We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best for Independent travelers”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hopkins
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sarkiki Reef Resort
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Hopkins
Certificate of Excellence
atlanta
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best for Independent travelers”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Sarkiki requires a little explanation. It is not a resort nor is it a hotel. It is a building of attached condo apartments. Each unit is mulitple stories tall with private balconies and roof top space. The apartments are huge with a kitchen, washer/dryer, A/C etc. You need to have your own supplies, not even a starter set of shampoo/soap is provided, but again this place is designed for indepent travelers who want the experience of shopping at the local market.There is no restaurant, no bar, no lobby etc..but there is a live on site manager who can help with whatever you need, book trips etc. She and the rest of the staff are very friendly and go out of their way to see you have fun (one even came running to get us from our room when he heard that there was a tapir in the village! the manager gave my daughters a good bye present of shells). The location is nice, right on the beach and across from the lagoon. It is not in the village nor walking distance really so a car is a must. it is about a 5 minute drive to Hamansi and the other big name resorts, another 5 min drive or so to Hopkins itself. As others have noted there are sand fleas (true everywhere on the coast) so bring bug spray. The beds are firm but we like firm beds and found them comfortable. The pictures are a little misleading: there are no flowers on the nightstand or bed (in fact no pictures/decorations on any walls, beach/pool chairs are provided but they are not the fancy colorful set in the pics, and the rooftop balcony is not covered with a thatched roof - it is completly uncovered - great for seeing the beatiful night sky, a bit bright for sitting out a reading a book though. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would go back in a minute. If you are looking for a self catered trip you will enjoy Sarkiki, if however you want a hotel setting and services this is not for you, head to Hamansi if you can - it was beautiful and the dive shop fantastic. Parrot Cove was nearby and nice as well.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvs2ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    23
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
24
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

My sun on I fell in love with the Sarkiki. Perfect spot with a wonderful sandy beach not yet built up the big hotels. We stayed in one of the three bedroom suites which was very spacious, with four separate decks on different levels; unobstructed views over the gardens, pools, and ocean on one side, untouched and natural mangrove forests and hills to the rear. The staff was so good, we really miss them and are looking forward to heading back. The property was kept very clean, someone was always around to help. It was great being able to sleep with doors wide open, listening to the ocean and birds, and feeling completely safe. There was air-conditioning everywhere if you wanted it, but as there are also big ceiling fans in every room, we did not need it. It was so much nicer to have the option. We had a rental vehicle, which you want as there is so much to see in the area. This place spoils you for other spots. It was great.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darlene f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Very unimpressive. I require little. A good bed, and a nice shower. This place has neither.
Concrete beds, and no hot (or even very warm) water. The rooms were large enough and clean. But everything is done on the cheap. We specifically asked if they sprayed for sand flea's and were assured they did. Then it didn't work, because we were all you can eat buffets for the sand fleas, and we were not the only guests eaten up by them. Hopkins roads are not the greatest, but the resort was far outside of town, with no bar, or restaurant, so without some means of transportation you are stuck there. I would not recommend using their bicycles . They haven't seen oil since they were sent from the factory about 15yrs ago. We changed our own sheets, and took out our own trash. They had a washer and dryer, that required something about as strenuous as a 6 mile hike. Up and down 3 flights of stairs. I would have been better of drying my clothes with a blow dryer.
the highlight of the stay was how nice the staff was. They were always helpful. and tried to do the best they could. They really didn't have a lot to work with. It's not that this place was a great value, in hindsight we could have stayed in town for about the same price.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndersonL_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Every expense was spared at this resort ! If you like Sleeping on 4" of foam on a concrete base then this is your kind of bed. If you like cold showers with very little water pressure (clogged shower heads) on both floors ! Also have to unplug your own toilet with every flush enjoy.
The refrigerators will freeze everything !!!!! Also enjoy the Sand fleas with every bite.

The best part of this was the staff very nice and tried to help doing the best with what they had!

Room Tip: go some place else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Victor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
2.4 km away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
2.5 km away
Villa Margarita
Villa Margarita
#7 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
24.0 km away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 km away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
2.7 km away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
7.0 km away
Hopkins Bay Resort
Hopkins Bay Resort
#5 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarkiki Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarkiki Reef Resort

Property: Sarkiki Reef Resort
Address: 4 Phase | Sittee Point, Hopkins, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property proudly sits on 3 acres of lush, fully landscaped Caribbean beachfront. Your 2 or 3 bedroom villa sits poolside and beachfront and comes with a fully equipped kitchen, BBQ and outdoor living space to maximize a tropical lifestyle. Tours to the rainforest, river, reef and ruins are easily arranged. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sarkiki Reef Hotel Hopkins
Sarkiki Reef Resort Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing