made me uncomfortable because on the first day I learned from the one other guest there that his laptop and cell phone were stolen from his room. A window screen is not enough to prevent a thief from stealing anything he can get his hands on.

Food- not much of it and never knew if and when it would be ready. I went to the store and got snack stuff to get me by. If you do stay there (or anywhere in Hopkins) find Ron the baker man. Awesome homemade breads, rolls, pastries, etc.

After 2 nites in this place (and no other guests to interact with), I walked into the village and stayed at the Funky Dodo hostel. This is THE place to stay. A manager/owner on site who works his butt off to make sure all of his guests are comfortable and well taken care of.

If you are a budget traveler or a curious/adventurous traveler, skip Kismet and stay with Will at the Funky Dodo. You'll be much, much happier there.

Room Tip: I don't know that there are any good rooms there, but I would not recommend staying in the hut...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tomthetraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hopkins hotels
4.3 km away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
299 reviews
0.2 km away
Hopkins Bay Resort
Hopkins Bay Resort
#5 of 11 in Hopkins
553 reviews
1.3 km away
Coconut Row Guest House
Coconut Row Guest House
#1 of 20 in Hopkins
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Funky Dodo Backpackers
4.2 km away
Almond Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 km away
Belizean Dreams Resort
Belizean Dreams Resort
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kismet Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kismet Inn

Address: 1 Kismet Street | North Hopkins Village, Hopkins, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Hopkins
Price Range: ₹ 1,993 - ₹ 2,121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kismet Inn has beach front property located in the North end of a predominantly Garifuna fishing village called Hopkins in Stann Creek District Belize. It is an eclectic Inn on the beach with 2 private cabanas, with complete kitchen and all with private 1/2 baths with fans, and mosquito nets.$50US, all prices need to add a 5% GST. The family cabana has 2 separate dbl bedrooms and 3 single beds in the day room or, it can be a dorm at $15 us a person. Kismet has other private rooms with double beds $15 US per person. 1 with a dbl bed and a single bed. It was designed to look like a ship looking out the large port holes viewing the beach. It is one of the most affordable accommodations available in Hopkins. We are well known for our Vegan, Vegetarian, Seafood, Pizzas and Caribbean cuisines. The restaurant is always open. Belize Times quoted "Best food in all of Belize and affordable!" We provide free bikes and WIFI. Due to the increase of crime in Hopkins. Kismet has added surveillance cameras, motion lights, room decors, burglar bars on the windows and as always lock boxes in all rooms. At junction we offer free pick up if you call. Visit our web site for reservation with quick confirmation , or email. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kismet Inn Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing