We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special birthday venue!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We have just got back from a truly blissful week at Shangri-La Rasa Sayang. The whole experience was faultless, from the iced tea on check in to the warm welcome whenever we retutned to the hotel! During our time there my husband celebrated his 60th birthday so we splashed out & fine dined at the Ferringhi Grill! They presented him with a complimentary mouth - watering chocolate cake dessert, engraved in chocolate! He also found a birthday card and cake in a tin in our room! The staff were extremely attentive, and remembered our names when we returned to the pool bar! We were particularily impressed with Goona! The breakfasts were wonderful in the Spice Bar and catered for everyone.
These reviews are helpful as we realised that we were unable to bathe in the sea due to jellyfish before we went so were prepared for this. In anycase the beach was so hot with little shelter we were happy to lounge at the shady pool. All in all a super experience!

Room Tip: We stayed in the garden wing, sea facing which adequately met our needs and even though it was schoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue56_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,555 - 2,559 of 3,480 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

Spent a wonderful relaxed time, the staff were wonderful, breakfast amazing!!!. Ample space around the pool to find a spot of your own, or watch with amusement the water polo game held daily, the referee\umpire for the game ensures the common language is laughter. Unfortunately the beech is over run with noisy water sports making it impossible to swim as there is no designated area. The night markets fun to wonder through. The long beach food court offers a range of different types of food all delicious freshly cooked for you. We found ordering drinks from the hotel pool bar so slow,both day and night which was a shame. During the day we found it was quicker to go left at the beach to a fabulous family run beach cafe offering freshly made fruit juice, soft drinks and simple light moorish food served quickly with a smile. Should wish for something more substantial or a cold beer, take a wonder up the side ally.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor facing the beach, but also had a fabulous view over the palm trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GenEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stayed there in April 2012. Had wonderful experience and enjoyed our stay. Hotel staff very good. Breakfast was amazing. Affiliated with Golden Sands Hotel next door. Numerous pools to choose from. Night markets outside your door. Cheap eatery approx 400 metros from hotel in outdoor food court. Huge variety of food selections and very very cheap prices. Decor not flash but food awesome.
Had a great time and will return again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanQueenslandAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Upon checking into the Rasa Wing we found out that our room faced the car park, so my husband upgraded us to a deluxe garden view room on the ground floor. Initially I wasn’t happy at forking out more money as this resort is pricey to begin with, but in the end it was all worthwhile.

Our 15 month old was able to explore our private garden and we were peace of mind that he was safe and couldn’t get out the back gate. The back gate also gave us a short cut to the Rasa Wing Lounge for daily High Tea (one of the highlights of my stay!) cocktails and hors d'oeuvres which are all provided free when staying in the Rasa Wing.

The food at both restaurants is lovely, a huge breakfast selection at Spice Market. We ended up at Feringgi Grill most mornings as it was quieter, although the options are more limited.

The staff couldn’t do enough to make you comfortable and feel welcome especially Chan and Goonah at the bar, nothing was too much trouble for them.

Another highlight was Chi Spa- some of the best treatments I’ve ever had in absolutely beautiful surroundings. Pool was great and nicely shaded. We didn’t use the Rasa Wing (adults only) pool but it looked beautiful.

The resort is so lush, green and tranquil, the heat and humidity really hits you when you venture out onto the street (not that there’s anything to do everything is closed during the day) Even walking through the Golden Sands, the sister resort you can notice the stark difference- from the crowds of people to the lower level of upkeep of the grounds, I was so glad we chose Rasa Sayang.

Now I understand why a lot of people we spoke to come back here again and again. We caught the free shuttle bus to Gurney Plaza a couple of times and went to the Hawkers markets down the road for dinner once but most of the time we were just happy to stay at the resort.

Room Tip: Choose the RASA Wing, well worth it!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KazzPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Great place to rest and relax... Getaway from busy city life.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
Thank Amidin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.4 km away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
1.9 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
4,612 reviews
11.0 km away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#12 of 87 in George Town
3,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,756 reviews
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#3 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
2,256 reviews
1.2 km away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa

Address: Batu Ferringhi Main Road | Kampung Tanjung Huma, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range: ₹ 9,431 - ₹ 18,797 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa has a sense of history, place and tradition. A 5 star resort located in Batu Feringgi, Penang Malaysia. The sprawling gardens of the resort are ideal for team building exercises, outdoor meetings and allow you to enjoy your meetings and conventions in a tropical setting. Exchanging lifetime vows under our sheltering rain trees will make your wedding unforgettable. Also, nothing creates more wonderful memories than a perfect day in our beautiful gardens. Rasa Sayang resort and Spa is also connected to George Town via our complimentary daily shuttle. With so much cultural history and vibrant street art, it's no surprise that Penang's capital, George Town, has been designated as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO.George Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Hotel
Rasa Sayang Penang
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Resort
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing