We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired hotel at competitive rates”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Tired hotel at competitive rates”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

There are 2 wings - the tower block and the resort block - which are linked by a covered overhead pedestrian bridge. We stayed at the resort block facing the pool.

The pluses - (a) convenient location along Ferringhi area, (b) competitive rates, and (c) generally helpful and friendly staff.

The grouses - (a) hotel has a tired feeling, (b) rooms show signs of wear and tear, (c) for rooms facing the sea, the loud thumping disco music from next door (a Thai Seafood Village) is audible until about 1 or 2 am (the hotel did offer us a change of room but we were not sure if the noise problem would be solved), (d) limited dining choice (only 1 restaurant/ cafe), (e) very very crowded breakfast at the restaurant (although the staff tries very hard and must be commended for its patience and diligence), and (f) a general lack of nice laid-back resort feel.

I suppose when the hotel offers such competitive rates, you must expect some crowd especially tourists on their summer break. If you are looking for a peaceful resort where you can quietly sip an iced drink on the beach while looking out to the sea, this is probably not it (the beach is narrow and packed with jet ski, fast boat and other water sports operators and locals offering horse rides).

I have my utmost respect for the patient and diligent staff of this hotel. However, I will not return to this hotel, not least because there are just so many alternatives in Penang.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack_CCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear Jack_CCC,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased you found our staff patient and diligent. We work very hard to ensure our services are superior and strive to be the best. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit. We would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    983
    371
    109
    70
See reviews for
860
761
88
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (660)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Our family stayed at this hotel in may 2012. We stayed in the tower wing which we are glad we did. We stayed in a kid suite room which we were a little disappointed with as it is just a big room with a small partition in the middle of the room which doesnt even go to the ceiling, so it meant no privacy from the kids and we needed to have our tv off so the children were not distracted by the light and noise, it's not what we wanted, so may have selected a different hotel at the time of booking.
The tower rooms,however,were great and airy unlike the beach wing we had a great balcony to enjoy a lovely drink any time of the day. We were very impressed with house keeping and the fact they provided fresh towel twice a day. The rooms were well furnished and renovated but the only thing that they forgot to upgrade was our toilet, a beautifully renovated bathroom with an old toilet!!!
The check in process was quick and efficient, however they could have given us more information about what is going on at the hotel if anything, or any tours that were available. The staff were friendly with nothing too much trouble. The free wifi in the public areas were great.
Breakfast was a great variety which my children enjoyed, but too many pidgeons ruined my breakfast every morning, maybe staff could discourage bird feeding for the comfort of guests with a bird phobia as there were a few of us who were very uncomfortable.

The swimming pool was ok, it needed some maintenance with some of the tiling very dangerous for young feet. It is a small size compared to other resorts we have stayed in, so that was a disappointment for us as we spend a lot of time in the pool.

My children (7,4), really enjoyed the kids club where they offered a variety of activities for a small fee, we did t-shirt painting, creating our own mugs and badges.

There are many mini markets on the main road for supplies as there are many laundry services only RM5 per kilo for washing. There is a money exchange across the road which has better rates than the hotel. The best place for dinner is the Living room, which offers great meals at great prices. Try the long beach cafe for the experience, but we didn't find the food there as good but they have a big variety.

If you are game, we hired a car for a day, which was great as we toured the whole island in a day at our own pace. There is one road that takes you around the island, the must see is Penang hill it is just beautiful, don't waste your time with the toy museum.if you are not game enough, at the money exchange you can hire a driver for 5 hours for Rm180 and he will take you anywhere you want to go.

Overall, we enjoyed our time at this hotel and would stay here again on our return visit to the island.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank autotokalokairi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Overall the hotel is good. Stayed at the 2 Dbl beds Hill view Beach Wing. Room is reasonable to accommodate 4 ppl. Great hotel staff very friendly. Only draw back is it's facing the main busy Batu Ferringhi Road & we could hear the noisy bikes zooming around at night. Think the rooms facing the pools wld be a better choice.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ccl2000v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This was a great hotel for our 4 night stay on Penang. It was right on the beach and had a great pool, breakfast area and selection of deck chairs looking out onto the ocean. It was a short walk from the Batu Ferringhi night markets, where we ate most nights at the cheap and delicious food court area. The room was big and comfortable, but not very well ventilated. Breakfast and wifi were included in the room rate so it was also good value.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ExistenceOfChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

The rooms are very clean and vicinity to the night market. Friendly hotel staffs always smiling. Had great breakfast in the morning and the ambience of the hotel is outstanding. If I were to come back to Penang for another holiday would prefer to come back here.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raj12500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.6 km away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
1.0 km away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,716 reviews
0.9 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.5 km away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,448 reviews
6.2 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Penang? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Penang

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Address: 72 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,112 - ₹ 10,093
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Penang, together with its excellent location in the heart of famous Batu Ferringhi makes it easily accessible to the Night Market, shops and restaurants. The resort is situated right on the beach, split into two buildings- the Beach Wing, located at the beachside, or Ferringhi Tower, located directly across the road to the beach. The Ferringhi Tower commands spectacular views of both the hills and sea front and is linked by an overhead covered walkway. 358 spacious rooms with a great combination of Family Studios and Kidsuites, the resort is perfect for families and couples looking for a retreat. To also make your every moment of your stay an absolute delight, we make every dining experience special in its own way. As the only hotel offering speciality Northern Indian cuisine, it will be feast that will leave you with 'spicy' memories. At the Holiday Inn Resort Penang, you will discover an exotic way to truly enjoy your vacation and cherish every minute of it. Right from the warmth of the people, the quaint sights & sounds of the island's rich cultural heritage and the rejuvenating hospitality of Holiday Inn Resort Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Holiday Inn Penang
Holiday Inn Georgetown
Georgetown Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing