We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,533)
Filter reviews
3,533 results
Traveller rating
1,374
1,299
518
199
143
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,374
1,299
518
199
143
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadventure zonegolden sandsgarden cafenight marketgolden circle memberpool areasea facing roomkids clubfamily resortlife guardsindoor playgroundrasa sayangwater sportsgeorge townhillview roomhigher floorgurney plaza
Filter
Updating list...
281 - 286 of 3,533 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Nice sea view room with morning and evening sun sea scenery. Enjoyable by lay down at the balcony while having tea at the side with kids cheering at the pool area.
Kids can enjoy the pool activities and also other such as slides from the adventure zones too.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank khoo_wv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SL_Penang1, Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear khoo_wv,

Thank you for the fabulous "Great place for relax with kids activities available" review, we appreciated. It is the best reward for us to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us, happy with our services and facilities. We certainly look forward to you return.

Best regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Good Location, comfortable rooms, nice pools with water games. Impressive breakfast buffet.
the staff is very helpful and professional . Acticities such as Dance, Cooking, etc... are very good.
Different pools are available to please everybody including an adult pool with 3 meters depth.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank xinemusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SL_Penang1, Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear xinemusic,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback and many thanks for your review. We are honored you had a great stay at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La. We are delighted that you liked our resort location, rooms, pools, breakfast and happy with the services. We thank you once again for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to our resort again in the near future.

Best regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Stayed 2 nights here from 19 to 21 October 2017 during our 4 days 3 nights Penang trip.

This is our third visit to Golden Sands Resort. As such, we are quite familiar with everything here. If you drove there, parking space is available in front of hotel building. Limited parking lots provided. In case of its parking lots are full, you can park your car next door, Shangri-La’s Rasa Sayang Resort.

Check in and check out were fast and efficient. As a Golden Circle member, you can check in and check out in the lounge which is faster and more comfortable. The normal front desk counter is considered a bit warm in the afternoon especially during the afternoon time.

We were given a room (253) in Level 2. To me everything were acceptable, nothing to shout about.

Wifi connection was fast and stable. No issue on that.

Swimming pools are great. There are different pools cater for kids and adults. The beach is just beside the swimming pools and there are many activities that you can join (of course it is chargeable). Another great place for the kids is the Adventure Zone (a kids’ playground). RM24 per child is charged for 2 hours access.

The breakfasts in Sigi’s Bar were ordinary and with limited selection. Due to limited sitting capacity in Garden Café, we were directed to have out breakfasts in Sigi’s Bar instead of Garden Café. Even though the staff told that they are the same. To my own experience, Garden Café offering more delicious and more selection buffet breakfast than Sigi’s Bar. Thus, I am not so happy about that.

All in all, the hotel provided a pleasant stay experience to us.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sai Keong C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SL_Penang1, Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear Sai Keong C,

Welcome back! Thank you for your loyalty and thank you for leaving your detailed review following your stay with us. We are glad that you had a great time at our resort and happy with our facilities and location. Your comments with regards to the breakfast at Sigi's have been addressed with our team and action will be taken to ensure that our guests enjoy positive and memorable resort experiences. We hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to our resort again in the future.

Best Regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

After being spoilt in KL & Langkawi we arrived here for 2 nights before moving to the Rasa next door. It was ok for just 2 nights but as I was travelling with a friend there were just too many families and kids for our liking. For a Shangri-La hotel it feels a little run down, our first room had a water leak in the bathroom and then we were move to another room but had to wait for a room to be available. We found ourselves a quiet spot on the grass to sun bake and went in one of the many pools to cool down. Breakfast was ok not as luxurious as all the other places we stayed at around Malaysia but this is not a luxury hotel so was good for what it's worth. Staff were pleasant too. Good location and easy to walk to the food markets.

Room Tip: Beach facing room views are best.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank la_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SL_Penang1, Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear la_1977,

Thank you for the review. We are disappointed to read that your experience fell short of expectations and we sincerely apologize for your disappointing experience during your recent stay with us.

Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La is a family and kids friendly resort. The resort has been voted by the readers of Holidays with Kids as the Top Ten Family Resort 2017 in Asia. For our guests that prefer quieter environment, our sister's hotel next door Rasa Sayang Resort will be the best choice.

We thank you once again for your review and we hope one day you will come back to Shangri-La penang to visit us again.

Best regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

Very good for stay with kids, lots to do and the pool
Is excellent. Hotel is a bit dated and Rooms could go with refurbishment. Very good location for night market and food courts, overall a very good stay.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Roberters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SL_Penang1, Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear Roberters,

Thank you for the review. We are delighted to know that you like our resort's location, happy with the facilities and had a good stay at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews