We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Babymoon In Belize” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Hopkins
Certificate of Excellence
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Babymoon In Belize”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

My husband and I recently enjoyed a 6 night stay at this property during our dream vacation to Belize at the end of April/ beginning of May. Upon arrival we found that our ocean view room had been upgraded to a room right on the beach due to low occupancy! The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The room was beautiful and had a wonderful view of the gorgeous blue sea! The food was enjoyable and drinks we tasty (even the virgin ones!). We did take advantage of the infinity pool, the kayaks,bikes, and the spa ( I had a fantastic prenatal massage!) We also enjoyed walking around the resort area as there was lots of bird watching to be enjoyed off of the roads leading in. We feel in love with Hopkins and went into town for shopping and the majority of our meals. Again we found the people to be extremely friendly and never had a bad meal! We did get our exercise getting into town but the walk wasn't too bad!. We did take a trip to the Jaguar Preserve through the resort. Our guide, Manuel, friendly and professional. We also went snorkeling on the Barrier Reef and saw lots of beautiful fish, coral, and a spotted eagle ray! Our other trips we booked through the Diversity Cafe across the street because of limitations to what the resort was able to offer with minimal numbers of people. Our excursions to Monkey River and Glover's Atoll were also fantastic and offered lots of opportunities for observing wild life!! This resort helped to make our last hurrah before our baby arrives an amazing adventure that we will never forget!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrienne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    138
    37
    13
    2
See reviews for
165
287
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wyoming
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

My best friend since kindergarten and I stayed at the Jaguar Reef Lodge the second week in May. It was wonderful. “Paradise” is the first word that comes to mind when I think of it!

Getting to the resort was half the fun. Stephanie and staff made our travel arrangements from Belize City so it was effortless and kind of an adventure. Some of the roads from Dangriga were bumpy, but we didn’t think they were as terrible as some described.

We stayed in the Jaguar Reef part of the resort. Almond Beach is connected on one end and is newer but I actually liked our end best and heard others say the same. I think our room was considered “beach view” but by my standards it was pretty much “beach front”. The beach was about 200 feet out our front door. We spent a lot of time on our front deck sitting in the chairs taking in the gorgeous view. I truly don’t think there was a “bad” room on the property, they have them all situated perfectly.

We snorkelled the barrier reef and kayaked the Sittee River while we were there. Our guides, Roy and Manuel, were great. They were very knowledgeable and friendly. We thought the excursions were priced fairly and if you choose to, there is something different and fun to do every day. We rented a golf cart a couple of times and went in to Hopkins Village. We had a couple of beers at the “Driftwood” in Hopkins one evening and wished we hadn’t already eaten dinner as the homemade pizza they were serving looked and smelled wonderful.

Even though they were wearing strange Hawaiian scrub type shirts (maybe polos would look more comfy?) the bartenders, King and Rick were extremely nice and went out of their way to make sure everyone had what they wanted and were enjoying themselves. They made some awesome drinks. The swim up bar was a great hang out for an afternoon. We met a lot of nice people. We also had a couple of massages at the spa. The massage on the pier is a must!!!

We were there during the slow season and to us it was great. We had our pick of beach chairs and palapas everyday and it was never crowded or loud. If you are looking for a place that has a wild night life this is not the place for you. The resort bar shut down around 9 or so, although a few of us went to “Joe’s Place” right next door and had cocktails later into the evening. It is a nice place too, owned by a very friendly couple (with two VERY cute dogs) from the States. They served delicious looking food there also.

We never had a bad meal during the entire trip. The resort meals were very tasty and the selection was good and fair priced. The wait staff was excellent and very pleasant. We ate at a couple places just down the beach from the resort and they were very good too.

Jaguar Reef was one of the most relaxing, beautiful places I have ever stayed at. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a vacation out of the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Definitely take bug spray and use it a lot. We got quite a few bites even when we thought we had spray on. That is the only negative of my trip, but it is to be expected considering the area it is in, and the bites were worth it!!! I hope to go back sometime-soon!

Jaguar Reef -keep it up- your resort and staff can’t be beat!!!

Until the next girls trip--

The WY/CO girls

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachbum1aBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Everything about Jaguar Reef was amazing! Our room was beautiful and kept clean everyday and the staff was incredibly nice and helpful. We spent most of our time relaxing by the beach, kayaking ( free to use at any time), and biking into the village of Hopkins. The bikes were also free for our use at any time and it wasn't that bad of a bike into town as long as it wasn't too hot outside. I recommend everyone take atleast one or two trips into the village for authentic Belize food, great souveners and 1 dollar beer at Dong Lees supermarket! All of the locals are also very nice and everything is very inexpensive. We took two trips, the cave tubing and the cayo mayan ruins. If you don't want to spend your whole time touring you have to atleast take these two tours! They were amazing!!!! The tour guides are awesome! We ate at the resort almost everyday, it was convenient, fast, and delicious!!!! Not to mention, the cocktails are pretty awesome also!GREAT SERVICE! Overall, AMAZING experience! WE WILL DEFINITELY BE BACK!

Room Tip: Just remember to bring some bug spray!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

My friend and I just returned home from or stay at Jaguar reef resort. The staff is truly amazing. so willing to please and very friendly. the rooms are large and clean with fresh flowers everyday. the food was great and had lots of variety. there were 2 freshwater pools ,1 with a swim up bar. and a jacquzi. Thank you Rick and Erdulfo for fabulous drinks and wonderful conversations. Stephanie oversaw all the trips and arranged anything we wanted to do. Ella our waitress was so friendly and always had the best recomendations We want to adopt her ! We had free use of kayaks, sail boats and snorkeling gear. we took a bike ride into Hopkins to check out the local crafts and met the locals who are always willing to tell you a story ! We highly recommend thus resort to anyone who would love to visit Belize. We will be back next year !!

Room Tip: Bring a high spf sunscreen and lots of bug spray!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Jaguar Reef Lodge for a week and loved it. The food was great and all of the staff was incredibly friendly. The resort is not very large, maybe 30 or 40 guests total, so it has an intamite feeling. Great swim up bar/pool and nice beach amenities.

Our room was large and comfortable. We didn't have a tv, not a problem for us but some people might be disappointed this. Some of the rooms did have TV's so check ahead of time if this is a priority. The room was actually a small thatched roof house with two rooms (one on each side) and included a large front porch with chairs and a view of the ocean. It was a great place to sit and enjoy a cocktail in the evenings.

We enjoyed several of the tours including cave tubing (not to be missed!) and snorkeling. The guides were all friendly and knowledgable. We also got massages at the spa, which was great and on-par with massages I've had at high end spas in the US.

The restaurant was very good and offered a variety of food. We had a package that included all meals and never got tired of eating at the restaurant. Great local seafood options and the chef did a good job of mixing up the menu every day and coming up with unique offerings.

The bartenders were all friendly and funny. We bought a drink package on arrival and it's worth asking about drink specials on check-in if you are so inclined. I thought drink prices were fair for a resort, with beers being surprisingly cheap.

The resort is close to Hopkins, we rode bikes into town several times and bought snacks and beers to bring back to the resort, and explored a few local dining options. Everyone in Hopkins was friendly and it was fun exploring.

I would not hesitate to recommend Jaguar Reef Lodge to anyone looking for a low-key beach resort that is beautiful and has friendly staff.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank msu2001la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
0.2 km away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
37.3 km away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0.2 km away
Villa Margarita
Villa Margarita
#7 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.0 km away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.1 km away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
0.1 km away
Almond Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa

Property: Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa
Address: Sittee River Road, Hopkins, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
#5 Family Hotel in Hopkins
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,809 - ₹ 18,717
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Proud member of ViVA BELiZE, the leading Hotel Group and Adventure Company in Belize for the past 20 years. This beachfront resort is- A Diver's Paradise offering a unique Jungle and Sea Venture. It is an oasis of relaxation, with sunny skies, panoramic views of the ocean and just minutes away from the Garifuna Fishing Village of Hopkins. Other features of Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa: -WINNER 2015 TripAdvisor HALL OF FAME Award -PADI 5 Star Dive Centre -FULL Service In-house Spa -Longest & Finest Beach in Belize -Pool with Swim up Tiki Bar -Kids pool -Beachfront Dining -Water Sports & Land Adventure Tour Desk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaguar Reef Hotel Hopkins
Jaguar Reef Resort
Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing