We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One amazing hotel, worth every cent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“One amazing hotel, worth every cent!”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

My wife and I loved this place. We stayed at the Rasa Wing and it was not cheap at 1,600 ringgit a night but it was money well spent. We loved the surroundings and also the privacy of the Rasa Wing pool with no screaming kids( mind you we do love children). Staff was just amazing, they could not do enough for you. We had a room on the ground floor with a small garden that leads on to the hotel grounds and also to the pool. Room was spotless, clean and a good size. We do not have one negative comment about this hotel. The selection and also the quality of the breakfast at the ' Spice market' was just awesome. Service was just incredible even though it was busy. The staff never fails to notice you and they always serve you with a big smile. What a hotel!! Great reflection of the management and staff that is happy and proud to work here. Thank you to all of you for the great service and making our stay so enjoyable. We will be coming back for sure as my wife is already planning a trip back!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fasted09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,363
    689
    204
    65
    46
See reviews for
1,101
1,573
93
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (868)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

This Hotel truly has it all ! Wonderful location, wonderful grounds and gardens, wonderful staff who honestly just cannot do enough to make sure the guest has a truly memorable stay. As previous reviews advise , it is well worth the upgrade to the Rasa Wing, you get to have the most wonderful Breakfast in the Ferringhi Bar and Grill which really gets your day of to the perfect start. Then from 3-4pm High tea is served as well, delightful sandwiches and Pastries along with the most devine scones with of course Jam and cream. Then if that isn't enough from 6-7pm canapes and cocktails/Beer/Wine and spirits are all served free of charge. The Rooms are spacious and very well maintained, we had a Rasa Wing Hill view room which was perfect for anything you would require. The staff are wonderful and treat you like they want you to come back, nothing is to much trouble for them. There are themed Buffets most nights with Saturday night being the seafood feast!! Then other nights there are other just as impressive feasts. Really this Hotel has it all you can keep busy all day with activities or you can just relax and do nothing.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COLT15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This hotel is really excellent and the staff care about customer service. The rooms were spacious, a little dated, but clean. The TVs were updated while we stayed there so are now flat screen. The only down side was the supplement we paid for a seaview was wasted (and after we had specifically asked whether we would be able to see the sea) as we had a view of the pool and had to hang off our balcony to get the sea view. That said the hotel made sure that we got this supplement refunded. The spa facilities are wonderful and the pool is clean and well maintained. The food was varied and excellent. We found the actual location a bit disappointing however. The locals say that it is going downhill as the customers change and alot of the 'original' Malaysians are moving away and more Arabs, Lebonese and Indians are moving into the area to visit and live. There are few reasonable and good restaurants to eat at outside of the hotel (infact I became ill having eaten at a Lebonese restaurant) which is disappointing and means that we are less likely to return but we can't fault the hotel. Great staff and if you don't want to leave the hotel... you don't need to as there are various themed evenings every night and activities are laid on.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GabbyE73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I think this hotel is great but there is one thing,
My room was filled with,
ANTS!
Ya that's right ants
On the wall on the floor.
But it was because my mom left an orange cut into half on the table.
But I tell you galls & guys book it TODAY!

Room Tip: Garden wing 6th floor Room 1601
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yomna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

we stayed here in february for one week and the experience from start to finish was top class.it was a reallylong journey getting there but well worth it in the end.the staff were freindly and the room (garden veiw) was beautiful.we arrived about 6 pm and after checking in we showered and walked into batu ferringhi,about a 10 minute walk.we found a restaurant that looked pretty full so we got a table had a couple of drinks 2 starters and 2 main meals absolutely delicious ,got the bill and it came to £12!! coming from yorkshire this was welcome to penang big style!!!.the choice at breakfast is the best ihave ever had something for everyone even the fussiest eaters.the food and service was superb.the beach was beatiful but you could not swim in it because of jellyfish which was disappointing but what a lovely pool we spent our time around there .we went on a trip around penang (half day)great guide and also did penang hill also very good.the only down side for us was the night market if you went into BFyou had to walk through itgot sick of saying no thanks every 2 seconds but if you want bargains this is the place for you.mybrother came here before me and recommended mr foo on the beach for a massage i had 2 they were really good .the best places we ate at on a night were living room,boatman and jewel of the north great food and so much cheaper than the hotel.my only complaint about this hotel was the price of beer £4.80 for a smallish glass,yes it is 5 star(and it is) but i am not paying that for beer .all in all this is the best hotel i have stayed in.....up until our next week when we flew to borneo and stayed in the rasa ria in KK WOW .we would definately stay in a shangri-la again this week and the following week in borneo were damn near perfect!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donnybaggieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.4 km away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
1.9 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,246 reviews
11.0 km away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
3,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,192 reviews
1.2 km away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
2.1 km away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa
Address: Batu Ferringhi Main Road | Kampung Tanjung Huma, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,475 - ₹ 25,074
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa has a sense of history, place and tradition. A 5 star resort located in Batu Feringgi, Penang Malaysia. The sprawling gardens of the resort are ideal for team building exercises, outdoor meetings and allow you to enjoy your meetings and conventions in a tropical setting. Exchanging lifetime vows under our sheltering rain trees will make your wedding unforgettable. Also, nothing creates more wonderful memories than a perfect day in our beautiful gardens. Rasa Sayang resort and Spa is also connected to George Town via our complimentary daily shuttle. With so much cultural history and vibrant street art, it's no surprise that Penang's capital, George Town, has been designated as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO.George Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Hotel
Rasa Sayang Penang
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Resort
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing