We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,545)
Filter reviews
3,545 results
Traveller rating
1,380
1,302
518
200
145
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,380
1,302
518
200
145
Show reviews that mention
All reviews adventure zone golden sands garden cafe night market golden circle member pool area sea facing room kids club family resort life guards indoor playground rasa sayang water sports george town hillview room higher floor gurney plaza
Filter
Updating list...
238 - 243 of 3,545 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2017 via mobile

This hotel is clearly a family hotel. It's not easy to find a quiet corner. For couples i would not advise to stay here.

At the beach was jelly fish time. Pool full with kids.

Beach restaurant was good with fresh quality dishes.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lieschen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SL_Penang1, Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Dear Lieschen G,

Firstly I must specifically thank you for choosing our resort to spend your holiday with us and I am happy to know that you were happy with the food our beach restaurant Sigi's provided.

Regarding our resort is a family hotel, you are correct. Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La is a family and kids friendly resort. The resort has been voted by the readers of Holidays with Kids as the Top Ten Family Resort 2017 in Asia. For our guests that prefer quieter environment, our sister's hotel next door Rasa Sayang Resort will be the best choice.

Once again, thank you for your constructive feedback. We do hope to have the chance to serve you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017

Our three day stay at this resort was very good. All the staff from housekeeping to restaurant to Cool Lounge were very helpful and jovial.
Breakfast was ok,
The pool was crowded, but, there again, it is the school holidays.
Internet in the room was so-so only, it was ok during the day but come night (when all the guests are back) it was poor.
It is located in the Batu Ferringhi area, so a bit far from George Town. There are food courts nearby, but, prices are twenty to thirty percent higher than in town.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank GLLK54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SL_Penang1, Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Dear GLLK54,

Thank you for writing us such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to hear that you had a very good overall stay experience. That is what we would like our guests to feel and I am glad we managed to achieve that with you.

Thank you for your compliments toward our staff and I am happy to know you were happy with the services we provided – wonderful!

I do notice on your comment about Internet, it has been addressed with concerned department and improvement is in the process.

Thank you once again for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back for another visit soon.

Best regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

Golden sands resort is the best family resort. Very warm and welcome staff.Adventure zone kids club is perfect place for the kids where kids learn lot of things in a fun way.
Being my sons bday the staff in adventure zone put in efforts to make my sons bday memorable.
Golden sands resort have a good staff.housekeeping staff are very humble. Breakfast has variety of options.
It’s a best place for family.
Thank you golden sands resort for making our trip memorable

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank riddhikukreja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SL_Penang1, Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear riddhikukreja,

Thank you for taking the time share your "Excellent stay" review with other travelers on TripAdvisor, we appreciated. We are delighted to know that you and your son had a brilliant time at our resort, happy with our services, food and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you and your son back to Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La for another memorable stay again in the near future.

Best regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

Far from excellent, but it would not be fair to give it just an average rating. This is a good hotel and I have stayed here twice, first time 10 years ago. It is dated indeed, with dark woods in the rooms, clean and services are fast to react, at least in my experience - especially housekeeping. Views to the beach are fine. But those rooms facing the "city" have atrocious views. Just a busy ugly hub. My window faced a mosque just a few metres behind, but the call for prayers early in the morning were not any loud at all. The buffet is ...meh... nothing to be too excited about. In the morning, one can be send down to the garden outside as opposed to the main dining lounge. There's indeed less line-ups outside, but a lot less variety also. The worst thing in my opinion is not the hotel itself, but the beach. Totally overrated. I cannot understand the hype. It is not particularly pretty, with murky waters, a sharp drop, making it less attractive and safe for families with young children. The sands are nicely combed and clean, but the water smell and tastes of petrol. No wonder, given the enormous amount of jetskis and other motorised boats and contraptions described in the hotel words as "water sports". The beach is a bit narrow, and all shaded area - which could be a nice area for the guests to chill out - is occupied by jetski agents and massage tents, a front batallion of vultures ready to prey on guests before they can make it to the proper beach.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Higuma2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SL_Penang1, Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Dear Higuma2017,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay experience with us, we much appreciated and your feedback is very important to us.

With regards to the beach, for in case if you don't know, we are located on a public beach and the water sports operators and massage services are not affiliated with our resort in any manner.

We truly hope that this experience will not deter you from staying at our Shangri-La resorts in Penang again in the near future. We hope to welcome you back to Batu Feringgi again soon.

Best regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017 via mobile

We celebrated our child's birthday at this hotel.

Arrived at 4.00pm and we were greeted by the hotel's friendly staff. Check in was fast and easy.

We soon headed to the room, and it was really spacious.

Next, we decided to have a splashing good time at the waterpark. It was really good. My kid and I truly enjoyed the slide.

We dined in our room. Ordered a kid's chicken burger, a beef burger and Kapitan Chicken curry. Yummy and thumbs up.

Breakfast was good too. Food ranges from local delicacies to western breakfast. Best of all was the free flow freshly extracted fruit juice.

Truly, this has been a memorable stay and child is asking for another trip.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Suwannit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SL_Penang1, Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Dear Suwannit C,

Thank you for sharing your "Nice hotel, fun hotel and wonderful food" review with other travelers on TripAdvisor. It was our pleasure to read such a wonderful feedback. Thank you for your time and kind words. Our entire team is delighted to read your comments and pleased to see that you and your child enjoyed your stay at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La. We are certainly look forward to your return.

Best regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews