We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,925)
Filter reviews
3,925 results
Traveller rating
2,703
824
250
89
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,703
824
250
89
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden wing spice market ferringhi grill rasa sayang afternoon tea chi spa cocktail hour pinang bar high tea adult only pool a la carte breakfast old trees fruit kebabs dress code spice cake premier room complimentary soft drinks
Filter
Updating list...
313 - 318 of 3,925 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

We have one day left at this beautiful hotel. Admittedly we are staying in the rasa wing which I cannot fault. The staff work hard, are polite and friendly, the grounds are landscaped beautifully and the areas to sunbathe extensive. The room is excellent and clean. I cannot fault this hotel and would return and recommend in a heartbeat.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Traceycowderoy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SL_Penang1, Manager at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Dear Traceycowderoy01,

Thank you for choosing Rasa Sayang as your vacation home. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our resort. Looking forward to delighting you again on your next visit here.

Best regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Garden Wing which near by to the poolside for 4 days 3 nights. The room was comfortable and spacious. Good and awesome hospitality, services and food! Thumbs up for Chi Spa! Definitely will come back again.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank TheresaCHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SL_Penang1, Manager at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Dear TheresaCHW,

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you had a wonderful stay at our resort. We can't wait to delight you again on your next visit to Rasa Sayang!

Best regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

We, a couple from the UK, stayed here for a week early January after visiting Singapore and before moving onto Indonesia.

The hotel really should be a truly exceptional resort - it’s in a great spot on the beach, is a large reasonably modern property set in fantastic grounds and carries the well respected Shangri La brand - sadly it falls down in several ways on its delivery and I’d suggest this is largely down to poor management behind the scenes.

The customer facing staff in all areas absolutely do their best and are welcoming and hard working, but sadly from our experience on occasions they just get overwhelmed. Unfortunatley at such times it’s these customer facing staff left to deal with the upset customers - little sign of management around the Garden Wing, maybe they stay more so around the Rasa Wing?!

We stayed in the Garden Wing (the Rasa Wing is the more ‘upmarket’ part of the hotel) and the room was just OK, really nothing special and some way down on our previous experiences with Shangri La properties. The floor of the bedroom needed a good clean, was marked and in areas a little ‘grubby’. Outside the room to the rear was the balcony which on arrival was ankle deep in standing water with the white plastic blocked drain cover floating around on top. Not exactly 5* first impressions!

On our first morning the queue for breakfast stretched to 30 or so guests with the staff desparately doing their best to accommodate everyone. The breakfast spread once you’d endured the queue was however exceptional. On the same day at lunch the staff at pool restaurant bar were also overwhelmed with guests resulting in uncleared tables and guests wandering around desperately trying to find a table.

The staff at the front end on all areas of the hotel worked tirelessly to provide the best they could - we had great admiration for their efforts - of course, better management would ensure the issues mentioned above were addressed well before they occurred.

The food throughout the accommodation was of a good quality and the superb grounds and pool area flow seamlessly onto the relatively clean beach. Plenty of water sports and the beach stretches past all the other resorts as far as the eye can see although ‘beware of jellyfish’ signage precludes too much bathing in the sea.

Outside the front of the property a short walk into town gives you access to plenty of restaurants, bars, shops, market stalls and everything you could hope for in a town. Taxis are easily obtained and very reasonable on cost should you wish to go further.

We did bring an issue to the attention of management toward the end of our stay and received a standard apology and some fairly defensive comments. Until they truly listen and act I suspect the issues we experienced and have noted above will continue.

If you’re going to this part of the world then this resort is worth a visit because it’s in a great spot and is overall a pretty impressive premises. I’d suspect the extra cost of the Rasa Wing might well enhance the experience above that that we had.

As a property carrying the Shangri La brand in such a location - currently in our view it’s just not as good as it should and deserves to be.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank AlanBmald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SL_Penang1, Manager at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Dear AlanBmald,

Thank you for sharing feedback with us. We appreciate your comments and we are sorry to hear that you had encountered some issues during your stay. We endeavour to improve on the quality of our facilities and services so that we can improve the experience of all our guests. Therefore, your review is very important to us.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Rasa Sayang in the near future.

Best regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

I have been staying at the hotel for a few times. I love their English afternoon tea at the Rasa Wing. The breakfast served at their fine dining hotel was great too.

The swimming is not very big but still nice. There were free ice pop served at the pool area during my last visit.

Date of stay: March 2017
2  Thank datin_tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SL_Penang1, Manager at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear datin_tan,

Thank you for your review. It has been our pleasure to welcome you to our resort. We hope to welcome you back on your next holiday in Penang.

Best regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

What a wonderful resort. It was made even better by the staff.

The staff were wonderful and we would like to say a special thanks to Shaik in Concierge. He went out of his way to ensure we had an enjoyable holiday and made an overall wonderful impression. Willingly suggested sightseeing trips and happily organised bookings on our behalf. The Shrangri La resort should be proud to have such a terrific and dedicated employee.
Please pass on out gratitude to Shaik.

The room was beautifully appointed and spotlessly maintained ny our terrific housekeeper, Hik.
He was always willing to assist with our needs and was truly honest and reliable.

The facilities and grounds are beautiful and there was always heaps of lounge chairs scattered around the resort.
The breakfast was absolutely amazing and catered for everybody's taste.
The pastries were so delicious and couldn't resist the mini custard donuts. Absolutely amazing.
There's heaps to do both outside and at the hotel. The golf was fun and the spa truly relaxing. Head out at night to the food market at Long Beach. Such wonderful food and very cheap. You can dine either in luxury or cheaply. It's your choice.
The facilities were just what you would expect in a 5 star resort and would highly this recommend this resort to family and friends.

Room tip: The Garden Wing rooms with a beach view are perfect.
Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Melbourne4_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SL_Penang1, Manager at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear Melbourne4_8,

It has been our pleasure to have you with us. Thank you for your kind compliments. We will definitely pass your excellent feedback to our colleagues. We can't wait to welcome you back for another wonderful Shangri-La experience.

Best regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews