We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We thought we were in Paradise!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Can't wait to return to this Resort. Facilities were fantastic for our 12yo son and 14yo daughter. Very safe and staff were so friendly. Pool activities kept my son entertained for hours. We had interconnecting rooms, sea facing, views were magnificent. Rooms were very clean and of a high standard. Staff helped with whatever you needed. Tours were arranged for us. In fact, we wouldn't stay anywhere else. Breakfast was massive and the restaurants on site were first class. Restaurants close by were great for families. Night markets exciting with no pushy sellers. Water activities on beach were friendly and no one hassled you. Beach access was clean around resort and a pleasure to visit. We highly recommend Penang as a holiday destination and staying at the Golden Sands is a must to do. We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Select sea facing rooms, views are top class. Interconnecting rooms are great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,525 - 2,529 of 3,215 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a 9 night stay at the Shangri-La Golden Sands Resort at Batu Feringghi on Penang. Having stayed at other Shangri-La resorts, including getting married at the Shangri-La in Fiji, we had high expectations. Neither of us were disappointed. The staff were fantastic and were happy to accomodate virtually any request, the facilities, both indoor and out, were fantastic. The pools and garden areas are more than large enough to provide space and sun lounges for all guests. The room was of the usual Shangri-La standard and was serviced thoroughly every day. The included buffet breakfast was one of the better hotel breakfasts that we have had, with fresh chinese soups, dim sum, and roti canai (Indian flat bread) available as well as the usual Asian and European breakfast buffet options. The hotel is close to some great cheap local food options at night as well as the Batu Feringghi night markets, which begin at the front gate and run for a couple of km's along Jalan Batu Feringghi. Batu Feringghi is about 30 mins by local bus away from the closest large shopping centre, Gurney Plaza, and about 1 hour from Georgetown, however the hotel does run a free shuttle service approx 5 times per day in to town and back which is quite handy. Even though most of the tourist attractions and the good local daytime food options are located around Georgetown, it is still worth staying in Batu Feringghi for the beachside, relaxed atmosphere. My wifes only suggestion is it would be nice to have screen doors to the balcony so you could sleep with the AC off and the glass door open. Overall however, we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anybody and look forward to visitng again ourselves. Penang is an amazing holiday destination with loads history and scenic beauty to offer, but its real secret is the amazing food. With a multi-cultural population of ethnic Chinese, Malay, and Indian, the amount and variety is mind blowing. If like us, food can decide your holiday destinations, then put Penang on your list. Also check out Rasa Malaysia for private, guided food tours. CK (the tour guide/owner), is brilliant and it will be a highlight of your holiday.

Room Tip: Book the Ocean View side for view and no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Beautiful hotel with spacious rooms and excellent facilities. Good for family as well as business travellers. I especially enjoyed the bay window doors that opened to the balcony. Service is good and staff polite + helpful. Rooms are of high standard like any other Shangri-La hotel. If you are adventurous, there are plenty to do on the beach. The breakfast that comes with the room package has a good variety of food choices too. Definitely a better choice compared to G-hotel, where the room windows cannot be opened. Nice and breezy in the late evenings. Certainly my preferred hotel in Penang.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yensmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Not one fault regarding this hotel. The rooms are great, grounds are really nice and the restaurants serve tasty food. Service was always of a high standard, nothing is ever too much for the staff.

Penang is a great place to go on holiday just for the night life and food. The wooden bar across the road is a good laugh and there is restaurant adjoining that serves really good food.

Beach is really nice to take a stroll on and you can see a great sunset.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jade P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

our travel agent, Platinum Escape in Adelaide, recommended this resort for our honeymoon in Penang, and it was wonderful. Although some time has passed now since we stayed there, it left a lasting impression. The rooms were tastefully decorated, and added to the luxury feel we were looking for. We had a balcony to laze on, a king bed and a bath - perfect. The breakfasts were terrific, so much food to choose from, and we gorged ourselves every 8 mornings that we were there. We must've put on 5 kgs in that time! Relaxing on the banana lounges every afternoon around the pool sipping cocktails was brilliant. We loved it and didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScullyAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
1.5 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
4,617 reviews
1.6 km away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,756 reviews
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#3 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
2,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.2 km away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,479 reviews
11.1 km away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 87 in George Town
3,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La

Address: Batu Feringgi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia (Formerly Shangri-la's Golden Sands Resort)
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range: ₹ 6,516 - ₹ 13,162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La 4*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La first commenced operations in October 1979. It has won numerous awards and recognition as a family- and kids-friendly resort. As such, it enjoys the reputation as the preferred resort among families on holiday. This 4-star resort on Batu Feringgi Beach is filled with facilities for dining, leisure and recreation that will surely keep any multi-generational family happily occupied. Adventure Zone, Shangri-La's unique family entertainment center With 387 guestrooms and suites that boast views of either the verdant hills or azure sea, the hotel caters to the needs of individuals, groups and families. Some room types even feature Murphy pull-down beds and connecting doors. Childcare services are available, allowing adults on holiday with their family to enjoy some private time away from their children. At the Kids' Club, which is based in the Adventure Zone's dry play park, children are kept entertained from morning until evening and provided with regular meals and break times. The Adventure Zone is the biggest indoor play park in Penang, offering a myriad of play structures, activity rooms and entertainment options. Here, children can enjoy video screenings and visits from the resort's mascots. At our mini water park, children and toddlers can interact safely, playing on the splash pad, which has a safe floor surface and includes many water features, such as showers and tipping buckets. In addition, they will enjoy racing down the water slides. Holidaymakers can stroll around the resort grounds, which feature extensive manicured gardens and landscaped open spaces. Guests can also enjoy sunbathing and lounging by the pool and in the garden area. The Cool Lounge serves as a transit area for incoming and outgoing guests, and is a cool space where guests may read, surf the Net and enjoy sandwiches and pastries alongside coffee, tea and fruit juice. At Garden Café and Sigi's Bar & Grill by the Beach, children below 12 years old that are accompanied by one paying adult can eat for free. In addition, an outdoor Jacuzzi in the garden and two swimming pools with water slides are available. The resort also boasts a par-3 golf course for those that enjoy golf. Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La well-equipped gymnasium awaits fitness enthusiasts. For those who wish to spend their time productively while on holiday, there are many daily activities, such as workout classes, cooking classes, craft making courses and visits to the George Town World Heritage Zone (by complimentary shuttle). The popular Batu Feringgi Night Bazaar beckons those who enjoy a stroll after dinner. Here, great bargains on apparel, novelty items, souvenirs and art can be found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Resort By Shangri-La Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Golden Sands Batu Ferringhi
Golden Sands Resort By Shangri-La Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing