We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to enjoy & relax..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Klang,Selangor,Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good place to enjoy & relax..”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed at the Seaview Deluxe room(Level 2) and we have good view of the pool and sea.
Relax throughout the stay and not even feeling to check out.
Staff is helpful & friendly.
Check In quite quick but we have to deposit a amount of RM 200 per room either in means of credit card or cash.
But,no worries,the deposit will be returned.
However,if you are using credit card,they will not refund the deposit at the moment when you check out. (We doesn't use cash so not sure if they are returning the deposit on the spot.)
The pool is a bit sandy as people keep walking in and out from the sandy area into the pool.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SzeYin92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,872
    1,539
    503
    128
    68
See reviews for
2,304
987
98
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (803)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Stayed for 4 nites at this hotel during the June school holidays. Booked a hill view deluxe room and was pleasantly surprised when we were given a partial sea view room with balcony. Facilities, especially the swimming pools and beach, are easily accessible on ground level without having to walk down any steps. My son enjoyed going down the slides located at the swimming pools. Swimmers around the slide area need to watch out for children coming down from the slides, otherwise the swimmer might get hit by them. There is another big pool available for serious swimmers. The hotel is located near bus stops that have bus services to town, Long Beach Food Centre, Ship restaurant and to attractions such as Butterfly Farm and Spice Garden. Taxis are also easily available. The Hard Rock Cafe in the hotel has a free shuttle bus to the night market in the evening. Breakfast in the hotel is standard fare. As the hotel is located quite a distance from town (about 30 mins by taxi without traffic jam), it is good for travellers who just want a relaxed beach holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusymummyJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed in the Deluxe Seaview room. As all had said, it’s a chic and stylish hotel with great swimming pool for kids. It’s a family hotel so expect some noises and music. The concierge and reception was nice and efficient, nothing problem. We had a quick and smooth checked in and out.

We stayed on 4th Floor left end wing, so didn’t have a problem with noises. We were pleased with our room, very clean, quite spacious, nicely decorated, plus very comfortable bed. Room equipped with DVD, Ipod dock, and free wifi too. The bathroom was stylish too although it’s rather small and shower only (no tub). The breakfast buffet is large and had a wide variety of Western, Malay, and Chinese.

The pool area is one of the best from this hotel, especially for kids but definitely not for honeymooners. It has a few waterslides, fun layout, playground, etc but it was so crowded during weekend, thus making it a little difficult to find a peaceful spot.

Beach has nice view but murky water. The Jellyfish warning is enough to put me off the water, beside I was somewhat doubt with sewage-looking water draining next to the hotel‘s beach. The water sport touts was acceptable, they didn’t too pushy or anything like that, just a smiley “no thanks” always works.

I love the location, there’s a convenience store and restaurants nearby. it’s quiet at the end of Batu Feringghi, so pretty far (about 15 mins) from night market, but it seems that they provide free shuttle or you can catch the public bus easily.

The only drawback for me was… we once were encountered by the security guard who asked us in suspicious tone if we stay here or not. No smile, no apologies, no thank you… Hellooo…. Where is your hospitality…. I think, in addition to jellyfish warning, they should add a big sign “Beware, we have the most unfriendly security guard here, swim at your own risk”. Don’t get me wrong, it’s only one unfriendly guy compared to every nice HR staffs. Well, I didn’t let it ruin our holiday, maybe it’s my fault for having an “intruder” face, LOL.

All in all, we were happy and had a pleasant stay here. Will recommend? Sure, for families.

Room Tip: Higher room will definitely quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chin-Mie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

our kids had a great time here. they enjoyed the pool and kids clubs. the room service was a little low standard - they forgot to clean one of our rooms twice. otherwise the hotel was nice, staff were friendly and the place was lively enough. good food across the road in a little eatery.
close walk to street markets and the long beach cafe (good local feed, great atmosphere and cheap)

Room Tip: if you want to lok at the viw then pay for the pool side rooms - some step stright into the pool. we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuFromOzBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hardrockhotelpenang, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Penang, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Dear Stu,

Thank you for recently staying with us and very pleased to see that your kids had a great time and made the most of our pool and kids club facilities.

Apologies for our housekeeping team missing your room cleaning on a couple of occassions, this is extremely uncommon. Our guests at times unknowingly switch the bedside Do Not Disturb light on given its located next to other light switches and we are in the process of making this more prominent, if indeed this is what happened.

Thank you again and hopefully we see you and the family back again in the near future.

Rockin' Regards,

Shane Coates
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

The package is including breakfast and dinner for 2 people, and free wifi, it is very worth for the price! The room is big with balcony, but there is no bathtub in the bathroom.the staff is very friendly, you can ask the staff about the Penang! But is is not easy to get there, from airport if by bu, need more than 2 hours, so if go there, should rent a car is better! The dinner is in Hard Rock Coffee, I ate very full ,the drink is free,you can refill the drink, after 1030 pm, have the band show, dont need to pay additional fee, the show is very good! The swimming is very beautiful, especially in the night, and have the water slides, it is very funny! And don't forget to see the sunset in the beach, it is beautiful! But the breakfast is soso, the staff did not remind us to take the food before 11 am.

Room Tip: Choose a room face the sea is better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Apple W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
1.5 km away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,163 reviews
0.2 km away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
1.3 km away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,429 reviews
11.6 km away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
3,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Penang? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Penang

Property: Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Address: Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,952 - ₹ 14,362
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Penang 4.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the famous Batu Ferringhi Beach in Penang, Hard Rock Hotel Penang is a trendy hotel that sets itself apart from the conventional beach resort; blending rich music culture, contemporary design, and family friendly facilities. The 6-storey hotel boasts 250 rockin' rooms and suites, most of which feature beach frontage. The modern structure is completed with tastefully furnished bedrooms such as sensual guest bathrooms, Sleep Like a Rock(R) signature bed and modern in-room amenities. All rooms are fully equipped with DVD/CD players, 50-inch LCD TVs, BOSE Sound Systems, complimentary Wi-Fi and wired connectivity and an interactive IPTV system with free HD Blockbuster movies on demand. At the Hard Rock Hotel Penang, we serve rockin' food that is suitable for everyone; authentic American cuisine at the world famous Hard Rock Cafe, delicious Italian food at the Pizzeria and Asian and International cuisine at The Starz Diner. Hard Rock Hotel Penang features the largest free-form pool in Northern Malaysian. With a large play area, the pool is a hit with children. We provide facilities for everyone and plethora of fun activities and entertainment all day. Modern, non-traditional design and cutting-edge technology permeates Hard Rock's extensive indoor/outdoor meeting and event space. Anything from intimate private meetings in Penang to spectacular banquets that seats up to 300 guests, Hard Rock Hotel Penang provides extreme Rock Star service to ensure you a rockin' event success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Fastbooking, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Penang Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing