We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,936)
Filter reviews
5,936 results
Traveller rating
2,776
2,161
696
201
102
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,776
2,161
696
201
102
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslagoon roomfree moviesstarz dinerfoam partykings clubteens clubdirect access to the poollive bandseaview deluxe roomswimming poolkids suitewater slidesswim up barnight marketgreat for kidsgreat poolfamily hotel
Filter
Updating list...
2,419 - 2,424 of 5,936 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

This was our second visit to the Hard Rock using club facilities both times. First time was 2014 with our room on the club lounge floor. This hotel you would identify as definitely a family friendly hotel more than a couples hotel. Pool area is a kids delight with slides and fountains surrounded by beach sand and is nice and open for keeping an eye on them. We chose the club facilities to enjoy ourselves and not kids. Club lounge was nice and quiet but the big let down was, the hot food was barely warm which made the taste very average. Same happened with breakfast and never improved even after complaining a few times. A long story cut short, after a few other issues, we reviewed the hotel when we got back home and thought that would be the end of it. To our surprise, the hotel manager (John Primmer) emailed us offering a couple of nights free the next time we booked with them. It was great to see a hotel backing up its quality and service.
We finally were able to make it back to the hotel in February 2017. True to their word, from check in to check out we saw a massive improvement in service as well as facility upgrades. Even the club lounge experience was a pleasure. It was good to see the chef taking an interest in talking to us all as we rolled in for happy hour. Even though there were a couple of nights where the food wasn't so hot, they can take pride knowing the food (when hot) tasted sensational!! The Rock Spa, what can we say................... we have always rated Chai at the Rasa Sayang as the best on the beach but wow! I think that Rock Spa has taken over as number 1, Vie was absolutely fantastic, both my wife and I felt so relaxed after the 1st day. Hard Rock Cafe had awesome food and service was great. The only slight disappointment was the tours and activities desk needed to brush up on local attractions as they knew very little about what was available on Penang Hill.
Thank you John and all your staff, second time round has shown the true quality and service of the hotel.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sortmanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eamhrhpenang, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Hi Barry,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your revisited stay at Hard Rock Hotel Penang.

It’s cool to hear that you found the hotel to be much improved from when you were last here in 2014. The hotel continually works to improve the facilities, offerings and service throughout the property to ensure our guests all feel like rock stars.

I remember that you main disappointment in 2014 was with the food served in the Rock Royalty Lounge. Since 2014 the hotel has a new Executive Chef and the food has been improved considerably, and our culinary team work tirelessly to maintain and innovate with the cuisine offered throughout the hotel. As such, your feedback on the food served at Rock Royalty has been shared with the team, and they take such feedback seriously to constantly to improve on the quality.

Thank you for your compliments on the Rock Spa. We are very glad to read that you had such a rocking spa experience with us. I will ensure your feedback for the great service provided by Vie at the Rock Spa is shared with her. Our team work hard to ensure every one of our guests feels like a rock star, and they will be pleased to know you appreciated their efforts.

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back for another rocking stay soon!

Kind Regards
John Primmer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

My standard room was much more than standard. Everything I needed and then some. The staff is outstanding and will go out of their way to help you. The pool area is amazing, for both adults and children.
So very glad I stayed here. It will not disappoint.

Room Tip: Ask when you check in
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelinAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eamhrhpenang, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Dear Alan,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hard Rock Hotel Penang. We are very glad to read that you had such an awesome stay with us, and hope that you were able to enjoy many of the facilities that the hotel offers.

Our staff pride themselves on their dedication to guest service, and will be very pleased to know you appreciated their efforts. The hotel's swimming pool is the largest free-from swimming pool in northern Malaysia, and is certainly one of the biggest draw cards for the hotel.

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back for another rocking stay soon!

Kind Regards
Michael Smeeton
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

First time visitor and I was pleasantly surprised. I was there with a friend but I'll be back with my kids the next trip. The hotel room was really clean. Breakfast buffet was lovely and varied with some very interesting culinary specialities.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tnj2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eamhrhpenang, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Dear tnj2017,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hard Rock Hotel Penang and hope that you were able to enjoy many of the facilities that the hotel offers. Our culinary team will be pleased to know you enjoyed the breakfast selection and the food quality too.

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you and your kids back for another rocking stay soon!

Kind Regards
Michael Smeeton
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Pros :

- Most of the staffs were helpful and friendly.
- Nice & spacious room.
- Fast check in and check out.
- Very close to the beach.
- Room rates were reasonable.

Cons :

- Breakfast. Not many choices. Lack of taste.
- Swimming pool was a bit dirty

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdfirdaus2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eamhrhpenang, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Dear Md Firdaus,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hard Rock Hotel Penang.

Great to hear that you are happy with the friendly service rendered by our team. Hard Rock Hotel Penang have recently completed our full room refurbishment in 2016 and it’s great to see you enjoyed the room environment too.

Your feedback on the breakfast served has been shared with the culinary team, and they are constantly working to improve the quality and quantity of food available in the buffet.

In regards to the swimming pool cleanliness, the hotel employs full-time pool cleaners to ensure that the pool remains as clean as possible.

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you and your family back for another rocking stay soon!

Kind Regards
Michael Smeeton
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

What's more to say? I'm sure by now everyone knows the good reputation of Hard Rock Hotels. This one in Penang is no different. Great atmosphere, even better decoration and set up. Good collection of memoribilias.

Staffs are friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet is the best I've been. Wide spread of local and international cuisine. Eating here is not an issue.

Pool is big enough for everyone to share. Great for the kids with all the slides available.

Room is nicely decorated with lovely light settings. TV channels and functions are plenty. Bed is comfy and the bath gel is fragrant.

Overall I enjoyed my stay and would love to come back soon. We need more Hard Rock Hotels around Malaysia.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daxter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eamhrhpenang, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Dear Daxter,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hard Rock Hotel Penang and hope that you and your family were able to enjoy many of the facilities that the hotel offers.

Hard Rock Hotel Penang has completed a full room refurbishment in 2016, and it's great to hear that our guests are appreciating the new decor and features. We have an extensive collection of memorabilia showcasing both local and international artists, as music is at the heart of everything we do here.

The swimming pool, with the slides and kid's play area is always a hit with children, and make Hard Rock Hotel Penang the ideal family hotel destination. Our team will be pleased to know you were satisfied with the friendliness and professionalism of their service, which is something they take great pride in.

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you and your family back for another rocking stay soon!

Kind Regards
Michael Smeeton
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews